Customer Reviews for

Ammey McKeaf: The Chronicles of Azulland - Book 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

posted by DoeFae on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Author has potential

I feel like romance writers or really any writer that develops relationships in a story needs to be aware of what constitutes rape. Any time a person is in a position of power over another person and uses that position to force another sexually, it is rape. That being...
I feel like romance writers or really any writer that develops relationships in a story needs to be aware of what constitutes rape. Any time a person is in a position of power over another person and uses that position to force another sexually, it is rape. That being said, a writer should never condone rape by then having her victim come to care for or love her rapist. That is basically telling everyone that what happened is okay. The ends justified the means. She did not want him, so he forced her, then she came to want him. I think this author has potential, but I could not get past this part of the plotline. I would never let my daughter read this book. I do not want her to think that this it is okay for a man to force himself, as long as he is sorry and troubled after.

posted by tabycatOH on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    Anyone (like me) who loved Game of Thrones will enjoy this! Best

    Anyone (like me) who loved Game of Thrones will enjoy this! Best I've read since Hunger Games! I totally got Ammey. Sure, she starts a little bit spoiled and pampered (even though she thinks she's not) but then she thrown into a crazy violent new world and has to adapt. What's great (besides Vincent, OMG!) is to see her become this strong, noble warrior, only she doesn't lose her femininity or her sense of humor. I also liked the humor in the book. Very, very good. Can't wait for the next one.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

    Wonderful story. Strong plot. Excited to read the next book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    I absolutely loved it. I could not put it down. I seriously co

    I absolutely loved it. I could not put it down. I seriously could see this being an HBO series.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Prologe drags you in!

    I just began readin this story and can already tell I will love it! I will post again once I finish...but I had to write a review now...its been so long since the first few pages of a book has been able to drag me in and make me not want to put the book down...normally it takes a few chapters to get me to that point but not this one...The author did a fantastic job of making sure the readers will not want to stop! If you like books like this than you will not be disappointed! Well back to the book! I will be sure to post another review once I finish! But I can already tell you that you won't be disappointed!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Great read!!

    I Loved this book, it was very well written and the storyline was well developed. Also Great character development. Im ready for the next book of adventures!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Well developed characters, superb writing, intriguing plot... A

    Well developed characters, superb writing, intriguing plot... As for the one negative review, the book is more geared for adult readers--so yeah, don't let your teenagers read it if they're not mature enough. For me, I enjoyed the complexity of the characters and the "grey" areas of their actions. It made the world come to life for me, particularly since it was far from perfect. Also, you have to keep in mind the era in which the story is told. As for Ammey, her strength and loyalty and MATURITY made me fall in love with this book. She doesn't complain about the rights and wrongs that were committed, but rather accepts the convoluted of man and rises above it to inspire.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Great book

    I was surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this book. I could not put it down! I am looking forward to the next in this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Surprise!

    This novel was quite wonderful. The main character initially presented as a skilled yet nieve young woman that had been spoiled by her family of male protectors.
    When circumstances changed she rose to the occasion, displaying quick wit, fortitude, skill and bravery. As the story progresses you can see how she as a character changes and evolves; she even remarkes upon these changes during a moment of reflection. She does grieve for the girl she once was but eventally lifts her head for the strenght she sees in the woman she has become; all in a matter of 8 months. She has held her own during war, negotiations, assaults,adventures and all this in a male dominated world.
    I am eagarly awaiting the next installment.

    Star.I.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    I literally just finished reading this book and am about to purc

    I literally just finished reading this book and am about to purchase book 2 in the series.  I absolutely loved this book.  Yes, their is a description about this story but it's so much more than that.  You're lifted and traveled back in time to the story.  You feel like you're part of the story.  Each character had a great essence about them.  You felt like you knew them personally and it wasn't overkill.  I throroughly enjoyed the title character, Ammey,  some described her as spoiled but I don't see that.  I have a bunch of older brothers so I know the feeling of being overprotected, and loved and annoyed because they won't let you be you or find out who you can be because they constantly want to protect you.  In the end, she went through so much turmoil, and test that she won the respect of her entire family and prevailed  
    This would make a wonderful television series and I would support it wholeheartedly.

    Can't wait to dive into Book 2.

    Keep up the great work, Jane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    !

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i enjoyed this book

    i enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    great book

    couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book. I loved the plot and the characters. The author has a great imigination and writing style is enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    I was hooked from the Prologue describing the beautiful island c

    I was hooked from the Prologue describing the beautiful island country of Azulland. I absolutely LOVED this book and was anxiously awaiting the next in the series, Heirs to the Throne (which I have already read). I could not put it down and Ammey's journey had me finding any spare minute I could to finish. She grew into an amazing woman with the strength to endure extraordinary circumstances. Aside from Ammey, the other characters in this book are amazing (Vincent anyone?). Her family is full of these strong, amazing men who have protected her for her entire life and the love in this family makes you want to be one of them. Can't wait for the rest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Loved It!

    Couldn't put it down! Can't wait for the next book to be available!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Loved It!

    I couldn't hardly put it down. The characters are very detailed and I am looking foreward to the book #2. Jane Shoup is a very good writer and I have now read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2