Customer Reviews for

Among the Barons (Shadow Children Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Among the Barons is the fourth novel in the shadow children series. This novel is my favorite of all the shadow children series. There is never a dull moment; it is filled with many surprises and a great deal of suspense. In this novel Luke, the main character, is a thi...
Among the Barons is the fourth novel in the shadow children series. This novel is my favorite of all the shadow children series. There is never a dull moment; it is filled with many surprises and a great deal of suspense. In this novel Luke, the main character, is a third child and is forced to hide from the outside world, because being a third child is illegal. The only people he had ever talked to were his mother, father, and two brothers. In this novel Luke gets the chance to live a real life and to break away from the shadows. He gets a fake identity of a boy named Lee Grant, who was killed in a skiing accident outside of the United States. Luke is sent to the Hendrix School for boys. At first Luke is very shy and unaware of how to act around other boys in the school. After a few months Luke becomes more and more comfortable with his surroundings and comes to find that almost all of the children at the Hendrix School were shadow children with fake identities. Luke did not stay comfortable for long. He was informed later that year that Smits, his new brother, was coming to Hendrix. After Smits arrived a chain of events is set off and Luke finds out that the boy he has been pretending to be is no ordinary boy. Luke's new name is one of the biggest names in the United States. Luke is told he must return to the Grant's house. When Luke arrives he is greeted with smiles and laughter, but little does he know the Grants are hiding something under all the glamour. He uncovers the real reason he was given Lee Grants identity and finds himself face to face with the shadows once again.

posted by 7971646 on April 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

@#$%*!

@#$%&&&#$$$#**-#$$$%$$$%###%%&:$@#

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Awesome

    Full of mysteries. cant wait to read what happens next!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    So good!!!!!"

    The first time i read this i was in my 4th grade reading class!!! I fell in love with it!!!! I started reading all of the other books in the series!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Amazzing

    I am a 13 yr old girl and it lovvee these series i havee read each one excepet among theee imposters & enemy but iim oon itt:}}

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    wow

    This series from haddix is amazing she can really think

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series!

    I began this series when I was in grade school and when I found it again, I had to finish it. They are good books for kids and adults alike. They get you thinking and they help you see the world from a different perspective. Most of all, this series is something that is entirely possible. The series is about a world in which it is illegal for families to have more than two children due to alleged "food shortages". The series is told from the perspective of several different so-called "shadow children," which are the illegal children unlucky enough to be born third, fourth, or even fifth in their family. Their lives consist hiding and a deep fear of the population police. It might be frightening for some children to read (I know that it scared me a little bit when I was younger--and I'm not even a third child in my family!). It is a scary thought for a child to imagine these kinds of things to be possible. I still recommend it for children to read--and their parents too!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    Ashton's Review

    Among the Barons, is the fourth book about the shadow children, with the main character named Luke. Luke is the third child in his family, but third children are illegal during those times.Luke attends Hendricks school for boys, with other boys who are illegal third children. He receives the I.D. of a dead boy named Lee Grant. While away at school, Luke's (Lee) brother "Smits" Grant comes to school with him,. Smits is one of the real Grant family members. After a dangerous happening at the school, the boys are taken away to the Grants homestead. Luke doesn't understand why the Grants want him to come home, after being ignored by them for so long. Luke finds out he is just a pawn for the Grants power and money, and they want to stage his death. Smits bodyguard "Oscar", knows the secret that Luke is not Lee and what had happened to the real Lee. Luke is stuck between choosing to help the Grants or Oscar.This is one of the most interesting books, I have ever read. If you haven't read it, I strongly suggest you do. It is good for children of all ages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Book awsome

    This book is so cool

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Best book

    I love this series its fantastic



    I love this series its fantastic







    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    i loved it

    Nook books best

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Cool

    I dont have it on the nook but i read the actual book and it is awesome and super cool

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Teacher sez i shudnt red it yet

    But i dont care they r soooooooo good!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    ¿yyyyyyyyty¿¿¿¿¿yyyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeaaahhhhh

    Waz up

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Why make people preorder!! I want it NOW!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Barons

    this book is filled with nonstop action and what will luke do with his idenity

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    Hey

    these shadow children books are soooo AWESOME i just read the 5th and cant wait for the 6th!!! i love how there is no boring part....you just cant put the book down!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Great series

    I love the shadow children series i am now on the 4th book Among the Barons i just got done with Among the Betrayed. I cant belive what mr. Talbot does to nina. Apparently it was a couple of tests but i dont think so. Jason i cant belive tryed to betray all of them that made me so sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-18

    Sup' ya'll! I just watched "X-Men:The Days of Future Past" yesterday! It was awesome! I love Raven! She's awesome. So is Wolverine. I love the X-Men! Anyway, next part at missing series #5. This part will be in Camille's pov! ••••••••••••• The Katoblepones had knocked out all the boys, Kara, and Pepper. When they came to me, one Katoblepones grabbed the back of my neck and lifted me off my feet. An empousa with dark skin, black frizzy hair, and orange eyes said to the katoblep," Not her. She useless." " Well that hurt!", I said." Oh I'm sorry. Would like to get knocked out?" " Um, no." " Well, than sut your mouth.", she snapped and walked to another empousa. She pointed over to a ditch and the other empousa smiled." Of course.", the other empousa answered. She walked over to the hole and started talking into it. The Katoblepones dragged the unconscence questers away. The Katoblep behind me picked me up and slung me over his shoulder. He ran to catch up with the others. Everytime he took another step I bumped up and down. Twenty minutes later, he put me down on the ground and was so dizzy I almost threw up. I looked around and we were in a monster camp. There was some cabins and some benches that surrounded a grill thing. The Katoblep grabbed my rope and brought me to a cell looking building. Inside the building, Nicky was dressed in a greek sleevless dress." Nicky! What happened?" " I don't know. These minotaur things breathed on me and I passed out.", Nicky said, confused." Their called Katoblepones. Their Roman.", I informed her. Nicky untied my hands and we sat together for a couple minutes. A young girl came by and gave me a one of the greek dresses. I asked Nicky," What happened to Merida?" " They took her to a different cell." " What about Lauren?", I asked." I don't know. I passed out and I haven't seen her since.", Nicky said. I heard a drum outside and I walked over to the window. I saw a figure of a girl laying on the grill. All different types of monsters were sitting on the benches that surrounded the grill. An empousa holding a torch walked up to the grill and started talking to the other monsters. I couldn't hear what she was saying. She bent over to light the fire. Out of nowhere, an arrow came shotting out of the woods. It hit the empousa in the head. The empousa disinagrated and dropped the torch. The torch fell on the coals and the fire ignitted. The girl on the grill screamed and rolled off the burning grill. The monsters were confused." We have to help them. Hurry!", I said, banging on the door. Surprisingly, it opened. Standing in front of the door was the girl that gave me the dress." Your friends need your help. Go now." Out of nowhere, a sword went right though the girl. The girl fell to the floor. She never moved again. Behind the girl, stood the empousa who told me I was useless." Kelly.", Nicky said, with hate in her voice," Percy told me all about you." " Ah, yes! Percy Jackson. I hate that runt of a boy. Anyway, now I get to kill you." She jumped on top of me. Suddenly, Kelly started saying," Yes! Finally, I have had my revenge on those demigods!" She walked out the door." What happened?", I asked Nicky." I can make people think they've won victory." " Oh, I get. Your a daughter of Nike, goddess of victory. It makes sense.", I said. She answered," Yeah, it does. We got to hurry and help them." We ran out of the cell to help. ••••••••••••••••••••• Bye! SEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    check this out really awesome!

    this series is so cool and it gets even more awesome and intense with the series! I think everyone should read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Love it

    I love these books. Even though I'm only one thr thrird book I still like it. I liked how the secong book was boring at first but when you get going it gets better. But so far my favoite is the third. When Nina went to save Percy, Matthias, and Alia from prison that is so far my favorite part. I wonder if they will get cought. I also wonder if they are going to find Lee Grant. My best guess is that they will find Lee and ask to use his garden. I bet the three kids are third children. But the fourth book looks like it might be better then the third. All I know is I am going to keep reading the series. It has been amazing reading these first three books. I was'nt sure if the first book would be good. But I guess it is. If I could get my sister to read this book and she likes it I will be amazed. Because she has read th hobbit and she likes it. So I'm not even sure if she will like the first second book. She read the first book and liked it. So I'm wondering if she will like the second book. But the point is that I like the book and I'm still going to read the books. Got to run see you people who like these seires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Yay

    Yaaayayaaaaqayyyyaaaa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6