Customer Reviews for

An Amish Christmas: December in Lancaster County - Three Amish Christmas Novellas

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An Amish Christmas

An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without rememb...
An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without remembering the other two.

(But good luck not reading them all at once.)

The three stories are all really good, but I think my favorite was A Choice to Forgive (the one by Beth Wiseman). But that in no way indicates that I didn't love A Miracle for Miriam (Kathleen Fuller) and One Child (Barbara Cameron), too.

The book opens with A Miracle for Miriam, which is about a woman with incredibly low self-esteem who finds herself being courted by Seth. In school, Seth was the most popular boy and he broke Miriam's heart. But now he's older and wiser and wants to make it up to her. But can she trust him? (And, more importantly, should she?)

Then there's A Choice to Forgive. Lydia is a young widow with three children. Her dead husband is the brother of her first love (Daniel), who broke her heart when he vanished on Christmas. Except now he's back and he wants to be re-baptized into the faith. He clearly still likes Lydia, but can she get over her hurt (and feeling like she's betraying her husband by wanting his brother)?

And finally One Child. Sarah and her husband are still grieving the baby they lost over Christmas a year ago. Then, during a really bad blizzard, a very pregnant Englisch woman and her husband show up. They had a car accident and need somewhere to stay. Sarah has to help a woman with the only thing she wants and lacks: a baby.

This book also has discussion questions and recipes.

This would be an excellent stocking stuffer for a girlfriend of yours who reads. (Especially if she has a fascination with the Amish, which I think most of us do. Or is that just me?)

posted by khager23 on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

M

Well, thanks to the many ling winded plot spoilers here, this is another book useless to buy. They told everything that happens. Wish bn would stop these rude hateful ppl from ruining books for others.

posted by 8888649 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Another great book from Beth

    Great reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    pleasant read

    These were simple stories with happy endings so pleasant to read for light entertainment. I found I really missed the characters when the stories were finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Nice Christmas stories

    These stories were very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Recommend

    I enjoyed these light reading stories. They were especially nice to read during the Christmas Holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    highly recommend!

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS NOOK BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Probably worth your time!

    Haven't read it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    You don't need to be familiar with Amish beliefs and lifestyles

    You don't need to be familiar with Amish beliefs and lifestyles to follow and enjoy the stories, which were great for Christmas.
    And I agree with 'M' - put the psuedo customer reviews under another heading, or preface them with 'spoiler alert'. They are rude and don't help sales at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I really enjoyed this collection of stories that take place in t

    I really enjoyed this collection of stories that take place in the Amish community. I was interested in the life they live and values they display. Each story exemplifies the simplicity of the Christmas message through stories of love, family and a simple life. It puts you in the Christmas Spirit for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Anon

    Wonderful stories that are perfect for the Christmas season



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Sweet

    Four Christmas novellas set in the Amish communities of Lancaster County, PA. Some insight into Amish daily life, as well as some of their beliefs. Nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Awesome book

    Its a brilliant book. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I'm confused!

    I bought this book,and it contains 3 wonderful stories. Most comments say that there are 4 stories? I'm wondering how.many there are and how to get the fourth story. Thanks :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Refresh your faith!

    An Amish Christmas is a collection of four Novellas by four creative authors. I was thrilled when this book arrived in time for the holidays. I was not disappointed!

    You are first introduced to Paradise. Paradise is a lush Amish community filled with loveable and admirable people. You will meet Miriam who battles with self confidence much like many women do. Then you will meet Seth. Seth was the classic good looking boy who knew it! Daniel was a boy who made a rash decision that affected his entire life and Lydia carries around a pain that any woman could understand.

    Following along with these intertwining families, you will meet Sarah and David who are still reeling from the aftermath of a heartbreaking miscarriage last year. You will see how these couples deal lovingly with those outside of their community, handle problems much like the rest of us (except with a bit more faith perhaps) and see how we can find blessings from above in the strangest circumstances.

    Last but not least, you will spend some time with Anna who is from a neighboring community. Anna has devoted her life to helping others and Asa has built a life out of punishing himself. After a huge snowstorm and a night filled to the brim with nearly impossible situations, you will see again the power of learning to 'let go and let God!'
    As with most Amish romances, you will find yourself believing in miracles and will put this book down with a renewed belief in waiting on the Lord.

    I am thrilled to have read this book this year and plan to keep it safe with my other yearly reading material for next year!

    *This book was provided by the publisher for review purposes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Christmas Read!

    An Amish Christmas

    December in Lancaster County

    Four Amish Christmas Novellas

    Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Barbara Cameron, and Kelly Long

    December beckons me with its Christmas lights and cold nights to read a good Christmas story. I have my favorites, and An Amish Christmas has become one of them. A collection of Christmas novellas are typically unconnected stories by different authors of the same genre. In this case, these four novellas tell the story of one December in Lancaster County.

    In A Miracle For Miriam by Kathleen Fuller, you learn about the deep hurt that causes Miriam to disappear into herself. Seth caused the hurt when they were both fourteen years old. Most of us remember our hurts and some of us have allowed those hurts to influence us as adults. It's a beautiful love story in which other characters from the other three novellas are introduced.

    A Choice to Forgive by Beth Wiseman opens with Lydia answering a knock at her door and discovering her first love, Daniel Smucker, standing confidently on her doorstep. He promised to marry her when they were young and mysteriously disappeared on Christmas. Lydia marries his brother, Elam, who happens to comfort her during her difficult heart break. She becomes a widow when he dies of a heart attack. Those feelings of love for Daniel rise again and she struggles to forgive him for running away. He tries to explain the difficult and complicated situation that sent him away, and the secret that he and his brother kept from her causes an enormous emotional struggle.

    One Child by Barbara Cameron addresses Sarah and David's struggle over their miscarriage. Sarah prays to Derr Herr for a child. It's the only gift she wants on Christmas. Mysterious visitors bring unexpected joy during a particularly bad blizzard. It's a story of healing, love, and friendship.

    Christmas Cradles by Kelly Long tells the story of Anna Stolis and Asa Mast. Anna has never been married. She has become a midwife. Asa Mast also never married. A tragedy occurred during his rumschpringe years that brought him to this point. His father is very ill, refusing to go to the hospital on Christmas. Anna has three deliveries during the night. Normally, his father, Samuel, accompanies Anna's Aunt Ruth (also a midwife), but with Aunt Ruth taking the evening off and Samuel sick, Asa joins Anna in her delivery runs. It is a love story of two insecure people who never thought they could fall in love.

    My favorite books let me learn about the characters even after their stories have been told. It's sad to say goodbye to characters you've come to cherish. In this book you read about a whole community. As I turned the last page of Christmas Cradles I realized I would not hear about Miriam, Seth, Lydia, or the other characters again. My book is a hard bound edition. Apparently, this is one book in a collection of books of a similar nature-An Amish Gathering, and coming in January, 2011, An Amish Love. I can't wait to read those two books. Maybe I'll learn more about these characters or fall in love with new ones.

    Book Provided by the Publisher For Review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read this Christmas

    Enjoy this Amish Christmas bestseller with an additional new novella from romance author Kelly Long.
    "Christmas Cradles" by Kelly Long -- When Anna Stolis takes over for her aunt, the local Amish midwife in Paradise, Christmas night heats up with multiple deliveries, three strangers' quilts, and the help from resourceful and strong Asa Lapp, whose job it is to get Anna through a dangerous blizzard to complete her midwifery rounds.
    "A Miracle for Miriam" by Kathleen Fuller: This Christmas, Miriam must decide whether to guard herself or accept the love of a man who once broke her heart.
    "A Choice to Forgive" by Beth Wiseman: Lydia, a widow who has given up on love, is shocked when Daniel-- a past love-- returns to the Order, and her life.
    "One Child" by Barbara Cameron: This snowy Lancaster Christmas Eve will see two couples' lives changed by the birth of one child.
    Contributer Barbara Cameron is the author of fifteen novels and three nationally televised movies (HBO), as well as a recipient of the first Romance Writers of America Golden Heart.



    I fell head-over-heels in love with "An Amish Christmas: December in Lancaster County". This is the perfect book to give or get this Christmas. The four novellas (one is actually a bonus novella) reminds the reader of the true meaning of Christmas, with their heartfelt story's of love, redemption, and God's grace. This is my third encounter with Kathleen Fuller's work, and I have to say that I have and still am enjoying her work. This book should be a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Christmas

    An Amish Christmas a previously released title by Thomas Nelson, but the twist is they have included a bonus story in this printing. I found this book a quick easy read, that really packs alot in to each of the stories. The stories do move along at a quick pace because they are novellas, but I felt like each of the stories were satisfying, actually making me want to seek out these authors to see what else they have written. Another thing that I liked about this book was the fact that while the stories intertwine with each other, they can easily be read as stand alone stories.There is a glossary in the front of the book to help with the Amish words used, there is also a reading group guide provided with this book. I think the recipes included in the back were really an added bonus. Because of the nice binding and the fact that it is a hard back I believe it would make a great Christmas gift. Inspirational fiction stories that Amish readers will love, these stories will uplift you, and would a great read anytime of the year! Even though I was provided a copy of this book for review from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program it doesn't alter my opinion of this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    An easy read

    There are four lovely stories of four Amish ladies in this book

    A Miracle For Mariam by Kathleen Fuller

    Mariam, her heart was once broken. Her self esteem took a heavy beating. Then Seth came back. Can she accept him? Would the pain be too great?

    A Choice To Forgive by Beth Wiseman

    Lydia, a widow, opened the door and suddenly she was like strucked by the ghost of her past. Daniel who had deserted her stood there and told her that she have been baptized back into the community. Could she forgive and let him enter her life again?

    One Child by Barbara Cameron

    For any woman, having a miscarriage is one of the most painful thing ever. Sarah lost her first child a year ago. And due to circumstances beyond her control she was looped in to be the the midwife of an Englisch couple. Would Sarah be able to share the joy?

    Christmas Cradles by Kelly Long

    Anna was to takeover for a night from her Aunt Ruth who is the Amish local midwife. Guess it's Murphy's law. It happens to be the darkest night and they having the worst blizzard. And all who going to give birth, gave birth that night. Can Anna help these mothers? Two dramatic birth. And what does Asa ,who is escorting Anna around, feel?

    the stories in this book are easy to read. The language flows easily. I finished this in two hours.


    I received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson Publisher as part of the blogger review programme. I was not required to give a positive review and all opinions expressed here in are her own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice, cozy read

    This is a cute book with 3 stories. I liked them all, but the first story seemed a little slow to me. The second story was my favorite. It was harder to put down than the other two. All in all, I enjoyed this book, but I wouldn't call it my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Christmas Perfect Wintery Weekend Read

    There's just something about a cold wintery weekend forecast and a beautiful hard cover Christmas romance book that draws me hopelessly toward utter relaxation.

    An Amish Christmas: A December in Lancaster County is a gorgeous little tri-novella Thomas Nelson published that is perfect for ladies who enjoy the "happily ever after" life of fiction.

    This threesome was created by already popular authors Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller and Barbara Cameron and is a trifecta of traditional Christmas holiday entertainment.

    In "A Choice to Forgive," by Beth Wiseman, Lydia, who lost her love one fated Christmas Eve, built a life with his brother instead. Now widowed, Lydia's former lost love returns and provides the aging Lydia quite a life distraction.

    "A Miracle for Miriam," by Kathleen Fuller is a tale of self confidence gone missing. Seth, who is no longer the arrogant young man who shattered Miriam's heart, returns to convince "plain" Miriam that she is nothing less than spectacular.

    And finally, "One Child," by Barbara Cameron is a love story that parallels the glorious birth of Christ two thousand years ago by showing the birth of another child one snowy night in Lancaster County destined to change the world forever.

    Included in this beautiful collection is the call to commiserate and congregate, as complete reading group guides and authentic Old Order Amish recipes are available on the book's Web site, which is www.Amishhearts.com.

    This is the perfect time to settle down and enjoy something that doesn't add money to the house; that doesn't require any rewriting or hard-to-take grammatical editing - not to mention this little book is the perfect excuse to skip the laundry, stoke up the coffee pot and grab a plate of fudge.

    Oh boy, I suddenly can't wait for Saturday.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Moving Holiday Story Perfect for a Cold evening

    Follow the lives of three Amish families through the Christmas season.



    A Miracle for Miriam: Miriam fell for Seth, but he broke her heart. Years later, after he's nearly killed in an accident, Miriam sees him at a Christmas party and notices something is different about him-not just how he looks, but how he acts. When Seth pursues her, she must decide whether to guard her heart or accept his love.



    A Choice to Forgive: Lydia has loved two men in her life. Daniel disappeared one Christmas Eve long ago, leaving only a note saying he wanted to live in the Englisch world. And Elam, Daniel's brother, to whom she has been happily married for 15 years. When Elam dies, Lydia gives up on ever loving again. But she is shocked when Daniel wants to return to the Order and her life.



    One Child: The birth of one child forever changed the world two thousand years ago. On this snowy Lancaster Christmas Eve, another child will change the world of two couples.



    I truly have high opinions of this book. I recieved, read and reviewed in ONE day. This is set in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. I am from Pennsylvania and I loved reading about the different places that I,myself, have been to! In the winter time too!



    The 3 authors combined their talent and wove the stories together in an inspiring way. They use faith, God, friendship, love and blessings to tell the stories of these wonderful characters.



    I didn't want the story to end but new it had too. This book has found a permenent home on my bookshelf, and each year,at Christmas, I will read it again and again!



    ~A Copy of this book was provided for review by Thomas Nelson Publishers.

    ~I do not receive financial compensation for any of my reviews. I do however from time to time receive complimentary review books to read and post HONEST reviews, positive and negative. The acceptance of a book does not guarantee a positive review.~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5