Customer Reviews for

Among the Hidden (Shadow Children Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 875 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(614)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(41)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

The Best book. I really want to read all the books. I loved it. But the ending is so sad. It made me cry. But really good book. I recomend it to any fifth or sixth grader!

posted by Ray_ray12 on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fine for children??

Is this book fine for 12 year olds??

posted by EmmaHickl on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 614 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 31
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Sad but AMAZING

    This book was REALLY REALLY AMAZING but sad because Jen gets shot by te popultion policefde.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    CJ

    This is an awesome book!!!!!!
    I give it thumbs up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Anoynomus

    This was a great serise starter it keeps you reading when i didnt want to read the book pow jen dye it keeps you questoning

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    AMAZING

    This is spatuliar

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Amazing series!!!!

    I really really liked it!!!!! Can't wait to read the rest of the series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Hidden

    Twisted branches hide my face
    I live in a weather beaten place

    You'll never catch me hiding is my game
    Very few know my true name

    I am a third child this is true
    But even greater is my fear of you

    I will try and lead a normal life
    Maybe marry and have a child and wife

    Have you guessed my name
    Or is it a mystery just the same

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    ingeloakastimizilian

    Description: a pure white male cat with deep ocean blue eyes and black paws..Personality: usually doesnt acknowledge the prescence of those who are incappable of spelling his name properly.Other names: ingeloakastimizilian means 'icingdeath'..History:mind your own buisness and do not ask. Traits: his cold breath can topple even mountain giants

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Awsome

    Best suspense book i ever read

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    One of My Most Favorite Books That I've EVER read!!!

    I love to read! This book has so much suspense and action in it that most people that can say they read this will say they were sliding off the edge of their seats the entire time while reading this book! It is about the population law where you are only legally aloud to give birth to 2 children because at the time people were afraid there wouldn't be enough food, drink, and clothing to nourish and support all the people so they had to make restrictions. Only in some families were there third and fourth children and they call these shadow children. These children have to hide their whole life and are unable to see the outside world! This is such a great book I would recommend this book to people of all ages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Among the Hidden Rocks the world of fiction!!

    Among the Hidden is a book about an illeagal child hiding from an oppresive government. Luke is a 'third' child. His government doesn't allow families to have more than 2 children, so everyday he lives in fear of being seen, and some one turning him in. He hides out all day in his home up in his attic bedroom, dying to be able to run outside, breath fresh air, go to school like his ohter brothers. But Luke must remain a 'shadow' child and never be seen. But will his fate change? Will he ever be able to be normal? Will he ever be able to reveal himself? Well read this awsomely well written book, about an illeagal child's struugle to stay sane in a time that a normal child wold never withstand. This book will keep you guessing till the very end, and you'll never ba able to put it down. (If you wish 2 know what will furhter happen to Luke, read the other books in this amazing mini-series!) So take a hold of this book today and it will surely take hold of you!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    Great Book

    This book was certainly a very interesting and unique book. A futuristic tale about a situation on Earth that may very well happen someday, this plot will keep you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. Similar to The Giver (Lois Lowry), but slightly easier to read. People of all ages would love this book and the rest of this series. Margaret Peterson Haddix is a genius and has a healthy imagination that can be learned from. I strongly urge you to read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    To 1911

    When will you post more Seth stories? They're great. You should read my fanfic Percy Jackson and the Battle Between Truth and Dare. It's on Wattpad under myronjr. Hope you like that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Awesome :)

    This is a great book...I really liked it. The rest of the series is great too. I've read it a million times and I love it every time.
    -E. R.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    My Awesome Book Review Book title and author: Best Book Ever Ti

    My Awesome Book Review
    Book title and author: Best Book Ever
    Title of review: Among the Hidden
    Number of stars (5 to 5):

    Introduction
    I think it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s interesting s
    Description and summary of content
    It’s about people only aloud having 2 children but if they do they go to jail and the kid get executed.
    Evaluation
    It’s my favorite book. I would recommend it to anybody who likes different things.
    Conclusion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Daniellw

    Hey this is to every one that loves this book send me a friend request and we can talk about this book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Free ipad

    Kiss your hand three times post this on three diffrent books then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    To 1911

    So when do you think you'll be posting again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    1911

    No idea. My life is chaotic right now so it could be awhile still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Get a pink ip pad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Read this and commet if like if possible

    Hi everyone my youtube channel is called Xeraingaming and this is andre saying hi please subscibe if havent give a lot of likes and dislike flint and steal and love buckets for me how do you guys like the exscapist series danny and me are loving it get this book its great trust me thank for reading this if you did hit that like button and kill oscar for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 614 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 31