Customer Reviews for

An Amish Love: Healing Hearts / What the Heart Sees / A Marriage of the Heart

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Wonderful Collection

    I particularly liked the first story, ***A Marriage of the Heart.*** An Amish man (Joseph Lambert) returns to the community after a bann and is forced into marriage in order to protect the honor of a deceitful young Amish woman (Abigail Kauffman). The first thoughts which came to mind was this couple was unequally yoked. Early, I worried Abigail would lead Joseph astray. It was beautiful the way love and patience transformed the couple so they both ended up pulling in the same direction. 4.5 – 5 out of 5 stars. Definitely my fave of the three. What the Heart Sees was quite enjoyable, though the ending was a bit rushed. Still, it held my interest throughout though. In this story, we have an Amish man (Christopher Bender) wanting to reenter the community after a bann but his inability to forgive another member interferes with his desires. Helping him through his journey is blind Amish woman (Ellie Chupp) who believes her blindness makes her undesirable for marriage. I think this work would have been much stronger if so much information weren’t withheld from the reader. The information was doled out in a way that left me (as a reader) in the dark but offered no suspense. But like I said, the over all story kept me interested. 3.5 – 4 out of 5 stars. The final work, Healing Hearts started out wonderful. I absolutely loved the idea of an older couple falling in love again. Though I’m far from their age, I could truly relate to their situation. My biggest issue is the story dragged out too long, and the characters got a little silly stupid toward the end. Partway through the story, a side character (Larry) was introduced with minimum information. Though he played a significant role to keep the story moving beyond the happily ever after, I knew so little about him, I lacked interest in his story line. 3 out of 5 stars. One thing interesting about this collection, all the stories were in the same setting. Not just an Amish environment, but in the exact same town so that characters from on story intermingled with characters in the other stories. Now isn’t that cool? I received this work from the publisher in exchange for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Great easy reading

    Womderful stories - easy to read. I always like Beth Wiseman stories - have never read Kathleen Fuller or Kelly Long but I will be looking for more stories by them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Amish Love by Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller, Kelly Long

    The stories characters overcome difficult circumstances and find the perfect loves. Amish romance is written in an innocent way Pure and innocent love appeals to most women. This book is heavy on values: forgiveness, faith, the importance of family, and love. The characters are presented in a realistic way. I was able to easily get lost in the stories I read. This is a book you'd like. Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    his is my kind of book! I loved it and never wanted it to end! The three stories take place in the same Amish community and some of the characters appear in the other stories. The book is written by three great Amish story tellers, Beth Wiseman, Kathleen Fuller and Kelly Long.
    The first is about a hurting girl who tricks an newly baptized Amishman into marriage. Loved how this story unfolded and how love and forgiveness abounds.
    The second story is about a tragic accident and death. Again this book has a lot to do about forgiveness and dealing with a handicap. You will love how Ellie deals with her blindness. Will love prevail?
    The last story is Naaman and Lavina and a lot of forgiveness! Naaman has returned home after abandoning his family for almost a year. Some of his children forgive easily while the others are not ready. You will love how Naaman tries to win back Lavina...dates, notes and even kite flying!
    As I said I didn't want this book to end, want to go along with their lives. I also loved the recipes that were included in this book!
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review. I was not required to give a complementary review, nor was I compensated. The opinions express are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3 Amish novellas with a heart

    once again, i had the opportunity to read about the Amish and their way of life. it is a glimpse into a different world far from my own and what i am used to. one thing though stands clear to me that deep inside the human genetic makeup, people everywhere are the same regardless of race, creed or color. we all have the same capacity to laugh, to love, to be angry, to be afraid and to conquer our fears. the stories speak about human frailty and its consequences. they talk about ordinary people doing the best they can to cope with the circumstances they deal with everyday. they show how faith in one another and in God can make a huge difference when faced with adversities or setbacks. though the novellas can stand alone, each one is linked in some way with the other. some characters in the other novellas are mentioned and are even part of the story. i strongly suggest that each story be read in the order that it comes if only to avoid spoilers. it is also noteworthy that the authors have included a glossary of Amish terms at the beginning of the book. two other plus factors are the Reading Group Guide and the Amish recipes found at the end. An Amish Love - Three Amish Novellas is an excellent collaboration by three brilliant writers . the characters are well drawn and thought of. it is a perfect read not only for this month of love but also for the rest of the year. if you wish to be inspired, to laugh or have a good cry, take this book with you. be prepared to fall in love as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Three love stories in one volume

    "An Amish Love" contains three novellas: "A Marriage of the Heart" by Kelly Long, "What the Heart Sees" by Kathleen Fuller," and "Healing Hearts" by Beth Wiseman. Each story is well researched and written from the Amish point of view. Each of these stories not only brings out the beauty of true love and commitment, but also some of the struggles the Amish face. Would you want to dress as they do, have no phone or other electronic media, and do all your own cooking? What about the shunning that takes place when someone leaves their world? While the life may seem harsh, these are hearty people who truly live their beliefs. Pick up this book and take a journey into their world, see with their eyes, and fall in love with the Amish.

    I really enjoyed reading these stories. The characters are alive and vibrant and their stories captivated me. I wanted more! I felt for them as they tackled problems like lying, shunning, and blindness. These are characters I would love to meet again and hear more from. If you enjoy books that show you another slice of life and present wonderful characters, this is a book for you. It is best for individual reading, but groups could also have fun discussing it. I received this book from the Book Sneeze program, and thank them for the opportunity to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    3 wonderful stories

    A wonderful reading experience. Learing about what true courtship is makes me want my daughter to have that experience. I know, I know, it won't really happen but A mom can pray that her experience will be amazing. A trilogy of love stories that express so much joy and happiness. In "Healing Hearts," Naaman Lapp decides he needs to take a break from his family. After thirty-one years of marriage, Naaman leaves to visit some family, not knowing when or if he'll return. Levina doesn't understand why her husband left and is further confused when he returns eleven months later. The Amish faith requires her to forgive but can she truly forgive Naaman? When a sheriff comes looking for her husband, Levina wonders if he returned on his own or came seeking refuge. Can she trust him again? Ellie Chupp loses her sight in a car accident in "What the Heart Sees." This same accident kills Christopher Miller's fiancée and he leaves the community, angry that the one responsible wasn't punished. Five years later he returns only to find out his sister is engaged to the man who was driving the car. Can Christopher learn to forgive as Ellie has done?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    A collection of beautiful Amish love stories

    An Amish Love is a collection of three Amish Romances. Each novella features a woman in a different stage of her life. Healing Hearts is about Lavina and Naaman Lapp. Lavina's children are grown and her husband, Naaman, leaves her to visit his cousin and doesn't come back for almost a year. When he does come back, she needs to learn to trust him again and welcome him back into her life despite what some others think. I enjoyed this novella because it lets you see that no one is perfect and that we all struggle with our inner demons regardless of whether or not we're twenty or forty. It was nice to see a romance that features are more mature woman.

    A Marriage of the Heart tells the story of Abby Kauffman and Joseph Lambert. After her mother dies, she is left at home with her father. She feels empty and alone and makes a rash decision that ends up getting her married to Joseph who is new to their community. By learning more of who she is, she learns to love Joseph and they grow together. This story is a true young love, happily ever after type of story. But more than that, it's a story that lets you see two imperfect people growing and maturing into a couple with a strong relationship and a good future together. That's rare in the real world and nice to see in a romance.

    What the Heart Sees is about Ellie Chupp. She lost her site in an accident and then her boyfriend left her. She doesn't think she will ever have a husband because she's blind. When she meets a friend from long ago, sparks fly but she still doesn't believe he's interested in her because she's blind. He is trying to overcome a tragedy and she helps him with this. It's wonderful to see the friendship that this romance started with blossom into something more.

    This is a wonderful collection of short stories for you to enjoy on Valentine's Day or any time. The book also includes old order Amish recipes and a reading group guide. Definitely one of my favorite Amish stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Trio of Stories

    An Amish Love is a trio of novellas set in the same town but written by three different authors. The main characters in each story are included as minor witnesses in the other two tales, weaving continuity through the three stories while still allowing each to stand alone.

    The authors, in order of appearance, are Kelly Long, Kathleen Fuller and Beth Wiseman. Each has already written at least one successful novel set in the Amish country. "A Marriage of the Heart" by Kelly Long tells of the ironic twists that occur in a marriage of convenience. "What the Heart Sees" by Kathleen Fuller tells the story of several young adults who were involved in an accident five years before that resulted in one being blinded and another leaving town. "Healing Hearts" by Beth Wiseman is the story of an empty nest couple struggling to get along now that the children are gone.

    Amish fiction is not something that I read regularly, but I do enjoy a good story, and these three are very good stories. I enjoyed the first two, but I have to admit that they pale in comparison with the third. Beth Wiseman puts in many wonderful plot twists and turns, so that you're never quite sure what will happen next! She is an excellent writer who kept me on the edge of my seat. Her story alone is worth the price of the book.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amish Wonderful!

    I enjoyed reading about the simple things in life..Amish dating, cooking, cleaning, going to Church every Sunday. This was an easy story line to follow as all 3 stories connected in some way by a character or 2. In each story there was a small problem or mystery to be solved and only in the Amish way can it be solved. I think I'll always enjoy reading and learning about the Amish!

    This book was given to me by BookSneeze to Review, all opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    LOVED this book!!!

    Have you ever been in a bind and needed a fast way out? Maybe not an easy way, but you definitely needed to change your situation? In "A Marriage of The Heart" that very thing happens to Abigail Kauffman. Through certain circumstances, she finds herself married to Joseph Lambert and having to adjust to her new way of life, and not necessarily the easy life she was hoping for! Can Abigail and Joseph both put their past behind them and fully embrace the future God intended for them?

    Living the last 5 years without her sight, Ellie has learned to adapt, but wishes her Mother would treat her the same as before the accident. "What the Heart Sees" tells the tale of Ellie Chupp and Christopher Miller. Never in his wildest dreams did Chris expect a homecoming like he receives. Having left the community 5 years earlier, he expected things to have changed while he was gone. But, really? Did it have to include his sister being engaged to Isaiah? With Ellie's help, Chris has many things he needs to work through. Along the way, Ellie may just get the very thing she has been longing for.

    Have you ever felt the temptation to just run away? To leave all your responsibilities behind? In "Healing Hearts", Naaman Lapp has been absent for the past year. His wife, Lavina, has been taking care of their Amish farm with the help of their adult children. Does Naaman think he can just step back in to his former life and that the forgiveness of his people will come as easily as they teach? Forgiveness does comes easy for some, but for others, it's a long road of hard work. Nothing the Amish aren't use to. In the end, can Naaman and Lavina find their way back to that courting love they had some 30 years ago?

    I cannot express how much I enjoyed these 3 novellas! Although I didn't use it, there are discussion questions included at the end of the book for each story. I also love the fact that there are Amish Recipe's listed in the book as well.

    My rating for the book? 5 stars out of 5! What does that mean? It's definitely a go out and buy right away book....especially if you love a good Amish Romance or two!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Book Sneeze and was not required to post a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A new Twist on the Amish books

    This is a new twist on the Amish stories, in this book the people are coming back home after that have left the community asking for forgiveness. The book is made up of three wonderful stories, each by a different author with all of them interacting, the first one is "A Marriage of The Heart by Kelly Long" and in this one is about Abigail Kauffman who finds her husband by telling lies, Joseph Lambert didn't know what hit him, he was asleep and the next thing he knew he was married, really in the middle of the night. What some young ladies want do....but there are hidden things in Joseph past that comes to surface after they are married awhile.



    The second story is "What The Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller" and it finds Ellie Chupp at her father's house when she lives alone with him since her mama passed away, She wakes up in the very early morning from another one of her night mares, she prays that God will take those away after five years. Then in comes Christopher Miller who had left the Amish community and had a good job, a nice apartment but something was missing in his life, he decided that he needed to go back home and pray that the people would take him back. A lot of these stories takes place in and around "Yoder's Pantry" a place where everyone comes for a good meal. Ellie is blind from an accident but she has been taught how to do things even with her blindness, she cooks and makes Ellie's Jellies to see at Yoder's Pantry. Will Christopher be taken back into the Amish community?


    The third story in the book is "Healing Water by Beth Wiseman" and it is about a couple after they have raised their five children and all of them are gone. It is what we call "Empty Nest" and my husband and I have been through this. Naaman and Levina Lapp had come to a part in their lives that they had nothing in common anymore and didn't know how to handle just those two in the house, so Naaman decides he will leave and goes to his cousin's home in Middlefield and stays gone for eleven months. Levina had a very hard time accepting this so did the children. When he returns on his heels in come a sheriff from Middlefield looking for Naaman, now what had Naaman done while he was away to have a sheriff looking for him, this had the whole town whispering trying to keep it away from everyone else, so funny, everyone knew except Naaman and if they had let him in on it things may have turned out better. The couple has to start their relationship over and learn about each other again. Very moving and touching story as I know what they were going through.


    I rate this book with 5 stars.

    The book was sent to me free from Book Sneeze a department of Thomas Nelson Publishers for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Group of Short Stories

    An Amish Love is a collection of three Amish stories that are sure to become favorites with lovers of Amish reading. Each of the stories is a unique story of Amish love. The stories are written by some of the best names in Amish fiction. Beth Wiseman writes Healing Hearts, Kelly Long contribution is A Marriage Of The Heart, and Kathleen Fuller writes What The Heart Sees, which was probably my favorite story out of the three. Ellie is in an accident that causes her to loose her sight, when her boyfriend leaves her she wonders if she will ever have love and a home of her own, because no one will want a blind wife. When a young man returns to the community and meets Ellie, she soon realizes that their may be a chance for her after all. A very touching story.

    If you have never read these authors reading the short stories in this novel will give you a real glimpse of their writing style. I also enjoyed the Amish recipes, and the reading group guide included in this book.



    Even though I was provided a copy of this book for review by Booksneeze it in no way alters my opinion of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1