Customer Reviews for

Among the Hidden (Shadow Children Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 852 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(594)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

The Best book. I really want to read all the books. I loved it. But the ending is so sad. It made me cry. But really good book. I recomend it to any fifth or sixth grader!

posted by Ray_ray12 on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fine for children??

Is this book fine for 12 year olds??

posted by EmmaHickl on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Haddix Triumphs

    Among the Hidden by Margaret Haddix created a wonderful reflection on the future. Not only will this book want you to read more of the book, after the ending, you will want to read more and more of this epic series called, The Shadow Children. This book is for kids who want a quick easy read and someone who is looking for and on going series (eight books).<BR/> In this capturing book, Haddix makes the future seem even darker then it already seems by enforcing the Poplulation Law which limits each family to a meager two children. Usually a family follows the law, but some of the daring have an illegal third child. these illegal third children are called shadow children. Luke, the main character is known as one of these shadow children. In Among the Hidden, Luke has to hide out in his house by himself, avoiding contact with windows light, or anything that could seem suspicious. After a few days of looking out of his vent (no one could see him there) he notices a flickering light in one of his neighbor's window knowing that all the family was gone. This new possiblity of a shadow child living next door gives Luke new hope. This new hope inspires him to brake into his neighbors new home and meet his new friend Jen. These two shadow children struggle to find what is actually right. Staying in or fighting for their right. <BR/> Other books from this grabbing-of-a series include Among the Imposters (book number two) and Among the Betrayed (book number three). Again, this book is a quick easy read and might not be that great for someone who wants to get into a big book, but for those of that kind, there is the on-going series this book is a part of.In this breath- catching, suprise-ending, epic novel Haddix gives the reader a dark, murky reflection of the not-so-far-away future. And does it triumphuntly.

    43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    February 21,2012

    An awesome book,couldn' t put it down till i finished it"!!!!!!!!!!! Read it!"!!!!

    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Among the Hidden

    My fifth grade class enjoyed this book. It took a while to get into the "meat" of the story and they got bogged down with it but the story and premise were good.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Haddix among the hidden

    Im reading this book at school so fare really good book. I hope that the little secret changes read this book you WONT put it down!








    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Amazing book!

    One of the best books iv ever read! Except someone dies. Cant tell u who though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Makes kids think

    We are reading this book in our 5th grade lit circle at school. From the very beginning they got drawn into the book. They really question all the events that happen, ask questions among each other. They bring the events into their lives and question what they would do. There is just enough figurative language to reinforce the lessons that have been taught. They are having fun finding cause and effect and facts and opinions. When our hour is over they are not ready to stop reading and want to extend our reading time to go onto another chapter. They want to read ahead to find out what happens. Now they are talking about reading the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    I liked the book because it showed you what the future might be like.

    Among the Hidden was a great story to see what might happen in the future. In the future a family is only allowed to have two childen in a family if a family had three kids the third kid would be killed if they are found by the police. There is an 11 year old third child who0 had never been outside for a long time because the forrest behind his house and turn down and new houses were built. One day he was bored of being in his house 24/7. He would keep track of the people how live in the houses. One day all the parents and two childen left and he saw someone in one of the houses. The next day he got the guts to go see who was in the house. He heard someone on a computer typing away and peeked in and saw a girl. He got to know her and she was also a third child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Good

    Im only on the first chapter and im already in love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Better than Good!

    This book made me so emotional, happy, and mad. I normally read a book blank faced, but this book I had to cry and yell and dance as I read it. But it is much to intense for young kids. More of a middleschooler book. Still, I was stuck on figuring out the whole book even when I was finished with it.

    I give this book a four star rating!. It is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Author: Margaret Peterson Title: Haddix Among The Hidden A bo

    Author: Margaret Peterson
    Title: Haddix Among The Hidden
    A boy named Luke is being hidden from the world, do to population law 3903.This law is keeping parents from having more than two children and if they have more than two the third gets killed. Luke must stay hidden, but for how long with his safety of his woods being taken down and a new neighborhood being built in his back yard.
    If you like dystopias and realistic fiction this is a book for you. This book falls into these categories because this could really happen and by making this law the United States was going to be a better place. This book takes place in the United States in the future. When reading this book the author makes it fell like you are right in the room with Luke by using descriptive words that make reading it like watching a movie. The book states, “One cool rainy morning a few weeks later Luke’s family left in such a rush they barely had time to say goodbye.” This shows the authors realistic writing .the main characters incredibly believable, but I personally don’t know anyone like the characters in this book. The author describes the characters so well you can just see them. The author’s writing just makes the story flow. I like the way she uses her words to just paint the picture in your mind. All in all she is a great writer. Although the book had a few rough spots but it was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Best book ever

    Are class was reading this book but i really did not want to read it but the more we read i got into it now i go to the libeary asking for the next book then the next book these books are just great.I have learned that you should never judge a book by its cover... literly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    A good read

    I read this when I was in 5th grade. We read this book as a class and i liked it. I read thesevond book in the serires also, Among the Imposters and it was an dawesome book. But I think it was a little boring the first few chapters . I like the rest of the series, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Cool

    This book I am currentaly reading in my class and it is quite interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Awesome story

    This book is an amazing story about courage and determination. I would reccomend this book to people who like stories that have that sad feeling to it. Yes this book has some sad parts in it. Other than that it is worth every single penny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Good start

    This book is a good quick read that just seems like an introduction to the series. As an intro I think it's good,and does make me interested in what happens next- be prepared to buy the next book if you're looking for more of a story!

    Overall its a good introduction novella to the series that follows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    AWESOME

    Very good book sad but good it made me cry a little

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I've only read the sample

    The book starts with Luke.He is an illigal child.The law is that you may only have 2 children and he is the 3rd. He doesn't know why he has to hide and why he can't go to town or to school and he thinks that when he gets older he canbe seen.

    Will he ever see the outside world?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Among the hidden

    In among the hidden luck found he wasnt the only sadow child and he didnt have to hid but he didnt tell his partents cause they would know he left the house when they were gone so he said nothing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Pretty good :! Pretty good :-) 3 Pretty good :-)

    Yankees ryan here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Fantastic book

    Great book. I have read it so many times i cant even count. The first time my 5th grade teacher read it as a read aloud and she cried. All of the books are action packed and cliff hangers.


    I am a 6th grader currently and i got these books for christmas and i happy cried i recomend these to and readed 3rd grade and up the only bad thing is that these books can getto be kindof hard to follow

















    Tell me if this helped or was not trus my e mail is sammiefaye.johnson@gmail
    Com















    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8