BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Among the Betrayed (Shadow Children Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Best book in the world

This is a very exciting book, about a world were a family is only alowed to have two children but most people dont follow the law and have a third child. They call third children shadow children. Shadow children have to hide all their life so the population police don...
This is a very exciting book, about a world were a family is only alowed to have two children but most people dont follow the law and have a third child. They call third children shadow children. Shadow children have to hide all their life so the population police dont find them because if population police find a 3rd child in a house hold the family and the 3rd child will be exicuted. The family will be exicuted for hiding and harboring a 3rd child


P.S. dont read this book unless youve read the 1st and 2nd one in the series or this book wont make sense.

posted by 2340327 on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shocking!

I started to read this, and It was so scary and I'm 12! I showed it to my Mom and she was shocked and returned it to the library. The book seems horrible! I recommend this for high school students! It describes TOURTURE!

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book

    However, the ebook has several minor punctuation errors. Seems rushed, unfortunately. Still read the book, though! It really does grab you into the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Book

    Its a pretty good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    HOPING!!!!!!!

    I am really hoping this is a good book. I have read the first two. They were good and I am hoping this one is good also. Now, I just need the money to buy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Awsome

    This book rocks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Iltb i

    I luv this book soo .uch its soooo fgoood

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Great series so far

    I have read the 1st and 2nd books in this series, and they are great! Its so suspenceful at times, you never know what will happen. Cant wait for the third book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Good

    I have the sample and want 2 get the whole thing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    BEST ONE YET!!!!

    this was definetly the best one out of the series:)!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    This story is by far the best one I've read in months! The twist ending makes the story seem pointless. A great book for anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Loved this book

    Awesome simply awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    Awsomeness

    Nina finds herself in a difficult ptoblem. Shes trapped in jail with three other children named Mattias, Percy, and Alia. The three children manage to escape with Ninas help. What is ther plan when there stuck in the woods? Alia cuts the wires to make it like a rodent chewed it. When they enter the woods they knew that they'd be on there on. Until they found a pond witch they where found in by a serious cop. They where warned. Once Nina had went out one night tto find food and help she sppoted Mr. Hendricks school for boys. But she was caught by Luke Garner a legal third child just like her. After all she had gone through she found it was all a test to see if ahe had really changed. And she had! Mrs. Haddix keep writing more books your AWESOME!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Book Report

    This is a great book if you are in need of a science fiction book for your book report.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Inappropriate Material For Youth

    While this book may appeal to the young teen set, this book was issued to my 9 year old son by the school librarian. Detailed narration of torture and the hunting of children was shocking and contributes to the apathy of human suffering. It was brought to my attention because my son had to do a report on it and it was too scary and made him cry. As a family with 3 children it was an abhoration. I have proceeded in a formal challenge of this book and notification to publisher. Children don't need to read at all costs, this is an example of unneccesary and gratuitous violence directed at children, for a profit.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Hidden children

    Love the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Among the betrayed

    I love the series for this book and this book! This book is a big big shocker it is amazing of what Nina does and what Jason does Nina thought they were sole mates but he got killed. Read the book i think everyone would injoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-17

    Hey guys! To Jackel: I always mean to say Cliffhanger, but I just forget. And I'm not trying to do one a day, but I'll try. Don't blame me if I can't post one a day. I'm a busy gal. I need some help too. Go to calm before the storm res 2 for an explanation. Next part at missing series #4! This part will be in Lauren's pov. ••••••••••••••••••••••••••• All right! Let me fill you in on what happened. After the minotaur things breathed on Nicky, they turned on me. Their battle axes were really scary. I've never fought someone with axes before and wasn't gonna start now. Unfortunatly, if I wanted to live, I was gonna have to. I summoned a mini tornado( Lauren controls earthquakes and stuff) that swept the minotaur's off their feet and into the tornado. I opened a crevice in the ground and most of them fell in. There were only a little of them left and they were closing in on me. I was exhasted from using my power. They forced me to the edge of a cliff. Well it wasn't really a cliff it was more like a deep ditch. If I fell down there I would probably never get out of it. The leader of them walked in front and pushed me over the edge. I screamed as I fell down. I landed at the bottom with a thump. The minotaur's looked over the edge and then walked away." Hey come back here. I'm not finished yet. Help me up and then I'll fight you." Once I realized they weren't coming back, I mumbled," Cowards!" After a couple minutes, I heard battling up on ground level. It suddenly stopped. A heard a roar of triumph from some monsters.' Who's up there?', I thought,' Is it the rest of the group.' I started calling for help, but guess no one could hear me. Suddenly, a empousa looked over the edge." Good bye, dear.", she turned into a hag." Your friends will join you soon. I'm supposed to watch over you, untill you are on Death's doorstep. Then my mistress said I could kill you in which ever way seems best for me. I will kill you in the most painful way I can think of. Lets see what we can do. Oh I know! I can draw you! Or I can have some Cyclops quarter you! I can also boil you in boiling oil! Or I-I can flay you! Or I can–." She was cut off by an arrow that stuck in her side. She wailed and clawed at her side. A kid came out of the forest with a hood on. He had a quiver of arrows and a sword on his back. He also had something in his left hand. He walked over to the empousa." Please! Don't kill me!", the empousa screeched at him. He raised his sword and swung down. All I saw was a explosion of golden dust. He turned and looked down at me. I couldn't see his face because of the hood. He notched an arrow and pointed it at me.' I'm so dead.', I thought. He released the arrow and it went right behind me. There was a rope attached to it." Grab on to it.", said the boy. I grabbed hold of the rope and koala climbed up. When I got to the top, the boy held out his hand. I grabbed it and pulled myself up. The boy took off his hood. My eyes widened." Nathen!", I said in surprise. •••••••••••••••••••••••••••• Cliffhanger! I think. Hope u liked. SEA

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    recommended check this out!

    this series is awesome and the books keep getting more intense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    To S.E.A

    You really have to say cliffhanger and good part plus are you going to post one a day ~ Jackel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book. This book is absolutely amazing. I

    I absolutely loved this book.
    This book is absolutely amazing. It is an exceptional addition  to the shadow children series. Most of the characters have great development throughout the story. You may think it’s an almost completely different person. At first Nina is alone and sad in her jail cell, and wants to care for no one else, but at the end she is the most caring person. Also, it has a great description of all of the series. You can almost picture yourself at the jail cell. It even comes with a greatly unexpected plot twist, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise. In this book the main characters are Nina Idi, an illegal third born, caught by the population police, and the rest are three children, two boys and a girl. Their names are Metthias, the middle child, Percy, the oldest, and Alia, the youngest. Nina has been offered a deal by an officer. If she can gather information about three kids, she can be released, if not, she dies. It’s her life, or theirs.
    DylanCHMS14

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10