BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Among the Impostors (Shadow Children Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Among the Good Books

This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and i...
This book is great. Right when you think things are slowing down and won't pick up again... BOOM! Something big comes out of nowhere and keeps you reading. When you think, I'll just read one more chapter, you really can't. A wonderful sequel to Among the Hidden, and it just keeps you guessing until the end.

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

LOL

I read the first one and was really good!

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Haddix Does It Again

    "Among the Imposters" is written by Margret Peterson Haddix and published by Aladdin Fiction. This book is AMAZING; once I got going, I couldn't put it down. The story is about a young boy, Luke Garner. He's 12 years old, is a third child and in his society if you're a third born in a family, then you pretty much have no right to live. In this book he gets a fake I.D from his former friend's dad, Mr. Talbot. Mr. Talbot takes Luke to a reform school with his new fake I.D, as the name of Lee Grant. Luke hates the school because he gets picked on and gets tortured by an Evil boy he names, The Jackal Boy. The Jackal and his gang torture Luke. They make him say he's an exany, which means "shadow kid"; which is another name for an illegal third child. This book is about Luke and how he's taken from not seeing anyone to being whisked away to a rich person school. New clothes new name, new life, new food; out of his cozy attic in the woods. No friends, could you imagine?

    I would recommend this book to everyone of any age because this is one of my favorite books of all time and this is probably one of the best books you will ever read. If you don't like reading, then read this series, it will change your mind about books, Margret Peterson Haddix is an amazing author.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    among the imposters

    this story is about an illehal third child that is out of the hidding and into the open and he has to go to a private school for boys only while his friend jen is dead and he is having trouble making friends with his roomates and see what happen in AMONG THE IMPOSTERS...

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Woa! Quite incredible!

    :) sooo good and addicting!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great

    Everytime you pick up this book its like something exciting is happening....i cant put this book down.......this book is the best.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great

    We read at school and I dont want it to end i cant put it DOWN.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this book!!!! I couldn't put it down. I can't wait to read the next book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Great book!!!!

    I love margret peterson haddix and this one if the many reasons why<33333

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    Awesome

    The title of my book is Among the Imposters, and the author of it is Margret Petterson Haddix. Luke Garner is the name of the boy in my story but he has a fake I.D. name Lee Grant. He takes the name of Lee Grant because he or Luke is a third child. If he is found by the population police he will be killed because he is a third child and the government does that because of the lack of supplies. He is sent to this school called Hendrix School for boys. He does not like being there because he is getting picked on by boys and the leader that is picking on him the most is called Jackal boy, he also does not feel like he fits in. So somehow the population police finds out that there is third born children so they come and search the school and they take Jackal boy away.
    I recommend this book to all readers. The reason I would recommend the book is it is an adventure book and a little of a mystery book also. This book was a page turner because you don't know what is going to happen next and it keeps you on your feet. It was easy to concentrate on the book because there was always action or a problem facing Luke. Some people could also be able to connect to the charter Luke, if you have ever moved to a different school and if you didn't fit in this would be a good book for you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Great book

    Almost as good as the hunger games

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Read it

    I read it and i love it the funny thing is was that my teacher was reading it and my name is luke and someone else in my class is named jason and people were asking me like "why did you do that to jason" it was funny

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Awsome book

    U need to read this to learn an important life lesson. This book taught me manny things . U have to read this book it is awsome it should be called among the hidden awsomeness.!! It totaly roks out loud. It is amazing and awsome.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great book Great book

    Was a clifhanger

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Incredable

    Luke/lees strugles inspire me

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Great book

    Its a really great book those who love adventers and mysterys you will love this book so make sure to try and read the whole series I really recamend this book yes im reading the whole series read it you will love the book and whole series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Love it!!!

    This is a great book. I can't wait to read the rest if the series. This series takes place in the future. It is about a boy name Luke, who is a third child. In these times third children are not aloud. If you were a third child you would be killed by ' the population police.' This series takes you through the adventures of his life. This particular book is the second in the series. To sum it up, it is about how Luke is at the Hendrekson school for boys with a fake identity trying to pass as a normal kid, not a third child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    WOW

    This book is absolutly amazing im buying it to read AGAIN this is the third time i've read it and there will be more (:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Love it

    Well, the first books ending was extremely sad with jen and eveything, but, i cant wait to read and buy the seriesm i did among thr hidden for a book report/ and i was NOT expecting the ending!

    Student

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Awesome

    Hi who ever is reading this i just wanted to say that this is such a great book, but to understand it you need to have read the first one. So far i have read the first second and third, there all great. I cant wait to read the rest and comment so i can see how you like it, most likly love it.
    LOVE THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Awesome

    Im at the end of Among the Hidden and it was awesome. I want to buy the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Must read

    Must read

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10