Customer Reviews for

Ammey McKeaf: The Chronicles of Azulland - Book 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

posted by DoeFae on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Author has potential

I feel like romance writers or really any writer that develops relationships in a story needs to be aware of what constitutes rape. Any time a person is in a position of power over another person and uses that position to force another sexually, it is rape. That being...
I feel like romance writers or really any writer that develops relationships in a story needs to be aware of what constitutes rape. Any time a person is in a position of power over another person and uses that position to force another sexually, it is rape. That being said, a writer should never condone rape by then having her victim come to care for or love her rapist. That is basically telling everyone that what happened is okay. The ends justified the means. She did not want him, so he forced her, then she came to want him. I think this author has potential, but I could not get past this part of the plotline. I would never let my daughter read this book. I do not want her to think that this it is okay for a man to force himself, as long as he is sorry and troubled after.

posted by tabycatOH on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Author has potential

    I feel like romance writers or really any writer that develops relationships in a story needs to be aware of what constitutes rape. Any time a person is in a position of power over another person and uses that position to force another sexually, it is rape. That being said, a writer should never condone rape by then having her victim come to care for or love her rapist. That is basically telling everyone that what happened is okay. The ends justified the means. She did not want him, so he forced her, then she came to want him. I think this author has potential, but I could not get past this part of the plotline. I would never let my daughter read this book. I do not want her to think that this it is okay for a man to force himself, as long as he is sorry and troubled after.

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Anyone (like me) who loved Game of Thrones will enjoy this! Best

    Anyone (like me) who loved Game of Thrones will enjoy this! Best I've read since Hunger Games! I totally got Ammey. Sure, she starts a little bit spoiled and pampered (even though she thinks she's not) but then she thrown into a crazy violent new world and has to adapt. What's great (besides Vincent, OMG!) is to see her become this strong, noble warrior, only she doesn't lose her femininity or her sense of humor. I also liked the humor in the book. Very, very good. Can't wait for the next one.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

    Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    I absolutely loved it. I could not put it down. I seriously co

    I absolutely loved it. I could not put it down. I seriously could see this being an HBO series.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Me sept 9, 2012

    Could not put it down. Really enjoyed story line.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Prologe drags you in!

    I just began readin this story and can already tell I will love it! I will post again once I finish...but I had to write a review now...its been so long since the first few pages of a book has been able to drag me in and make me not want to put the book down...normally it takes a few chapters to get me to that point but not this one...The author did a fantastic job of making sure the readers will not want to stop! If you like books like this than you will not be disappointed! Well back to the book! I will be sure to post another review once I finish! But I can already tell you that you won't be disappointed!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Great read!!

    I Loved this book, it was very well written and the storyline was well developed. Also Great character development. Im ready for the next book of adventures!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Well developed characters, superb writing, intriguing plot... A

    Well developed characters, superb writing, intriguing plot... As for the one negative review, the book is more geared for adult readers--so yeah, don't let your teenagers read it if they're not mature enough. For me, I enjoyed the complexity of the characters and the "grey" areas of their actions. It made the world come to life for me, particularly since it was far from perfect. Also, you have to keep in mind the era in which the story is told. As for Ammey, her strength and loyalty and MATURITY made me fall in love with this book. She doesn't complain about the rights and wrongs that were committed, but rather accepts the convoluted of man and rises above it to inspire.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Great book

    I was surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this book. I could not put it down! I am looking forward to the next in this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Fair fantasy read

    While this novel was a definite win as a distraction or diversion, I found its plethora of grammatic and spelling errors a bit disconcerting. The heroine, Ammey, is a fully developed character, but other players in the novel only receive a surface treatment found more commonly in dime store romances as opposed to epic fantasy series. If you seek merely an escapist read, this is the perfect book for you, if you like a more carefully constructed and richer story, grab the Game of Thrones novels, anything by Sarah Monette, or Robin Hobb.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    average

    I got this book because it was free and sometimes you find a diamond in the rough or a author you truly enjoy. Sadly this was not one of those times. I found the book "average". The characters didn't capture my imagination, the plot wasn't anything out of the ordinary. I found myself finishing the book, just to finish it. While I'm loathe to complain about something that's free, I won't waste my time on the second one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Surprise!

    This novel was quite wonderful. The main character initially presented as a skilled yet nieve young woman that had been spoiled by her family of male protectors.
    When circumstances changed she rose to the occasion, displaying quick wit, fortitude, skill and bravery. As the story progresses you can see how she as a character changes and evolves; she even remarkes upon these changes during a moment of reflection. She does grieve for the girl she once was but eventally lifts her head for the strenght she sees in the woman she has become; all in a matter of 8 months. She has held her own during war, negotiations, assaults,adventures and all this in a male dominated world.
    I am eagarly awaiting the next installment.

    Star.I.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Wonderfu

    I cant wait for the next book. This is a page turner that never gets boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Pretty good

    A good read with an interesting story line. Great start to a trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Excellent fantasy book, never a dull moment.....keeps you engage

    Excellent fantasy book, never a dull moment.....keeps you engaged.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Charming

    Soulful characters charm and pull you into both sweetness and bitter conflict. Even the villain is accessible, deepening the appreciation for Ammey's indecision. I was excited to begin Shoup's second novel in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    !

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Wait??

    This is the exact same book cover from the book" the edge of never" who stole whose????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i enjoyed this book

    i enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2