Customer Reviews for

Amish Peace: Simple Wisdom for a Complicated World

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful book

Peace. Does anyone really have true peace? The Amish seem to have it, but is it peace or just a lack of things? I was curious to read this book and see what Suzanne found out in her research, visits and interviews with the Amish. What I didn't expect was the peace I wou...
Peace. Does anyone really have true peace? The Amish seem to have it, but is it peace or just a lack of things? I was curious to read this book and see what Suzanne found out in her research, visits and interviews with the Amish. What I didn't expect was the peace I would get just from reading the book. I'm not a huge non-fiction fan just because it usually takes me a lot longer to read non-fiction than it does to read fiction. Suzanne has such a captivating writing style, short chapters and wonderful people to write about that I just zipped right through this book. At the end of each chapter she has a little section "Reflections on..." and a "Plain Living" box that both give you things to think about and how what was discussed in that chapter may or may not relate to your life.

This book would be such a blessing to any fan of Wanda Brunstetter, Beverly Lewis, Beth Wiseman or Shelley Shepherd Gray. It will give the reader a deeper insight into the culture they have loved reading about and may just give them a deeper insight into how to obtain more peace in their own life.

posted by Janna6 on October 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good way to see into the Amish community

I found this book interesting. It has little Amish quotes throughout the book that I thought was neat. It also has "reflections on simplicity" at the end of every chapter. They didn't seem to be realistic to me.
Over all I think this book is a good read if you are int...
I found this book interesting. It has little Amish quotes throughout the book that I thought was neat. It also has "reflections on simplicity" at the end of every chapter. They didn't seem to be realistic to me.
Over all I think this book is a good read if you are interested in wanting to know about the amish lifestyle.

posted by Generaljustin on January 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful book

    Peace. Does anyone really have true peace? The Amish seem to have it, but is it peace or just a lack of things? I was curious to read this book and see what Suzanne found out in her research, visits and interviews with the Amish. What I didn't expect was the peace I would get just from reading the book. I'm not a huge non-fiction fan just because it usually takes me a lot longer to read non-fiction than it does to read fiction. Suzanne has such a captivating writing style, short chapters and wonderful people to write about that I just zipped right through this book. At the end of each chapter she has a little section "Reflections on..." and a "Plain Living" box that both give you things to think about and how what was discussed in that chapter may or may not relate to your life.

    This book would be such a blessing to any fan of Wanda Brunstetter, Beverly Lewis, Beth Wiseman or Shelley Shepherd Gray. It will give the reader a deeper insight into the culture they have loved reading about and may just give them a deeper insight into how to obtain more peace in their own life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    I loved this book

    As my life has become increasingly hectic, I caught myself wishing for the simple life that I had as a child. In my quest for simplicity I couldn't help but be drawn to the Amish. I ordered this book to learn more about the Amish people and their way of life. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and the stories about the Amish people the author encountered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Enjoyable and insightful look at a fascinating people

    Amish Peace by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a fascinating look at the source of the title. Fisher, who comes from an Anabaptist tradition called Dunkards, delves deeply into the day-to-day life of the Amish. With their focus on God and family, they have a better understanding of what it means to live the way God intends and the peace that pervades every aspect of their life emphasizes this. Each short chapter gives insight into one aspect of their lives: respect for elders, working as a community, or church services. The Amish have a different way of looking at life: one woman gave up her painting for a time when she feared that it was overwhelming her love for God. Families with Alzheimer's patients or disabled children don't institutionalize their loved ones, but devote their lives to caring for them. Whether you have an slight interest in the Amish or a fascination to know more about their way of life, this book will definitely satisfy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended - A New Way Of Life

    After reading other books about the Amish I found it interesting and wanted to read more about the true life of the Amish. This book tells alot about the true life of the Amish and it is so interesting. I am not Amish but it is a way of living that I have changed my life since reading many stories most especially those written by Beverly Lewis. Simplicity is a very worth while way of living. I did enjoy this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Well worth reading!

    I found this book an inspiring easy read. Big truths well researched and well written. A marvellous group of people with Godly strength, wisdom, discipline and peace!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    A good way to see into the Amish community

    I found this book interesting. It has little Amish quotes throughout the book that I thought was neat. It also has "reflections on simplicity" at the end of every chapter. They didn't seem to be realistic to me.
    Over all I think this book is a good read if you are interested in wanting to know about the amish lifestyle.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    SOL

    (Athena I think got locked out. Move to a place where theres more than one of the same book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Great book

    If we all could be!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    A true glimpse into Amish life

    Sprituality is as simple as this Amish life- Excellent, pure, and encouraging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1