Customer Reviews for

An Amish Christmas: December in Lancaster County - Four Amish Christmas Novellas

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An Amish Christmas

An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without rememb...
An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without remembering the other two.

(But good luck not reading them all at once.)

The three stories are all really good, but I think my favorite was A Choice to Forgive (the one by Beth Wiseman). But that in no way indicates that I didn't love A Miracle for Miriam (Kathleen Fuller) and One Child (Barbara Cameron), too.

The book opens with A Miracle for Miriam, which is about a woman with incredibly low self-esteem who finds herself being courted by Seth. In school, Seth was the most popular boy and he broke Miriam's heart. But now he's older and wiser and wants to make it up to her. But can she trust him? (And, more importantly, should she?)

Then there's A Choice to Forgive. Lydia is a young widow with three children. Her dead husband is the brother of her first love (Daniel), who broke her heart when he vanished on Christmas. Except now he's back and he wants to be re-baptized into the faith. He clearly still likes Lydia, but can she get over her hurt (and feeling like she's betraying her husband by wanting his brother)?

And finally One Child. Sarah and her husband are still grieving the baby they lost over Christmas a year ago. Then, during a really bad blizzard, a very pregnant Englisch woman and her husband show up. They had a car accident and need somewhere to stay. Sarah has to help a woman with the only thing she wants and lacks: a baby.

This book also has discussion questions and recipes.

This would be an excellent stocking stuffer for a girlfriend of yours who reads. (Especially if she has a fascination with the Amish, which I think most of us do. Or is that just me?)

posted by khager23 on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

M

Well, thanks to the many ling winded plot spoilers here, this is another book useless to buy. They told everything that happens. Wish bn would stop these rude hateful ppl from ruining books for others.

posted by 8888649 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    Not Very Exciting & Escapist, but I Like the Characters

    Actually, I didn't know much about the Amish people and their lifestyles until I read this book. They live without electricity, without technology, TV, internet, etc. unlike the modern city people. They are against using them, but they are happy with this.
    In "An Amish Christmas", which consists of four novellas written by different authors, you will find love of people as the main theme, but this love is told in a God-oriented and religious way through the light of Bible. The book tells how a good man should be: humble, grateful, faithful, nice, kind, patient, valuing inner beauty... Throughout the book, these virtues are emphasized.
    Although the first three novellas were written by different authours, they have a common feature; the characters of the stories. The characters know each other. For example, when you read any novella, you realize that the main character is a relative or friend of the main character of the other novella. I found this very interesting.
    When you read the book, you'll see that the core of the book is to believe in God to endure all the pains of life in any condition. Despite being not a very exciting and escapist book (except "One Child", where I was curious to know how the woman would survive the birth at home), and although it took a long time for me to read it, I generally like the characters inside.
    In the book, there are some "different" words that the Amish people use, and at the beginning, you'll find a glossary for them. Also, at the end of the book, there are some delicious Amish recipes you can cook after reading this nice book.

    * I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed this book and lent it to my mom and sisters who agreed! Its warm and cozy and the perfect book to curl up an read on a cold winter day! The mix of authors was interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommend this book.

    This book is a great read. If you like happy endings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Cool book

    Miriam and seth r the main characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Wonderful stories and great life lessons

    Heart warming stories. I live in Lancaster County, PA so I can definitely relate to these short stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    a gentle read

    This is a gentle story of gentle people. It is actually 4 stories interconnected by the characters. Winter is the season and the theme is 'lost love' or 'babies'. Nice pre-Christmas or really anytime stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    an enjoyable group of stories.

    I enjoyed the stories and would recommend them to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    would recommend

    Finding the stories interesting and enjoying reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    Nice Christmas stories

    These stories were very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    You don't need to be familiar with Amish beliefs and lifestyles

    You don't need to be familiar with Amish beliefs and lifestyles to follow and enjoy the stories, which were great for Christmas.
    And I agree with 'M' - put the psuedo customer reviews under another heading, or preface them with 'spoiler alert'. They are rude and don't help sales at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    I'm confused!

    I bought this book,and it contains 3 wonderful stories. Most comments say that there are 4 stories? I'm wondering how.many there are and how to get the fourth story. Thanks :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Refresh your faith!

    An Amish Christmas is a collection of four Novellas by four creative authors. I was thrilled when this book arrived in time for the holidays. I was not disappointed!

    You are first introduced to Paradise. Paradise is a lush Amish community filled with loveable and admirable people. You will meet Miriam who battles with self confidence much like many women do. Then you will meet Seth. Seth was the classic good looking boy who knew it! Daniel was a boy who made a rash decision that affected his entire life and Lydia carries around a pain that any woman could understand.

    Following along with these intertwining families, you will meet Sarah and David who are still reeling from the aftermath of a heartbreaking miscarriage last year. You will see how these couples deal lovingly with those outside of their community, handle problems much like the rest of us (except with a bit more faith perhaps) and see how we can find blessings from above in the strangest circumstances.

    Last but not least, you will spend some time with Anna who is from a neighboring community. Anna has devoted her life to helping others and Asa has built a life out of punishing himself. After a huge snowstorm and a night filled to the brim with nearly impossible situations, you will see again the power of learning to 'let go and let God!'
    As with most Amish romances, you will find yourself believing in miracles and will put this book down with a renewed belief in waiting on the Lord.

    I am thrilled to have read this book this year and plan to keep it safe with my other yearly reading material for next year!

    *This book was provided by the publisher for review purposes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Christmas

    An Amish Christmas a previously released title by Thomas Nelson, but the twist is they have included a bonus story in this printing. I found this book a quick easy read, that really packs alot in to each of the stories. The stories do move along at a quick pace because they are novellas, but I felt like each of the stories were satisfying, actually making me want to seek out these authors to see what else they have written. Another thing that I liked about this book was the fact that while the stories intertwine with each other, they can easily be read as stand alone stories.There is a glossary in the front of the book to help with the Amish words used, there is also a reading group guide provided with this book. I think the recipes included in the back were really an added bonus. Because of the nice binding and the fact that it is a hard back I believe it would make a great Christmas gift. Inspirational fiction stories that Amish readers will love, these stories will uplift you, and would a great read anytime of the year! Even though I was provided a copy of this book for review from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program it doesn't alter my opinion of this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    An easy read

    There are four lovely stories of four Amish ladies in this book

    A Miracle For Mariam by Kathleen Fuller

    Mariam, her heart was once broken. Her self esteem took a heavy beating. Then Seth came back. Can she accept him? Would the pain be too great?

    A Choice To Forgive by Beth Wiseman

    Lydia, a widow, opened the door and suddenly she was like strucked by the ghost of her past. Daniel who had deserted her stood there and told her that she have been baptized back into the community. Could she forgive and let him enter her life again?

    One Child by Barbara Cameron

    For any woman, having a miscarriage is one of the most painful thing ever. Sarah lost her first child a year ago. And due to circumstances beyond her control she was looped in to be the the midwife of an Englisch couple. Would Sarah be able to share the joy?

    Christmas Cradles by Kelly Long

    Anna was to takeover for a night from her Aunt Ruth who is the Amish local midwife. Guess it's Murphy's law. It happens to be the darkest night and they having the worst blizzard. And all who going to give birth, gave birth that night. Can Anna help these mothers? Two dramatic birth. And what does Asa ,who is escorting Anna around, feel?

    the stories in this book are easy to read. The language flows easily. I finished this in two hours.


    I received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson Publisher as part of the blogger review programme. I was not required to give a positive review and all opinions expressed here in are her own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice, cozy read

    This is a cute book with 3 stories. I liked them all, but the first story seemed a little slow to me. The second story was my favorite. It was harder to put down than the other two. All in all, I enjoyed this book, but I wouldn't call it my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Christmas

    A Christmas Novella, containing three stories about three different Amish women in Paradise Pennsylvania. All three stories connected with the other, and were very well written in the way they connected.


    Miriam, had a crush on Seth when they were fourteen years old, but being teased by other boys about it, Seth disdained her and called her a four eyed beanpole, harboring that hurt for years, Miriam had drawn herself away from any chance of romance, but then when she was nineteen years old Seth came back into her life. She was afraid to open herself to romance, but could she truly be loved as she wanted?


    Lydia's husband had died a couple of years ago, she had worked hard to make a living for her children and herself, when someone from the past showed up on her doorstep. Wanting to drive Daniel away, she remembered how he had hurt her with his sudden departure years earlier, leaving her to be consoled by his brother Elam, now Elam is dead and Daniel is back, and there is a story to be told, can she find it in her heart to forgive and to love again?


    Sarah and David Fisher, lost a baby during the Christmas season a few years ago, and now Sarah was sad that she didn't seem to be able to get pregnant again, but determined not to let her fears, hurt and pain show, she entertained her family and friends for First Christmas, carrying on a old family tradition, but the night would bring more than a winter storm to their door, it would bring a stranded Englisher and his wife, his very pregnant wife. His very pregnant wife who seemed to be going into early labor. How can Sarah do this, take care of a woman who is having a child when it is the very thing that Sarah desires most? Would the baby be safe, would he survive?


    Three stories that will have you reading as fast as you can to get to the next story, Beth, Kathleen and Barbara have brought us a lovely Christmas compilation of Amish stories. Discussion guide and recipes at the end of the book. 444 pages $16.99 US 4 stars.

    This book was provided for review purposes only, no cash or payment was received for this review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2