Customer Reviews for

Among the Enemy (Shadow Children Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This book was full of action!

This is the 6th book in the series about "shadow children" (illegal third children) and begins with a character change from the last book. The main character is Matthias, a young boy who was living at a special school that was used to disguise shadow children and allow ...
This is the 6th book in the series about "shadow children" (illegal third children) and begins with a character change from the last book. The main character is Matthias, a young boy who was living at a special school that was used to disguise shadow children and allow them to live legally. The population police (a group organized to make sure that third children are not allowed to live) came to the school looking for new recruits. As they drove away, Matthias and his friends escaped into the wilderness and began to make their way to the headmaster of another school. Along the way, Alia (a young girl that Matthias grew up with) and Percy (another lifetime friend of Matthias) are injured. As Matthias tries to help them through the woods he decides to leave them in a log cabin and try to find help. Eventually he gets to his destination, but is ambushed upon trying to rescue his friends. He rescues a population police officer who drives him back to their headquarters, not realizing that he is a third child. He signs Matthias up as an officer, and he quickly becomes known to the other members for saving his life. Just as he is getting used to the environment at HQ, the officer he saved dies. During the following weeks he learns how he can save the third children.
After awhile he and one of his friends at HQ set out to destroy a warehouse that held the ID cards of the entire country. He blacks out soon after and awakens to being told that everyone is practically free and that he has to go to the cabin he had headed for in the first place. When he arrives he is greeted by his friends and is told that they will recover and then strike back at the population police.
This is a great book filled with action and adventure.

posted by Jacob-Brummett on November 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Among the Enemy

Margaret Peterson Haddix's novel, Among the Enemy, follows the lives of some illegal third-born children as they try to keep running away from the hated Population Police. In the 6th book in the series, Matthias, Percy, and Alia are seized from their school by the Popu...
Margaret Peterson Haddix's novel, Among the Enemy, follows the lives of some illegal third-born children as they try to keep running away from the hated Population Police. In the 6th book in the series, Matthias, Percy, and Alia are seized from their school by the Population Police, and they are taken to a work camp. The three children are able to escape from the truck that is exporting them; and the rest of the novel is mainly about them playing a game of cat and mouse with the Population Police. Margaret Haddix did a decent job of developing the characters in the story, but could have had a better lead-in to some of the story. One issue with the book is that the action starts too abrubtly, without any background information. This resulted in some confusion for me in understanding what was going on in the book. However, once i grabbed a hold of what was going on, the book was very thrilling and enjoyable to read. I especially enjoyed the part where Matthias helps Nina escape from the Population Police work camp. Nina is also an illegal third child, and she would have been killed if Matthias would not have come to the rescue. I would give this novel an overall rating of 5 out of 10 because it lacked a lot of things that I look for in a novel. The characters were not developed greatly, there was little background information provided, and there was not enough action in the book to satisfy me. There were some portions of the book where the children were just having a normal conversation, which bored me very much. Nevertheless, I recommend this book to any reader that enjoys action and suspense. However, I also reccomend that the reader reads the first 5 books in the series prior to reading Among the Enemy.

posted by Travis63 on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    This book was full of action!

    This is the 6th book in the series about "shadow children" (illegal third children) and begins with a character change from the last book. The main character is Matthias, a young boy who was living at a special school that was used to disguise shadow children and allow them to live legally. The population police (a group organized to make sure that third children are not allowed to live) came to the school looking for new recruits. As they drove away, Matthias and his friends escaped into the wilderness and began to make their way to the headmaster of another school. Along the way, Alia (a young girl that Matthias grew up with) and Percy (another lifetime friend of Matthias) are injured. As Matthias tries to help them through the woods he decides to leave them in a log cabin and try to find help. Eventually he gets to his destination, but is ambushed upon trying to rescue his friends. He rescues a population police officer who drives him back to their headquarters, not realizing that he is a third child. He signs Matthias up as an officer, and he quickly becomes known to the other members for saving his life. Just as he is getting used to the environment at HQ, the officer he saved dies. During the following weeks he learns how he can save the third children.
    After awhile he and one of his friends at HQ set out to destroy a warehouse that held the ID cards of the entire country. He blacks out soon after and awakens to being told that everyone is practically free and that he has to go to the cabin he had headed for in the first place. When he arrives he is greeted by his friends and is told that they will recover and then strike back at the population police.
    This is a great book filled with action and adventure.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesome!

    I love this author and i love the books! This book is an awesome thrill and great things on every page!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Woo!

    MAN I LOVE MARGARET! SHE IS LIKE, THE BEEST AUTHOR EVAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    This book was a very good book

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    love the book

    look at the headline i mean come on but you dont get the same effect if u dont read the entire series i did but i kept thinking what would happen if i just skipped the entire series and read this book alone i realize it wouldnt b the same

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Amonng the Enemy

    It was so sad and depressing, i felt like i wanted to cry. Margert really makes the. book come alive. she makes me feel like i am the character, and also i feel their emotions too.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Omg!!!!!

    I hope you dont have anywhere to go today because this book is all you will be focused on! I love this series! WARNING! READ THE BOOKS FROM BOOK ONE OR YOU WILL NOT UNDERSTAND SQUAT....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesome

    Awesome

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Awesome

    I love this series so much and Mathias is my favorite character. Percy and Alia are cool too.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    Amazing!!

    Introduction: Mathias is a third born child which in this time is illegal! He hides in the shadows and tries to stay and unpopular in school as possible because if they find out he's a third born child he will be killed or inprisoned by the population police. He and his friend Ali have one objective only. To survive so they can stop the population police and their horrors once and for all.

    Description and summary of main points: During a raid on Mathias's school , in the moment he saves a highly regarded population police commander. The commander is so grateful he takes him to the population police headquarters to train to be an offficer him self. Mathias took advantage of this and decided he could destroy the population police from the inside! While he trains he meets one of his old friends Ninna who inlisted into the population police to help take it down. Mathias is always under constent scrutiny, he has no idea whom he can trust.

    Evaluation: Margerat Peterson Haddix is an amazing author. She made the scenes in this book with action just thrilling, but she made the scenes without action even better! That takes much talen to do, which most others can't. Margerat Peterson Haddix has much potential and as an author my self I do believe she can do great things in the world of literature.

    Conclusion: This is an intriging book for almost all ages! Everyone will enjoy this book if you like suspense filled, thrilling tells filled with action and emotion! This book really spoke to me. It was so thrilling I couldn't put it down . It is just one of those books that once you start reading it your hooked until the end.

    Your final review: I will give this book a 4 out of 5 stars because I do believe she could have made this book a little better, but still this book is amazing and I loved it and I hope u will love it too!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Haddix has done it again..!

    Wow. All of Haddix's books are amazing, but this one is my favorite out of the Shadow Children series. My two favorite characters from all of the books were Nina and Matthias. I loved how they worked together in this book. Personally, I would have enjoyed a little bit of romance between the two, I think it would have made the book a little bit more interesting. But, thats just me. Nina becomes a lot more serious in this book. And, unlike Among the betrayed, Nina actually stopped thinking about Jason. Matthias really becomes more aware of the situation as well. Overall, this book is amazing!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    Among the Enemy

    Margaret Peterson Haddix's novel, Among the Enemy, follows the lives of some illegal third-born children as they try to keep running away from the hated Population Police. In the 6th book in the series, Matthias, Percy, and Alia are seized from their school by the Population Police, and they are taken to a work camp. The three children are able to escape from the truck that is exporting them; and the rest of the novel is mainly about them playing a game of cat and mouse with the Population Police. Margaret Haddix did a decent job of developing the characters in the story, but could have had a better lead-in to some of the story. One issue with the book is that the action starts too abrubtly, without any background information. This resulted in some confusion for me in understanding what was going on in the book. However, once i grabbed a hold of what was going on, the book was very thrilling and enjoyable to read. I especially enjoyed the part where Matthias helps Nina escape from the Population Police work camp. Nina is also an illegal third child, and she would have been killed if Matthias would not have come to the rescue. I would give this novel an overall rating of 5 out of 10 because it lacked a lot of things that I look for in a novel. The characters were not developed greatly, there was little background information provided, and there was not enough action in the book to satisfy me. There were some portions of the book where the children were just having a normal conversation, which bored me very much. Nevertheless, I recommend this book to any reader that enjoys action and suspense. However, I also reccomend that the reader reads the first 5 books in the series prior to reading Among the Enemy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    The main characters were well detailed and easy to understand. The author painted pictures of how the characters looked by the way she described them. The plot kept me interested with the twists and turns, such as the double-agents. The details of the settings could have been better, they felt boring. The different setting could have been more throughly detailed, such as colors, locations, and sounds. I would suggest this book to a student who likes suspense and and action. A person who likes drama may also enjoy this novel. A person who only reads sports books or likes boring, happy books, may not like this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    A reviewer

    Trey is left to fend for himself after the limo driver decides to drive away. He goes to Luke¿s house expecting to find Luke but, he only found Mark. Trey and Mark decide to go out into the war torn land to find Luke and his friends. They are challenged repeatedly at everything they do. When Mark is captured Trey is left on his own. What will Trey do? Find out in the fast pace adventure. I liked the book really well. The book had good rhythm and action. This book is part of a series called The Among Series. The books shouldn¿t be read out of order. The book doesn¿t remind me off any television show or movie. A girl or a boy would enjoy this book. The age would be about ten to sixteen years old.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    The bes THE BEST BOOK EVER !!!!!!!!!!!

    I hate reading, but this series and the lost children serise got me back on i cant belive i read book 5in one night. Thats a record for me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Amazing Book!

    I love the beggining 5 of this series and I have heard TONS of good reveiws for this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    I love this book! Its inly the begginning of the school year and I already read it. I spent 3 hrs reading it on the weekend and I'm only 11.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    did not read

    i have not read this book or amonge the free but sense i read the other's i beat this and among the free is of the chang

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am writing my book review on Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix. In this story, Matthew, who is an illegal third child, has to find medicine for his brother and sister. On his way, he sees a Population Police officer, who is supposed to find and kill third children. To stay alive, Matthew says that he is going to sign up for the Population Police and the officer takes him to their headquarters. He then meets other third children that are working there to sabotoge the Population Police from the inside and decides to help, while still trying to help his siblings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7