Customer Reviews for

Among the Impostors (Shadow Children Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Among the Good Books

This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and i...
This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and it just keeps you guessing until the end.

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

LOL

I read the first one and was really good!

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Among the Good Books

    This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and it just keeps you guessing until the end.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    Read This

    Among the Imposters was a great science fiction novel written by the award winning author Margaret Peterson Haddix. While I was reading Among the Imposters I really enjoyed reading it because Margaret Peterson Haddix used a lot of sensory details to make me feel like I was in the school with him. The last two chapters weren¿t very good. It was kind of boring because I expected it to be more mysterious or to have more action in it. <BR/> Among the imposters takes place in the future at a school called Hendricks School for Boys. Since the book takes place in the future it is illegal to have more than two kids. Thirteen year old Luke Garner is an illegal third child. He tries throughout the population police. When Luke first gets to Hendricks gets to Hendricks he finds a door to the outside. One day he goes outside and tries to plant a garden. The next day he goes out and finds out that someone destroyed his garden. So he stays outside one night to see who wrecked his garden. A group of kids come out and he follows them. When he finds that the kids who wrecked his garden are actually illegal third children, but he doesn¿t know if he should come out and say that he¿s a third child or not. <BR/> Margaret Peterson Haddix uses a lot of foreshadowing in her writing. She also has a lot of symbols in her writing. As she writes you get kind of like a mysterious feeling about some of the characters. I think if someone was looking for a good mystery book they should read this novel. But, before they read this book they should read the first book in the series.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Among the Impostors review

    This review is about the novel, Among the Impostors. It is written by Margaret Peterson Haddix. I don¿t like to read that many books, but since I had read the first one, I thought that I might as well read the second book. I am glad that I decided to read this because it was a really good book. Right when things started to slow down, the storyline then starts to speed right back up again. The majority of the book keep you on the edge of you seat. What makes it good is how the author weaves the storyline throughout the book. The whole time reading this you want to know what is going to happen next and even how it will end. These are some of the things in the book that keeps you wanting to read more and more, never wanting to put it down till you are finished.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Among the imposters

    It is a little confusing at first but is really good. I suggest that you rrad the first book first

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Among the hidden awsomeness!!!

    I read the first book with my 5th grade class. I wanted to read this. And LOVEit!! You have to read the first booktl to understand. I cried at the end of the first book! YOU SHOULD READ IT!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Good

    Margret peterson Haddix has done it again!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    I

    Idont think its a lend me book

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good

    Nice book recomended 4 4th graders

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Good BOOK!!!!

    This is a great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    WOW I LIKED IT

    this is a good book and i like the whole shadow children series :- )

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    i have read all the books except the last two. The First Leads you into the series and the second I thought wasnt the best neither the fourth but they were ok the rest i didnt say are the greatest. Awesome Series Go MARGAROT!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Hidden among the kids that are legals

    Luke Garner goes to a board school. This is where rich boys go to school. The only thing is Luke is a third child. Third children are illegal. What will happen when Luke goes to school for the first time in front of so many people? I didn¿t like the scene between Luke and Jason. It was too intense for me. I liked that Luke wouldn¿t give in to Jason¿s teasing every night. I also liked that there were other third children at the boarding school. This book is part of a series and is the second book in the series. The first book is Among the Hidden. I would recommend that you read Among the Hidden before you read Among the Impostors. The Among the Hidden characters are mentioned in the Among the Impostors a lot. This book doesn¿t remind me of any other books or movies. The kids that would enjoy this book would be grades 6-8. I think boys would prefer these books over girls, but I think some girls would like the book. This book isn¿t similar to any other author think I have read. Among the Impostors is like parts of other books. There is some mystery, and there is some nature. This book is almost a lot of books put into one book with a common plot. This is so the author will become more popular between the young adults.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    What a way to get away

    This is a great book to read and write a book report on. It's easy to read and genius! You must at leats read part of this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    recommended

    I really enjoyed the book, especially the surprise ending. I thought it was good because she kept you in suspense and at the end you couldn't stop reading. I was surpriesed at some the characters,which I think made the book even better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    A must read

    I thought the book was very well written. it was a great sequal to amoung the hidden. In among the hidden luke Garner is an illigal third child who can never be seen but in the end of the book he recieves an identity. he enters hendrics school for boys a windowledd building with mean students and teachers he always wonder what was on the outside of the walls and one day he finds out. this book will keep you guessing. i really enjoyed it and would recomend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    A Big Reader

    Among the Imposters is great. It will keep you guessing until the very end. It is better then Among the Hidden.It is very well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2002

    Among the Imposters- A Must Read!

    I think this book is great. I have read the first one, and this one was better. I think this book you can relate to. When I was reading it, it made me think of things that have happened to me. This book starts out really dull, but is gets lots better. Like I said, I LOVED it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2002

    Pretty Cool

    I enjoyed this book. It's pretty cool. I luved how much Luke missed Jen--that was touching. If you liked Among the Hidden, ya gotta read Among the Imposters. You'd like it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Awesome book

    Comment if u like this book to me cause i dont know what it is about please.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    good book

    i cant find the third book to this series series either!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3