Customer Reviews for

Among the Impostors (Shadow Children Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(200)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Among the Good Books

This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and i...
This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and it just keeps you guessing until the end.

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

LOL

I read the first one and was really good!

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    Among The Imposters Book Review

    Among The Imposters is a very well written, exciting book that I have chosen to write a review on. This book is based in a boarding school in the year 2005. Luke, the main character, lives in a country where people are starving; due to that, there is a law that you are only allowed to have two children. Unfortunately Luke is a third child and has spent his whole life hiding from the population police. The first event in this book is that Luke comes out of hiding and leaves home with his fake ID to go to the Hendrick's School for Boys. Soon after Luke's arrival he finds out that none of the teachers monitor what the students do so he sneaks outside. Luke starts making more and more trips outside and he manages to plant a garden; but after a few weeks of gardening Luke finds out that his garden is destroyed and he is in despair. On one of his trips outside he finds a group of people in the woods and they are all third children; Luke is quickly accepted into the group because he is friendly with Jen who is a hero to third children. One night Luke could not sleep so he wandered down the halls; he found the leader of the third child group, Jason, talking on his cell phone and he eavesdropped on his conversation. Luke is shocked to hear that Jason works for the population police and he is recruiting third children. The corrupt leaders of the third children group were arrested and all of the third children were safe. Though Luke is asked by the owner of the school if he wants to leave and start his life with his fake ID, Luke decides to stay with the other third children to help them gain their confidence and independence.
    I thought that the book was a very interesting idea. The author's characters were very realistic. One negative is the author used very short sentences that were not very complex. The novel would be very difficult to read if you had not read the first book in the series. Also the book wasn't as exciting as the first book in the series.
    The writing style of the author appealed to me. The author uses the first person writing style which makes the novel easy to read. For example the main character, Luke, would say "I left the door open." The author mainly used shot sentences; for instance she said "the moon was out."
    Haddix used words to paint pictures in my mind. I.E. she described Luke's mystical feeling about the moon.
    I would definitely recommend this novel to my peers. I found the story enjoyable, the author had a good writing style and the point of the novel was very believable. Some similar novels to this book are Among The Hidden, Among The Betrayed and Among The Barons, which are all in the same series. One novel that I recommend is The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan because it is full of adventure and it has references to Greek mythology. Another novel I recommend is Daniel X by James Patterson because it is action packed. A third novel that I recommend is Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins because her words paint pictures in your mind. "Among The Imposter" was one of the most enthralling books that I ever have read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Allright

    Among The Imposters by Margaret Peterson Haddix, was the second installment of the Among The Hidden Series. As a sequel, it didn't measure up very well. It still had good aspects, but like I said, it couldn't compare to Among The Hidden. I am stll willing to read the rest in the series. But to those who read this, if you don't like the beginning, just keep going, it will get a little bit better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Someone famous liked this book

    I forgot who it was but i the person is on Dance Moms. She said it was her fav book. I havent read it but all well. I will read it later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    Among The Imposters

    This book is a sequel to Among The Hidden which was a good book. Among the Imposters was about a little boy who has to change his name. He goes to school with other hidden kids. The population police try to take him away. The principal defends him. Luke gets away safely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2