Customer Reviews for

Amityville Horror

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but.............

I'm a teenager who saw the movie and became interested in the story. So I bought the book. The writing style is poor, which irritated me at times as I was reading. However, don't let this stop you from buying the book. I couldn't stop reading throughout most of the book...
I'm a teenager who saw the movie and became interested in the story. So I bought the book. The writing style is poor, which irritated me at times as I was reading. However, don't let this stop you from buying the book. I couldn't stop reading throughout most of the book, and I got pretty freaked out at times. The book is much different from the film as it adds to the story of the priest who came to bless the house. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the story and anyone who is eager to read a good horror novel. It is an easy read and you won't regret your decision to buy the book.

posted by Anonymous on February 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay

It's not really a good book. The writing style is kind of poor and its only redeeming feature is that it details quite a stunning (purportedly true) story. I very rarely feel this way, but the movie (the old one) is better. However, this is the best book I've found o...
It's not really a good book. The writing style is kind of poor and its only redeeming feature is that it details quite a stunning (purportedly true) story. I very rarely feel this way, but the movie (the old one) is better. However, this is the best book I've found on this subject.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Interesting, but.............

    I'm a teenager who saw the movie and became interested in the story. So I bought the book. The writing style is poor, which irritated me at times as I was reading. However, don't let this stop you from buying the book. I couldn't stop reading throughout most of the book, and I got pretty freaked out at times. The book is much different from the film as it adds to the story of the priest who came to bless the house. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the story and anyone who is eager to read a good horror novel. It is an easy read and you won't regret your decision to buy the book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    The Scariest Book I Have Ever Read

    This was the best and scariest book i have ever read i my life the best horror ever!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    True story or not, this book was very intriguing. The writing st

    True story or not, this book was very intriguing. The writing style is kind of slow, but I could not put the book down. Don't be put off by other critiques saying "this story is a fake" or "nothing ever happened." In my opinion, I really like the story and it's one of my favorite horror/thriller stories.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    A very nice piece of fiction...

    This is a nice piece of fiction - that is what people should understand. Thought claimed to be real and true - there is no proof that anything ever took place.
    Some facts that people often overlook are:
    1. There was no burial ground on the site
    2. The "hidden" room in the basement is not hidden - it was a play room of the Defeo children.
    3. People live in the house presenlty and no owner since the Lutz's has ever complained of anything "supernatural" occuring - EVER!!!
    What we have here is a case of a family getting in over thier head financially and coming up with a rather unique way of bailing on thier mortgage and made a few bucks along the way.

    I give this book 2 stars because it is a fun read but the fact that they claim its true is just nonsense. I have read hundreds of books and stories about purported hauntings and if this book was true - by comparison it is the most haunted house ever in the history of world!!! One woudl think that if someone else would have encountered these spirits or ghosts other than the Lutz's - but no.

    Like I said a good read but its not true - sorry....

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Okay

    It's not really a good book. The writing style is kind of poor and its only redeeming feature is that it details quite a stunning (purportedly true) story. I very rarely feel this way, but the movie (the old one) is better. However, this is the best book I've found on this subject.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    Great Book

    This book is great. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. Awesome Horror

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Accounts or a Tale?

    I thought this book was rather boring. I was somewhat interested to a slight extent, but I ended up finding myself reading a chapter every other week. Due to the writer's foreshadowing not living up to what foreshadowing is suppose to do, some grammer, and how a point goes off into a tangent but doesnt fully deliver back to the already begun point. Honestly, I thought I bought a book about the accounts that happened in that house, not accounts blended into a story. I wouldnt recommend this unless you'd rather 'force' yourself to read a book. If youre looking for an actual documentary on paper about this story, this one certainly isn't it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No Rating

    I can't not write a review as I bought it for a friends birthday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Amityville Horror By Jay Anson December 18th, 1975 the Lutz

    The Amityville Horror
    By Jay Anson

    December 18th, 1975 the Lutz family moves into their dream home, purchased at a steal because there had been a gruesome murder in the house. The Lutzes believe a house is just a house and are not afraid to move in, they will not stay more than a month. This is a true account of what happened to the Lutz family the terror that will forever change their lives.

    Some of this story I don’t quite believe, such as they thought it strange that the wife woke up in the middle of the night and the next day didn’t remember doing it at all. Well, for me this is something I do all the time since I was a child and people will tell me all sorts of weird things I did or said while I look completely aware and conscious at the time I am still fast asleep, I must be possessed then according to this book. There were other little things that I could easily dismiss as over reactive imagination or any number of things but when it came to floating off the bed, they had me there. Even if these events aren’t real or exaggerated it is a fun read with some truly spooky scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    exaggerated and totally made up ... left me annoyed

    The Amityville Horror was an easy and fast read, but to market it as a true story? Come on! I would have enjoyed this book as fiction, maybe it would even creep me out a bit. Instead, I found myself reading chapter after chapter filled with evil spirits, ghosts, a pig roaming the house and green slime oozing from the walls, all the while thinking how on earth would anyone believe that these things actually happened. The green slime made me think of Nickelodeon :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    SUPER SCARY BOOK

    This is a GREAT book, I've read other scary books but this one is by far the most scariest. It has great descriptions about the events that happened inside and outside the house. It makes you anxious to read the next chapter right away. I read one chapter and I honestly couldn't put the book down. The book is so terrifying I was too scared to read it at night or alone! Every second I read this book I felt as if someone were watching me and the scene's with Jody were the most frightening. I saw both versions of the movie and I found them scary but when I read the book I was almost traumatized. The book is scarier than the movie. If you would like to get a good scare and thrill and you are not prone to nightmares than this is the book for you! I recommend reading this book. It will definitely give you a good scare!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Scare!!!!!!!

    The Amityville Horror written by Jay Anson tells the probable true story of the Lutz family. Beforehand, it is explained there is a house on Ocean Avenue in Long Island where a homicide took place. Ronald DeFeo had just confessed to the killing of his family in the house while they were all asleep. DeFeo explained that he had heard a voice telling him to go kill his family and he had said that was his motive and reason for committing the gruesome and heartbreaking crime. Ever since then, nobody has moved in or rented the DeFeos' old house, for it was the place of a crime scene. However, the Lutzes were searching for a place to live in an affordable range of money. So far, they were coming up blank, finding no good homes. That is, until they stumbled upon the DeFeo house, which was practically a mansion not to mention a dream house and it was only selling for $80,000. Eagerly, the Lutzes decided to take the house, and didn't care when they heard of the murders that had recently occured there. They ignored the story of the crime, and focused on moving into the grand house and making a wonderful life there with their three children. At first, everything seems to be normal, except for a few things. George Lutz is grumpy and Kathy Lutz and the children can't figure out the reason. But soon, other strange things start happening, too, like the toilet blackening for no reason whatsoever. The clergyman who had come to bless the Lutzes' new home, is now suffering from an illness. Also, when reltaives or friends come over to visit the Lutzes, they say they feel uneasy aout the house, and ask to leave quickly. The Lutzes are also finding out secrets about the house they never knew about before, like that the house had a chamber in the basement, maybe for rituals of some sort and that it was painted with blood. Georger Lutz is also starting to notice he looks like Ronald DeFeo, and the children are sleeping the same way the DeFeo family had been sleeping when murdered. Many other starnge things happen, and it combines into a frightful mystery. This would probably best be presented as either a ghost story or an unsolved mystery. Athough the author claims there the story is not false, there are both doubters and believers. These events are also said to take place bak in 1975. I am not sure what I believe, I just know it was a scary but amazing story for me to read and I simply loved it. I give it five stars, and I would recommend this book for any ghost hunters, people who want a thrill, or people who just adore ghost stories. This book is just perfect for you. I hope you like te story as much as I did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    it's creepier when you are done.

    I decided to start reading the books behind the scariest movies in cinema history and started with this one. Now, the book in and of itself is a good read, albeit a quick one (clocking in at just over 300 pages), with plenty of creepy imagry to go around, BUT the real creepiness starts when you are done with the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    Highly recommended to read!

    The Amityville Horror is a great book for people who are interested in reading something scary and really interesting. There are many twists and turns in this book and many times when you don't want to put the book down. You want to read what is coming next and how it will turn out. many different things occur in the book that cause you to think one thing is going to happen but instead it changes and the opposite happens. Through out the book you are waiting to read what will happen to George and his family and how they will escape from the house that has an unknown past. This book really gets you thinking and is definitely scary. Many weird things happen in the house such as Missy having an imaginary friend that may not be imaginary after all, it getting really cold in the house at random hours of the day, and people in the family levitating towards the windows and doors without them being able to control it. many people should read this book if they are looking for something interesting, scary, and something that will make them think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a thrill!

    This book, I believe, is only for a reading looking into this incident in history. If you are just simply looking for a scary thriller go with a different choice. This book allows you to understand what this family went through and their struggles!
    If you do not believe in the paranormal at all this book will start you on the path of believing and if you already do, this helps your belief to become stronger. I would read this book again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!

    The Amityville horror is quite possibly one of the best books i have ever read in my 12 years of living. It has a breakback pace that can't be beat!
    The storyline and the plot are just amazing. I am well aware that it is a true story.

    I reccomend this book to die-hard horror book fans! It is very VERY scary.
    I also Reccomend the movie AFTER the book. Just so it dosent spoil it for you. :) ??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best ghost story ever!

    Always love a tale about a haunted house. First read this book in the 8th grade and did a report on it [received an A+]. It is supposed to be an account of an actual event. Much like The Blair Witch Project was. I admit the novel wasn't scary; favorite character was the menacing ghost pig named Jodie. I believe Jodie now haunts Oscar Mayer! Anyway, the original movie version is much, much scarier! Had nightmares when I saw it back in highschool. The perfect book for a dark rainy night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book

    This was a fast paced book, with a horrific account of the Lutz's experience at 112 Ocean Ave. It's pretty scary to think that this stuff actually occurred.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well, the movies got SOME of the facts right. Some of the facts are just too weird.

    A talking spirit pig. A nightly marching band. This book reads like fiction and even though you'll think 'This isn't scary.' you'll think twice when you're up in the middle of the night in your dark house. Anson does a great job of keeping all the stories in a continual chronological order, flipping back and forth between people with no confusion for the reader. If you don't believe in paranormal activity or demonic occurences read this story about a very normal family who didn't believe in those things either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    disappointing

    i think it's dumb because i was hearing that it would scare the hell out of you. i mean i get scared easy but this book wasn't scary at all. i wouldn't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3