BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Among the Living

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New spin on Zombie genre

    I first became aware of this author via his hilarious blog The Zombie Wilson Diaries about a man on a deserted island with a zombie girl. When I ordered this book I wasn't sure what to expect but I'm glad I took a chance.

    This book is not like other zombie novels where the characters are thrown right into the action. There is a slow build up to chaos that takes its time in introducing us to the main characters. Don't get me wrong, there is action and scares galore even in the beginning of the book so it is never boring.

    The characters make this book. They are an interesting mix of the weird (A sword wielding serial killer), a lazy drug dealer, and a newspaper reporter. They are all unique. I've never read anything quite like this before.

    I buy all things zombie and this is one of the best books in the genre.

    Oh the book screams for a sequel and I hope Timothy W. Long has one in the works.

    -Ed

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Oh my f-ing God!"

    I'll admit, I'm the last person in the world you would think would pick up a zombie book. It has just never been my cup of tea.

    I dont know what compelled me to get this one, but boy am i glad I did. This book had me laughing and crying from beginning to end. I love the charcaters more than anything and was sad to see some go. I was screaming in my head "run faster!!!!" as the hoarde appoarched. Definately going to get my hands on Among the Dead. I've always been a vampire kind of girl ((real vampires, not tgat piece of dog crap Twilight)) but this book made me see zombies in a different way. So glad i picked it up. You wont be disappointed. Trust me.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Great!

    I liked this book especially for being free, which to be honest is the only reason i got it. But after reading it im looking forward to Among the Dead. It had a good story and characters had depth the only down side to that was that you get into it and its time to wait for Among the Dead, I would recommend it though it was a good read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    So vivid- like watching a movie!

    An unusual way to experience zombies!! The characters are so vivid. I was a little paranoid for awhile after reading. I came across this by accident, but I'm am going to read all I can by this author. This book would be very interesting for a book club discussion.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Wow!

    I somehow managed to find this a few days ago on the free list and figured I didn't have anything to lose. I didn't expect much, but got way more than I bargained for. Not since "World War Z" have I found a zombie novel I could get in to. The minute the sequel comes out I'll be all over it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Slow, but gets better

    Very slow in places, but a great book none the less

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great read!

    Although the premise of this book really isn't anything we haven't seen before, i did really enjoy this book. It is fast-paced and at times very hard to put down. The characters are intriguing and full of depth. I would definitely recommend it and I'm looking forward to seeing how their story continues.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Zombies need I say more

    Really good book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Just what i have been looking for. Can't wait for the next one. It's like Resident Evil meets Zombieland meets The Walking Dead.

    This book is very action packed and fast moving! It reminded me of the Resident Evil movies but better. The story is told by different people experiencing the same event in different parts of town. Each is in a different circumstance. It is well written and keeps you on your toes. I liked the fact that the characters for the most part are smart. I didn't find myself thinking why did that character do that. So far this is the best zombie book I have ever read. I can not wait for the next one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Excellent read

    Great book, cant wait for the sequel!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Interesting.

    An insight into the lives of very different people and the challenges they face when a zombie outbreak begins to occur and the telling of their meeting. I was hooked and cant wait for the sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    TERIFFIC!!

    I dont know any other words to explain this book but the word excellent! I totally recommend this

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great free book!!!

    I absolutly loveed this book. Its exciting. It has a lotta gore, zombies in it. It does use graphic language though. The ending was sad in my opinion :((

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Amazing book!

    Im 14, And this book is the best zombie apocolypse novel ive read. Some parts are graphic, especially with kate. Honestly, i think bshe pretty badass. The entire book is filled with twist i dnt expect! Definatley going to recommend this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Good quick read!

    I really enjoyed this book. Read it in less than two days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Really good

    This was a very interesting and well written book. It built up slowly the first hundred pages with segments on the five main characters from when the infection started. You really get to know them (I could have wished Grinder and Lesters bits were shorter). When things really get rolling the action is great keeping you flipping pages to see what happens next. There is plenty of fighting, escaping, killing, gore, as well as drug use and some sex- not for teen readers! I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series. A great read just under 300 pages and the quality is right up there with Mark Tufo and Steve Wands!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great zombie story

    I'm looking forward to reading the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Great book.

    Great book....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Not bad

    Enjoyed this book, a bit too complex given the limited pages. Too many individual stories wrapped into one left me somewhat confused and searching to remember what the character's storyline was.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    If you like zombies---you'll love this book

    One of the better books. Lots of action from beginning to end and interesting characters. Looking forward to the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5