Customer Reviews for

The Amish Nanny (Women of Lancaster County Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    In the first book, "The Amish Midwife", we met Lexie. In the "Amish Nanny" we learn more about Lexie's sister Ada Rupp. Ada is facing many changes in her life and we get to watch her grow and learn more about her family history and about herself. I enjoyed learning more about the Anabaptist Movement and their place in history. I think you will enjoy meeting Ada as much as you enjoyed meeting Lexie. The writers, Clark and Gould, work seamlessly together with one voice keeping the story line cohesive and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Amish Story

    I enjoyed reading the second book in this series, the first The Amish Midwife started this series. This books starts where the first one ended, and loved that we continued on with the previous characters. You did not have to read the first one to enjoy this one, everything is explained.
    What an enchanted book this one is, hard to put down! Ada Rupp has really had a hard life, she never really had a childhood, as she has an inherited blood disorder. Since finding her sister Lexie, she now has new meds and is now relatively healthy.
    This Amish girl ends up doing a lot of traveling, such fun, and lots of chuckles! She has a bit up spunk for having had a lonely life up to now. She wants Will Gundy, a widower with 3 children. She has admired him since she was a young girl, but now she fears her rival Leah will win his heart. With a twist of fate
    she ends up traveling to Switzerland with Alice, Will's Grandmother, and Christy, his daughter. On the trip she meets Daniel Hart, a young Mennonite, who takes a real liking to Ada.
    There are a lot of twists and turns to this story, but so very enjoyable.
    I was provided with a copy of this book by Harvest House Publishers, and was not required to give a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Enjoyable and informative!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this second book in the series. It takes up the sister discovered by the main character in the first book, and follows her own geographical and spiritual journey. That journey takes her first from Pennsylvania to Oregon, and finally to her ancestral home in Switzerland. Along the way she explores issues of calling, identity, family, trust, and love. I particularly appreciated the clever way the authors wove the history of the Mennonites and Amish in the Old and New Worlds into the heroine's quest to solve a family mystery and ascertain her own future path.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Anyone who enjoys Amish books

    Great read - great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Great Book

    As usual Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould have written another good story. They have a great way of incorporating a little mystery throughout the plot. This is the second in the Women of Lancaster County Series, centering around the same family only this one is written from another family member's point of view: a young woman who was sickly for most of her life, missing out on what most Amish children experienced, discovering in Book One that she had a sister and that her mother was not her birth mother. In Book Two she sets out on a journey to know herself and to experience what most Amish teens experience at a much earlier age than 24. Her travels to Washington to see her sister married is the beginning of her self-discovery and she winds up in Switzerland to help unravel the history of her family. Ada suffers disappointments but realizes she has to wait upon the Lord for His will for her life. In the end, the family mystery is solved, she is reunited with her birth mother and gets the man of her dreams!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Good

    This is a good book. I would recommend this book to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Loved it! I highly recommend it!

    Loved it! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the descrption of Lexie's wedding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    worth reading

    the story continues, but enough background within the story that it can be read independently from the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    This is 2nd in series and I liked both. I truly loved reading ab

    This is 2nd in series and I liked both. I truly loved reading about Switzerland, descriptions of landscapes and architecture. I have resonated with the story a bit as well. Would love to see another book in the series of Gizelle story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I rarely give a 5 star review. However, I haven't put this book

    I rarely give a 5 star review. However, I haven't put this book down except to sleep from start to finish. That said, I am a history NUT, so the fact that it is filled with historical references was a real plus for me. It does help a great deal to read #1 first...it's not completely essential, but you'll understand the nuances of the story far better if you do. Also, in the end, my take away was the further appreciation of religious freedom in America. I LOVED this book. Hands down the best book I've read this year. My only complaint was that I read the ebook version and in the final scenes, there is a "letter" to read. It's written in a cursive font that did not enlarge with the reader font function. I had to read several sections of that with the reader in one hand and a magnifying glass in the other, so beware. It's just one of those quirks of ebooks, I guess, but I was certainly glad I had a strong enough magnifier because it would have been very sad to not read that "letter." Just FYI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    We rejoin the story of the Women of Lancaster County, with the s

    We rejoin the story of the Women of Lancaster County, with the story of Ada Rupp. We met her earlier in the first novel in this series, but she was younger, and now we meet her again as a young woman, on the brink of the rest of her life. However an illness that kept her close to home and under the watchful eye of her Mamm, has been resolved with taking some simple supplements, and her health is better than ever. And now we discover Ada has decided she is ready to live life. She won't admit it to anyone, but she is in love with a young widower whose Mammi, is her own Mammi's best friend, Will Gundy. However it seems the bishop's daughter Leah, has decided she wants him to court her, and isn't too shy to make a move in that direction. Leah also decided she wanted the job Ada was seeking, teaching at the local school. Ada is crushed and jumps at a chance to travel to Europe to help solve a land issue that involves her family along with Will's family. Accompanying Alice (Will's Mammi) and his oldest daughter to Europe, she serves as a nanny to Will's daughter, teaching her, her school lessons to keep her caught up with her class at home.

    I loved this story, and while there is reference to the back story in the previous novel, the information given is enough for the reader to get the gist of the story, without having read the previous books. I enjoyed the story and loved the ending. (No spoilers) A great story, to share with friends and to keep in my library at home. 344 pages $13.99 US 4 Stars

    This book was provided by Harvest House for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Captivated audience!

    I love the writings of Mindy Starn's Clark. I usually finish a book within 24 hours. I completed this series in less than a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great read for those of any faith...

    eviewed by Dr. Karen Hutchins Pirnot for Readers Favorite

    "The Amish Nanny" by Mindy Clark and Leslie Gould is a beautiful story about love, commitment and the true meaning of family. Not being an Amish believer is in no way a deterrent to reading this delightful book. Ada Rupp is a woman who searches for parts of herself. Adopted at birth, she is now in her early twenties and she longs to slip into the traditional Amish life with a husband and children. But her family's past threatens those goals and thrusts Ada into a lengthy ocean journey to Switzerland where she hopes to become instrumental in uncovering family secrets and the key to resolving a land issue which encompasses several generations. In the meantime, Ada meets Daniel, a Mennonite scholar who threatens to steal her heart and the life she has envisioned for herself back in Lancaster County.

    The reader will be treated to an education in Amish history that is pleasantly presented in an informative but "nonlecture" manner. The ways of the Amish are intermingled with the unfolding of the story in such a way that the reader wants to turn another page in order to discover how each and every well-defined character will work through his or her "issues." In the end, Ada has to make a choice and the choice comes through a search of her heart. A great read for those of any faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    You must read book one first. They are very good and hold your intrest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    The Amish Nanny in Switzerland

    The Amish Nanny by Mindy Starns Clark and Leslie Gould is the second of their books that I've read, the first being The Amish Midwife. In this second book the nanny is Ada Rupp who, because of her Amish community and her own personal health issues, has lived a quiet and uneventful life . . . until her health issues are resolved and she discovers she has an older sister living in Oregon. More family secrets bubble to the surface and Ada learns that her biological mother is none other than her Aunt Giselle who lives in Switzerland. At approximately the same time, she learns that the teaching job she'd been promised has been offered to Leah Fisher, the young woman who seems to have won Will Gundy's heart, the only man Ada has ever loved. Ada's response to her disappointments is inspiring as this quiet girl demonstrates she has backbone, grit and determination, kapp and country ways notwithstanding. How and why Ada travels to Switzerland, who she meets en route, where she stays, what relationships unfold while she is there--all of these things are told in compelling fashion until, in the final pages, the reader breathes a joyful sigh as all Ada's dreams come true--not in Switzerland, but back home in Lancaster County. One of the many things I liked about this book was the attention given to historical details of the Anabaptists in Switzerland. I also enjoyed the way the authors showed the complexities involved in trying to live the Plain life in modern day society. I would recommend this book without reservation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Great Romantic Story

    As usual Mindy Clark does it again with great story that includes a great ending. You are ready for another seqel that is how great this story is. Mindy has talent in her writing to keep your interest right to the anf this no exception. I rate excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good reading experience

    Amish Ada Rupp must decide between joining the faithful and hopefully landing Widower Will Gundy as her mate or leaving. Both are viable options since she met for the first time her sister Lexie Jaeger who helped her understand her illness and is marrying James Nolan in Aurora, Oregon (see The Amish Midwife). However, a chance to travel to Switzerland as a companion to Will's daughter Christy enables Ada to learn about her ancestors especially her birth mother who gave her to the Amish.

    Ada obtains help from Daniel Hart the Mennonite scholar who she likes, but Will occupies her heart and soul. However, it is grief stricken no longer caring about anything or anyone Christy who grabs her soul as The Amish nanny wants to help the tweener move on.

    The second Women of Lancaster County tale (see The Amish Midwife) series focuses on suddenly confused Ada who knew her path until she met her sibling for the first time. Now she has an alternative and a quest. Readers will appreciate this engaging Amish romance as a second Mennonite romance of Ada's traveling companion Morgan and insight to the life (past and present of the Plain people make for a fine at times amusing novel.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2