Customer Reviews for

Among the Barons (Shadow Children Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Among the Barons is the fourth novel in the shadow children series. This novel is my favorite of all the shadow children series. There is never a dull moment; it is filled with many surprises and a great deal of suspense. In this novel Luke, the main character, is a thi...
Among the Barons is the fourth novel in the shadow children series. This novel is my favorite of all the shadow children series. There is never a dull moment; it is filled with many surprises and a great deal of suspense. In this novel Luke, the main character, is a third child and is forced to hide from the outside world, because being a third child is illegal. The only people he had ever talked to were his mother, father, and two brothers. In this novel Luke gets the chance to live a real life and to break away from the shadows. He gets a fake identity of a boy named Lee Grant, who was killed in a skiing accident outside of the United States. Luke is sent to the Hendrix School for boys. At first Luke is very shy and unaware of how to act around other boys in the school. After a few months Luke becomes more and more comfortable with his surroundings and comes to find that almost all of the children at the Hendrix School were shadow children with fake identities. Luke did not stay comfortable for long. He was informed later that year that Smits, his new brother, was coming to Hendrix. After Smits arrived a chain of events is set off and Luke finds out that the boy he has been pretending to be is no ordinary boy. Luke's new name is one of the biggest names in the United States. Luke is told he must return to the Grant's house. When Luke arrives he is greeted with smiles and laughter, but little does he know the Grants are hiding something under all the glamour. He uncovers the real reason he was given Lee Grants identity and finds himself face to face with the shadows once again.

posted by 7971646 on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

@#$%*!

@#$%&&&#$$$#**-#$$$%$$$%###%%&:$@#

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    The book Among the Barons is a very good book and is the 4th boo

    The book Among the Barons is a very good book and is the 4th book in the shadow children sequence. It tells of a young boy named Luke who hid from the outside world and couldn’t be seen. Luke was born as a third child and having 3 kids was considered illegal. But in this book Luke got a fake identification card of a kid who was rich but died skiing outside the U.S. The child who died was named Lee Grant and was loved by everyone in his family. Luke with his fake identification card got sent to Hendrix School for boys. After a few days of his stay Smith came to visit him, he was the son of the Baron family came to visit him. The identification card that Luke free from being a third child had originally been a son of the Baron family, which made Smith and him brothers. Smith had arrived with a body guard and was often quarreling with the body guard. They caused so much trouble that they were sent back to the Baron home, but this time Luke came them. That night Luke found out that the real reason that the Baron’s took him in was not for love but to use him and then return in to where he came from. Which means that Luke has to go back into hiding after the Baron’s were done with him. Luke was angry and frustrated, they didn’t understand what it was like to go back into hiding. Where there was no one to talk to or play with, all he could do was hid and not let others know his presence. So he came up with different plans. Read to find out what happened and if he succeeds or not!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Read this better than everyons

    Its soooo lame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    A note from Jessica

    Hello I'm jessica stan. You can find other reviews I wrote everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-18

    Sup' ya'll! I just watched "X-Men:The Days of Future Past" yesterday! It was awesome! I love Raven! She's awesome. So is Wolverine. I love the X-Men! Anyway, next part at missing series #5. This part will be in Camille's pov! ••••••••••••• The Katoblepones had knocked out all the boys, Kara, and Pepper. When they came to me, one Katoblepones grabbed the back of my neck and lifted me off my feet. An empousa with dark skin, black frizzy hair, and orange eyes said to the katoblep," Not her. She useless." " Well that hurt!", I said." Oh I'm sorry. Would like to get knocked out?" " Um, no." " Well, than sut your mouth.", she snapped and walked to another empousa. She pointed over to a ditch and the other empousa smiled." Of course.", the other empousa answered. She walked over to the hole and started talking into it. The Katoblepones dragged the unconscence questers away. The Katoblep behind me picked me up and slung me over his shoulder. He ran to catch up with the others. Everytime he took another step I bumped up and down. Twenty minutes later, he put me down on the ground and was so dizzy I almost threw up. I looked around and we were in a monster camp. There was some cabins and some benches that surrounded a grill thing. The Katoblep grabbed my rope and brought me to a cell looking building. Inside the building, Nicky was dressed in a greek sleevless dress." Nicky! What happened?" " I don't know. These minotaur things breathed on me and I passed out.", Nicky said, confused." Their called Katoblepones. Their Roman.", I informed her. Nicky untied my hands and we sat together for a couple minutes. A young girl came by and gave me a one of the greek dresses. I asked Nicky," What happened to Merida?" " They took her to a different cell." " What about Lauren?", I asked." I don't know. I passed out and I haven't seen her since.", Nicky said. I heard a drum outside and I walked over to the window. I saw a figure of a girl laying on the grill. All different types of monsters were sitting on the benches that surrounded the grill. An empousa holding a torch walked up to the grill and started talking to the other monsters. I couldn't hear what she was saying. She bent over to light the fire. Out of nowhere, an arrow came shotting out of the woods. It hit the empousa in the head. The empousa disinagrated and dropped the torch. The torch fell on the coals and the fire ignitted. The girl on the grill screamed and rolled off the burning grill. The monsters were confused." We have to help them. Hurry!", I said, banging on the door. Surprisingly, it opened. Standing in front of the door was the girl that gave me the dress." Your friends need your help. Go now." Out of nowhere, a sword went right though the girl. The girl fell to the floor. She never moved again. Behind the girl, stood the empousa who told me I was useless." Kelly.", Nicky said, with hate in her voice," Percy told me all about you." " Ah, yes! Percy Jackson. I hate that runt of a boy. Anyway, now I get to kill you." She jumped on top of me. Suddenly, Kelly started saying," Yes! Finally, I have had my revenge on those demigods!" She walked out the door." What happened?", I asked Nicky." I can make people think they've won victory." " Oh, I get. Your a daughter of Nike, goddess of victory. It makes sense.", I said. She answered," Yeah, it does. We got to hurry and help them." We ran out of the cell to help. ••••••••••••••••••••• Bye! SEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    check this out really awesome!

    this series is so cool and it gets even more awesome and intense with the series! I think everyone should read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Love it

    I love these books. Even though I'm only one thr thrird book I still like it. I liked how the secong book was boring at first but when you get going it gets better. But so far my favoite is the third. When Nina went to save Percy, Matthias, and Alia from prison that is so far my favorite part. I wonder if they will get cought. I also wonder if they are going to find Lee Grant. My best guess is that they will find Lee and ask to use his garden. I bet the three kids are third children. But the fourth book looks like it might be better then the third. All I know is I am going to keep reading the series. It has been amazing reading these first three books. I was'nt sure if the first book would be good. But I guess it is. If I could get my sister to read this book and she likes it I will be amazed. Because she has read th hobbit and she likes it. So I'm not even sure if she will like the first second book. She read the first book and liked it. So I'm wondering if she will like the second book. But the point is that I like the book and I'm still going to read the books. Got to run see you people who like these seires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Yay

    Yaaayayaaaaqayyyyaaaa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    To below i agree

    I agree with below its just immature and im only 10 and i know whats immature like farting.just grow up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    To below

    Thank you for helping me. Dont read those sex articles fill your head with good things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Cistfr

    Wwethfdghjyghbmm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Rc

    You thewre irs noah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Real what

    Real good thats what

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Bad smits.!

    I totes legit like agree with ericka!.. whoever you are!!! Great book! You will totally miss out if you dont read!!!! *teehee*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Ericka

    I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ^-^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    AWESOME

    The review under this is also by me, Andy C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    I am only 11 years old my wonderful teacher Mr.Berry recomended it

    After you read the first book you are hooked .I am on among the barons right now it is awsome !!! PS. Margaret Peterson is doing wonderful "keep the books coming!!!!!"


    SAMANTHA WRIGHT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    LOVE

    Love this series!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Its a great book and the series is too!!!!!

    I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    You guys 4

    From the mark of athena comment: i was not able to post more than 1 comment so i might as well post the 4th commet on here. I posted 1,2,3 in 1 comment. So heres the 4th comment: i ll get to read the house o hades earlybso i dont have to wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Ingeloakastimizilian

    *he padded off

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8