Customer Reviews for

An Amish Gathering: Life in Lancaster County

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    What a wonderful book

    This story was a very good book. I could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    Wonderful read

    I have read this book in hard copy twice and have enjoyed it each time. It is a great book for a rainy, get away from it all day. Hope everyone who reads this book is blessed by the way these three authors portray the Amish people and culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Good Read

    An enjoyable book of 3 ntertwined stories. I liked reading about the Amish in today's times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Heartwarming tales that pull at the heart strings.

    Three stories that bring the reader into the heart of Amish culture and lifestyle. The stores reveal the Amish people for who they are, real people who deal with real emotions and heart ache but in a ways unique to themselves. Their faith is ever present in their lives and their reliance on their faith and values is shown very clearly in these stories in a very touching way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Three Amish Novellas

    "An Amish Gathering" is a collection of three Amish novellas written by three excellent authors of Amish fiction. Each novella focuses on a different Amish family-each of which has an, as yet, unmarried daughter-living in the same Amish community in Paradise, PA. (Yes, there really is a Paradise, PA, and it is heavily populated with Amish families; I have visited many times.)

    In the first story, "A Change of Heart," Leah Petersheim is so intent on writing stories that she has never developed the requisite skills-i.e., cooking, cleaning, sewing, gardening-expected of every Amish girl. But despite her lack of homemaking skills, Aaron loves her and is determined to make her his wife.

    In "When Winter Comes," even though five years have passed since the death of her twin sister, Rebecca is still grieving and has not been able to participate in the usual activities of young unmarried Amish women. She has resigned herself to becoming an old maid. But Ben has other ideas, and he waits patiently for her to come to him.

    In "A Place of His Own," Amanda's friend, Josiah, has returned to Paradise after an absence of 10 years. His parents are both dead, and he has returned to make much needed repairs to their old home and to put it on the market for sale. Although Josiah seems to be carrying a lot of personal baggage, Amanda still loves him and is determined to rebuild their prior friendship into a more meaningful relationship.

    All three novellas are delightful stories that I found quite enjoyable. I recommend this volume to anyone who enjoys stories of the Amish culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Book will not open

    Do not buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Excellent

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    recommend

    very enjoyable and inspiring. i have already ordered two more of beth wisemans,s books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1