Customer Reviews for

Among the Hidden (Shadow Children Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 837 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(583)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

The Best book. I really want to read all the books. I loved it. But the ending is so sad. It made me cry. But really good book. I recomend it to any fifth or sixth grader!

posted by Ray_ray12 on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Fine for children??

Is this book fine for 12 year olds??

posted by EmmaHickl on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Fine for children??

    Is this book fine for 12 year olds??

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Among the Hidden

    Title: Among the Hidden
    Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix

    3 Things I liked about the story:
    1. The author makes something up that might happen in the future.
    2. The author added a lot of detail and dialogue.
    3. How Luke met a friend named Jen and they were both shadow children.
    3 Things I didn't like about the story:
    1. One thing I didn't like was that Luke had no life and he didn't exist.
    2. That it took a long time for Luke to meet somone.
    3. That Jen's father was a part of the population police.
    My Book Review: The book Among the Hidden was a great book. But at times it could get bad and a little confusing. Luke is a non existing child. This is because the population police only aloud two children per family and Luke was born. Instead of killing him they decided to keep Luke and be nonexistent. Later in the book Luke sees a girl named Jen and discovers she is a shadow child to. What will happen? Will Luke and Jen figure something out? Or will they be executed.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Not the best. I am putting thus review on here because I have to but it is on Haddix (#1)

    If you have read Haddix (#1) you must be interested in mystry books. If you are not interested in mystry books, I would recomend for you not to read this book. I am not interested in mystry books and I was not entertained or amused by this book. Some mystry books have scarythings in them. This book has scary things in them.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    To Auggggh

    Shut your f mouth

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    boring book

    This book is sucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Stupid book

    Stupid,boreing,confuseing, WORSIEST book i have ever read in my life. I have to say is its stupid don't resd it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    BORr BORING

    It waz the bestt bok evr i lik it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Aweful

    This books sucks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    To Lunastone

    If you would like a clan to join, join my clan. You can contact me at Brisingr first result. Tell me about yourself at Dork Diaries third result. ~Waterstar, leader of WaveClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Unbelievablr

    I cannot fathom how many people praised this depredsing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Boo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was terrible just like every one who liked it.!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Omg

    Lol. this book is to :/ #so sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Y do people always say h get out ur phine and text idc if ur blred i want to no who the book is nkt what u did today

    U all stink

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    G

    Would this b a good book for a thirteen year old??? It sort of looks llk a book for kids in elementery school...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Awsome

    Awesome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Terrible

    Agggggghhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Zl

    Qo

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HORRIBLE

    soooooooooooooooo boring, i had to read it for school and the buttface told me the ending!!!!!!!!!!! it wouldnt have been good any way. i really eish i could put 0 stars for this book. though i LOVE Haddix so this series just wasnt her best.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    ugh

    this was boring. jen was so annoying, and luke was way to careful. hes so worried about things that would never happen. this is a really bad book and the ending just leaves you there so you read the second book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2001

    No more, PLEASE!

    I have read two REALLY bad books in my lifetime: The True Confessions of Charolette Doyle, and Among the Hidden. I read this after reading Haddix's Running Out Of Time, which I enjoyed, and was sorely depressed. The plot is slow and there is few character development. For those of you who enjoy futuristic fiction with a boring storyline, this is the book for you!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2