Customer Reviews for

Among the Free (Shadow Children Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Sad and but Inspiring

Mrs. Haddix has done it again. Her amazing stories are wonderful they inspire so many of us. Among the free is the time when Lukes fear has finally gone. Telling his story to the whole world is a hard thing to do when your a third child. He faced his fears and he was ca...
Mrs. Haddix has done it again. Her amazing stories are wonderful they inspire so many of us. Among the free is the time when Lukes fear has finally gone. Telling his story to the whole world is a hard thing to do when your a third child. He faced his fears and he was careful with his words. With Luke trying his hardest the popilation police "poppies" are gone they are no longer the highest people to be controlled by. There young and old villagers knew it was time to let the light shine and do something without waiting around for the other people to do something about it. As they became stonger and stronger there was no way the population police could do something. These people, third children, and anyone else in the world where finally free. Luke knew that his future would be bright. He wants to live the best life that he can. To tell the story to the next generations!

posted by DramaQueen1218 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

My favorite book in the entire WORLD!!!

This book is my favorite book and i really love it. I can really relate to this book being a third child and all and i recomee the series and this book..

posted by eyleen_kendall on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Sad and but Inspiring

    Mrs. Haddix has done it again. Her amazing stories are wonderful they inspire so many of us. Among the free is the time when Lukes fear has finally gone. Telling his story to the whole world is a hard thing to do when your a third child. He faced his fears and he was careful with his words. With Luke trying his hardest the popilation police "poppies" are gone they are no longer the highest people to be controlled by. There young and old villagers knew it was time to let the light shine and do something without waiting around for the other people to do something about it. As they became stonger and stronger there was no way the population police could do something. These people, third children, and anyone else in the world where finally free. Luke knew that his future would be bright. He wants to live the best life that he can. To tell the story to the next generations!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2006

    Great Book

    This book was absolutely amazing! It pulls you in and like makes you never want to stop reading. It was great.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    A must read book!!

    This series..The Shadow Children...is above and beyond any other books I have read. Beginning with the first one, I couldn't wait for the next one. #7, the final book in the series, provides a great ending and leaves you feeling very satisfied!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    :)

    I loved this. I just coudnt stop reading it. The last part was just really touching.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Omg one of the best series ever!!!

    Love this whole series!!! among the free was the epic conclusion needed to finish this heart pounding series. And the series was written by margaret peterson haddix... whats jo to love???;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    :)

    I have read all of her books (shadow children sequence) and out of all this one is my favorite praise for Haddix!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Haddix

    Margret Peterson Haddix has always been my favorite writer but this book is the best one she has made

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    I love this book!

    This is my favorite book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Me

    I freaking love this series. Awesome. You'll like it too.

    Gvbbcbfsfcdgvd. That was for fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Awesome even though ihavent even read it though
    Probally is going to be one of the best ones in the series
    Im on the 5th one right now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    best book in series

    great ending and i couldn't put this book down until the end 5*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Highly Recommended - For "All the people"

    This series is my most favorite I loved it so much once I picked up the book I could never put it down and that was for all the books it was heart breaking for me to end the series I cryed at the end they were joyful cheers I'm so glad all the Shadow children got to be... I'm not going to tell ending because I want you to read it trust me you will love it and in my opinion Margaret Peterson Haddix is the best athor ever please Margaret Peterson Haddix write another book of Shadow Children the title could be Among Us or whatever you decide and if you can't write another book I understand because your to busy writeing your other great books!

    Sincerly,

    Your biggest fan
    Hannnah

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    NOT A GOOD ENDING!!!

    I did NOT think this was a good closing to the Shadow Children sequel. The title basicaly gives away the entire book! You don't even have to read it! These were some of my favorite books, and don't get me wrong I LOVE MARGARET PETERSON HADDIX. But sorry, this was not a good ending!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    Among the free

    Among the Free<BR/>Margaret Peterson Haddix<BR/>Scholastic Inc.<BR/>Realistic fiction <BR/><BR/> Imagine having to leave your family just because you were born third. Luke was a third child and he was taken away from his family because the Population Police (Poppies) made a law that said that the third children had to live in a camp because there wasn't enough food to feed the whole family. After a while of living in the camp, Luke became tired of being bossed around so he ran away. Among the Free By Margaret Peterson Haddix is about Luke running away from the Population Police. Luke finds a town that is broken down with not a lot of people. After a while he finds people that want to help him hide away from the Poppies. Luke escapes being killed by villagers, starts to hear voices in his head, and risks his life throughout the book. <BR/> <BR/> Luke is a strong hearted kid who risks his life to make third children legal. Along his journey, he meets other third children who want to protest against the Population Police. Nina and Trey, who are also third children, become friends with Luke at the Population Police camp. Nina and Trey help Luke make a plan to escape the Population Police camp and inspire Luke to go on to protest against the Population Police. Nina and Luke are about the same age and are good friends. They are respectful to each other and look out for each other. However, when they try to escape they do not succeed. Eli was a man Luke met when he ran away. Eli was very nice and caring, he gave Luke food and shelter for the night. Eli is also protective of his own family.<BR/> <BR/> This book was great because it's realistic fiction and I can relate some of the things with my personal life. Luke, the main character, is around the same age as many middle school kids, so it is easy to relate to what he is going through throughout the book. Among the Free was very hard to put down because there was a lot of action in it. I think kids my age would enjoy this book because it's very exciting and you have to guess what comes next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    2 thumbs up!

    Among the Free by Margaret Peterson Haddix Reviewed by Ashley CAUTION: BEFORE YOU READ THIS BOOK YOU MUST READ THE BOOKS BEFORE THIS ONE OR YOU WILL NOT UNDERSTAND IT! Will they finally overthrow the ruthless, vicious Population Police? Will they ever get to feel the sweet feeling of being free? ¿Are all of those innocent people really going to die?¿ (p. 104) You won¿t ever know these answers until you read the exhilarating book Among the Free by Margaret Peterson Haddix. She has won the international reading association Children¿s Book Award. Many of the scenes in this book are at the Population Police headquarters. The main character is a teen named Luke Garner. His fake ID name although, is Lee Grant. Luke is a courageous, loyal, kind, loving friend to everyone. The big issue about this book is the problem about the Population Police. The Population Police controls everyone and everything around him or her. Nobody likes them but you have to obey them or you will die if you are caught. There was a boy in the story named Trey that got caught. He was a friend of Luke. Will he die or come out alive? The theme of this story is that Luke and the other main characters always have something else to deal with after they solve the first problem. The way that the author writes this book is phenomenal. She uses figurative language and gives voice to the characters. This is good because you always know what the characters are doing and thinking. That is why her books are so enjoyable to read. You should definitely read this book because it concludes all that has happened in the previous 6 books. Also, it really gives you a satisfying ending to all of the books before it. You should read this book because it has good vocabulary and has a very adventurous story. This book is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Freedom Rings, but What's the Catch?

    What is one thing that people seem to want the most? Freedom means independence and more opportunities, and that¿s what Luke Garner received. He was sick of the cruel laws that abandoned third children like himself and the punishment inflicted upon those who failed to obey them. Luke is on the run from the Population Police once again and is now in even more trouble. He had been working for them along with his friends that were also illegal third children to bring them down from the inside. The Population Police are still in operation, and Luke¿s job as stable boy suddenly changes when he is ordered to accompany officers through a town to order a town meeting. A citizen refuses to attend ,and the officer tells him to shoot the person. Instead, he runs. He travels around in secrecy for a few days, and passes by a town. This boy grabs him and tells him all about the Population Police being overthrown, so they go to a rally at the previous headquarters. Bystanders are really happy, but end up blaming third children for the food shortage again. Luke then finds clues to a plan that could bring third children down again. The dictatorship disappears suddenly, and the dictator is in handcuffs. However, how can he really be sure he is free at last? In Among the Free new acquaintances are made, betrayals are exposed, trust is put to the ultimate test, and fears are overcome with an audacious attitude. This is a story of faith and resembles the choice to not hold back and be resolute in the fight for the rights of all of the people. Courage, an often envied trait, is respected greatly in this book. I really admire Margaret Peterson Haddix¿s astounding display of character in Among the Free and award this book a five. She really varied people¿s feelings and explained them, so it was hard to get lost. Instead of just talking about how it feels to be betrayed, she takes you on a walk in someone¿s shoes who knew what if felt like to betray someone else. While the feelings of the characters are relatable, the suspense was extremely catchy. I enjoyed the thrill of guessing what would occur next, but I wasn¿t completely left out in the blue. There was one disappointment though. I agreed that I should be aware of Luke¿s life events, but I pondered over the whereabouts of his friends. Being the seventh book in the Shadow Children Series, I expected to be updated on the positions of the past characters. As in most of Margaret Peterson Haddix¿s books, I found a majority of likes over dislikes. Her books are really exciting! ¿Run, Forest! Run!¿ You might¿ve heard that line on the famous movie Forest Gump. Even though he wasn¿t running away from the government, he was running from his troubles. Throughout the rest of the movie, he made do with what he had to improve lives just like Luke. I would also suggest a book about slaves revolting against the government because they weren¿t allowed to be free either. To enjoy Among the Free, you¿d probably prefer books describing the need for independence and the presentation of surprises and suspense. Your book has been located, action viewers!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    The Calm Before the Storm-21

    Hello everybody! I'm running out of ways to say hi. Next part at Caught. I think you guys know where that is. This part will be in Merida's pov. ••••••••••••••••••••• The plan wasn't that ingenius. Anyone could've thought of it. The tubes were filled with gas. I knew it was gas, because the place smelt like a gas station. Everyone ran into the building. Jack brought Jonas in. I locked the door and looked at Jonas. He was barely conscence." Do you think you can use your fire to light this?" "Maybe.", he said, weakly." Great! Here's the plan. Everybody except Jack, Jonas, and me will go outside and get the monsters attention. And keep them from getting into the building. The rest of us will take a barrel of gas and pour a little trail that leads into the woods. Then Jonas will light it and when you guys see it coming, scatter. Is that clear? We should probably take Austin and Pepper too." Me and Jack took the unconscence and Jonas into the woods. Once everyone was settled there, I ran back to the building and grabbed one of the barrels of gas and poured a big pile near the gas tube. Then I left the trail of gasall the way to the woods." You have no idea how heavy that is.", I said, once I got back." Trust me. I've held one before.", Jack stated. Jonas ignited his hands and touched the ground where the gas lay. It lit like a firecracker and followed the trail of gas. The other questers saw the sparks and bolted into the woods. The monsters, they were fighting, looked confused and almost followed them. They were too late. The gas finally reached the tube and the whole building errupted into flames. The monsters were consumed in the fire. We ran grabbed Austin and Pepper and ran to meet everyone else. Jonas could walk on his own now, but only with someone to lean on. When we got there it turned out that the strange kid with the hood had joined them. They had unarmed him." Lets get out of here, already.", I said. •••••••••••••••• Hope you liked this part. SEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    What the Wht the

    This is so awesome book yu should really get it and read it.


    Ps:can some one lend me the book please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesomely good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Awesome

    Best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8