Customer Reviews for

An Amish Christmas: December in Lancaster County - Four Amish Christmas Novellas

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

An Amish Christmas

An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without rememb...
An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without remembering the other two.

(But good luck not reading them all at once.)

The three stories are all really good, but I think my favorite was A Choice to Forgive (the one by Beth Wiseman). But that in no way indicates that I didn't love A Miracle for Miriam (Kathleen Fuller) and One Child (Barbara Cameron), too.

The book opens with A Miracle for Miriam, which is about a woman with incredibly low self-esteem who finds herself being courted by Seth. In school, Seth was the most popular boy and he broke Miriam's heart. But now he's older and wiser and wants to make it up to her. But can she trust him? (And, more importantly, should she?)

Then there's A Choice to Forgive. Lydia is a young widow with three children. Her dead husband is the brother of her first love (Daniel), who broke her heart when he vanished on Christmas. Except now he's back and he wants to be re-baptized into the faith. He clearly still likes Lydia, but can she get over her hurt (and feeling like she's betraying her husband by wanting his brother)?

And finally One Child. Sarah and her husband are still grieving the baby they lost over Christmas a year ago. Then, during a really bad blizzard, a very pregnant Englisch woman and her husband show up. They had a car accident and need somewhere to stay. Sarah has to help a woman with the only thing she wants and lacks: a baby.

This book also has discussion questions and recipes.

This would be an excellent stocking stuffer for a girlfriend of yours who reads. (Especially if she has a fascination with the Amish, which I think most of us do. Or is that just me?)

posted by khager23 on November 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

M

Well, thanks to the many ling winded plot spoilers here, this is another book useless to buy. They told everything that happens. Wish bn would stop these rude hateful ppl from ruining books for others.

posted by 8888649 on December 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Christmas

    An Amish Christmas is three novellas, all set in Paradise (town in Pennsylvania). They're interconnected (characters from one pop up in the other two) but also standalones so if for whatever reason you don't read them all at once, you can follow each one without remembering the other two.

    (But good luck not reading them all at once.)

    The three stories are all really good, but I think my favorite was A Choice to Forgive (the one by Beth Wiseman). But that in no way indicates that I didn't love A Miracle for Miriam (Kathleen Fuller) and One Child (Barbara Cameron), too.

    The book opens with A Miracle for Miriam, which is about a woman with incredibly low self-esteem who finds herself being courted by Seth. In school, Seth was the most popular boy and he broke Miriam's heart. But now he's older and wiser and wants to make it up to her. But can she trust him? (And, more importantly, should she?)

    Then there's A Choice to Forgive. Lydia is a young widow with three children. Her dead husband is the brother of her first love (Daniel), who broke her heart when he vanished on Christmas. Except now he's back and he wants to be re-baptized into the faith. He clearly still likes Lydia, but can she get over her hurt (and feeling like she's betraying her husband by wanting his brother)?

    And finally One Child. Sarah and her husband are still grieving the baby they lost over Christmas a year ago. Then, during a really bad blizzard, a very pregnant Englisch woman and her husband show up. They had a car accident and need somewhere to stay. Sarah has to help a woman with the only thing she wants and lacks: a baby.

    This book also has discussion questions and recipes.

    This would be an excellent stocking stuffer for a girlfriend of yours who reads. (Especially if she has a fascination with the Amish, which I think most of us do. Or is that just me?)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    A definite must read!

    The first story in the collection is A Miracle for Miriam by one of my favorite authors, Kathleen Fuller. As a child, Miriam had a pretty intense case of puppy love for Seth. A cruel joke on the playground shatters her confidence but not her feelings. Years later Seth is in a terrible accident and returns to the simple life in the Amish community after withdrawing into himself for a while. He finally notices that plain little Miriam has grown up into a strong, lovely, helpful and hardworking Amish woman...can he repair the hurt feelings from long ago and start a new life with her? This was a terrific story and one of my two favorites from the book.

    A Choice to Forgive by Beth Wiseman is the story of Lydia who's husband of 15 years dies suddenly. To add to her sadness and confusion during a very troubling time her first love, Daniel, has returned to their Amish community after disappearing on Christmas Eve nearly 16 years before. As an added twist, Daniel is also the brother of Lydia's deceased husband. Can Lydia pick up the pieces and go on with her life, even with her lost love as her neighbor?

    In Barbara Cameron's terrific tale One Child a Christmas Eve birth will spell remarkable changes for two very different Lancaster County couples...what's the mystery? Why the changes? You HAVE to read this story to find out. It had me riveted and is my second favorite from this fabulous collection.

    Lastly, in Kelly Long's Christmas Cradles spirited and sprightly Anna Stolis takes over for her aunt in the role of midwife on Christmas night. Throughout the night more than one baby is born, several gorgeous Amish quilts take the stage and, surprise of surprises, the taciturn Asa Lapp, a man with a story of his own, helps her out. Will Christmas give these two plain folk a present they didn't bargain for?

    In all I give this fabulous collection 5 stars. It is very readable and brought me endless joy during an already joyous season. A definite must read and one you'll want to keep in your Christmas collection to re-read each year during the Christmas season.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Beautiful stories!

    Beautiful stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Heartwarming

    Each novelette was a story of love and forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I am into everything Amish. I enjoyed these books very much. Alt

    I am into everything Amish. I enjoyed these books very much. Although I was a bit confused when I started to read the second book, I soon realized that all three books are about the same family, just different pointsf view and different story lines. I found this story to be easy to read and I couldn't tear myself away. I highly recommend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Loved it !!!

    Three wonderful Amish stories. Very enjoyable !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Joyful read that was perfect for the holiday.

    I enjoyed visiting with the Amazing Amish People who enjoy life and celebrate it to its fullest. I was drawn into the simple life style, even if I would have problems living without Electricity and cars and English ways of life. I revisited childhood memories of the wonderful sound and smells of this way of life. Thanks for a job well done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Heartwarming holiday stories!

    You can truly snuggle up with these stories on a cold winter day or evening. It's refreshing to read an entire book without having to deal with sleezy romance and offending language. The inclusion of words in Pennsylvania Dutch lent well to the authenticity of the stories. Enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Nice, light reading during the busy holiday season...

    Three novellas that were just right for a hectic time of year, fun to read when I had a few minutes without making me think too hard or get so wrapped up in it that nothing else got done.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Interesting !!

    Love the book so far as I have not finished it yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Another great book from Beth

    Great reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    pleasant read

    These were simple stories with happy endings so pleasant to read for light entertainment. I found I really missed the characters when the stories were finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Recommend

    I enjoyed these light reading stories. They were especially nice to read during the Christmas Holidays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    highly recommend!

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS NOOK BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Probably worth your time!

    Haven't read it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I really enjoyed this collection of stories that take place in t

    I really enjoyed this collection of stories that take place in the Amish community. I was interested in the life they live and values they display. Each story exemplifies the simplicity of the Christmas message through stories of love, family and a simple life. It puts you in the Christmas Spirit for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Anon

    Wonderful stories that are perfect for the Christmas season



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Awesome book

    Its a brilliant book. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Christmas Read!

    An Amish Christmas

    December in Lancaster County

    Four Amish Christmas Novellas

    Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Barbara Cameron, and Kelly Long

    December beckons me with its Christmas lights and cold nights to read a good Christmas story. I have my favorites, and An Amish Christmas has become one of them. A collection of Christmas novellas are typically unconnected stories by different authors of the same genre. In this case, these four novellas tell the story of one December in Lancaster County.

    In A Miracle For Miriam by Kathleen Fuller, you learn about the deep hurt that causes Miriam to disappear into herself. Seth caused the hurt when they were both fourteen years old. Most of us remember our hurts and some of us have allowed those hurts to influence us as adults. It's a beautiful love story in which other characters from the other three novellas are introduced.

    A Choice to Forgive by Beth Wiseman opens with Lydia answering a knock at her door and discovering her first love, Daniel Smucker, standing confidently on her doorstep. He promised to marry her when they were young and mysteriously disappeared on Christmas. Lydia marries his brother, Elam, who happens to comfort her during her difficult heart break. She becomes a widow when he dies of a heart attack. Those feelings of love for Daniel rise again and she struggles to forgive him for running away. He tries to explain the difficult and complicated situation that sent him away, and the secret that he and his brother kept from her causes an enormous emotional struggle.

    One Child by Barbara Cameron addresses Sarah and David's struggle over their miscarriage. Sarah prays to Derr Herr for a child. It's the only gift she wants on Christmas. Mysterious visitors bring unexpected joy during a particularly bad blizzard. It's a story of healing, love, and friendship.

    Christmas Cradles by Kelly Long tells the story of Anna Stolis and Asa Mast. Anna has never been married. She has become a midwife. Asa Mast also never married. A tragedy occurred during his rumschpringe years that brought him to this point. His father is very ill, refusing to go to the hospital on Christmas. Anna has three deliveries during the night. Normally, his father, Samuel, accompanies Anna's Aunt Ruth (also a midwife), but with Aunt Ruth taking the evening off and Samuel sick, Asa joins Anna in her delivery runs. It is a love story of two insecure people who never thought they could fall in love.

    My favorite books let me learn about the characters even after their stories have been told. It's sad to say goodbye to characters you've come to cherish. In this book you read about a whole community. As I turned the last page of Christmas Cradles I realized I would not hear about Miriam, Seth, Lydia, or the other characters again. My book is a hard bound edition. Apparently, this is one book in a collection of books of a similar nature-An Amish Gathering, and coming in January, 2011, An Amish Love. I can't wait to read those two books. Maybe I'll learn more about these characters or fall in love with new ones.

    Book Provided by the Publisher For Review

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read this Christmas

    Enjoy this Amish Christmas bestseller with an additional new novella from romance author Kelly Long.
    "Christmas Cradles" by Kelly Long -- When Anna Stolis takes over for her aunt, the local Amish midwife in Paradise, Christmas night heats up with multiple deliveries, three strangers' quilts, and the help from resourceful and strong Asa Lapp, whose job it is to get Anna through a dangerous blizzard to complete her midwifery rounds.
    "A Miracle for Miriam" by Kathleen Fuller: This Christmas, Miriam must decide whether to guard herself or accept the love of a man who once broke her heart.
    "A Choice to Forgive" by Beth Wiseman: Lydia, a widow who has given up on love, is shocked when Daniel-- a past love-- returns to the Order, and her life.
    "One Child" by Barbara Cameron: This snowy Lancaster Christmas Eve will see two couples' lives changed by the birth of one child.
    Contributer Barbara Cameron is the author of fifteen novels and three nationally televised movies (HBO), as well as a recipient of the first Romance Writers of America Golden Heart.



    I fell head-over-heels in love with "An Amish Christmas: December in Lancaster County". This is the perfect book to give or get this Christmas. The four novellas (one is actually a bonus novella) reminds the reader of the true meaning of Christmas, with their heartfelt story's of love, redemption, and God's grace. This is my third encounter with Kathleen Fuller's work, and I have to say that I have and still am enjoying her work. This book should be a must read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3