Customer Reviews for

Among the Mad (Maisie Dobbs Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific Dobbs entry

    On Christmas Eve 1931, Psychologist and Investigator Maisie Dobbs and her assistant Billy Beale, having finished a report for a client, are strolling on a London street to deliver their findings when another pedestrian detonates a bomb. He dies while Maisie is slightly injured, Billy is okay physically because Maisie seeing something off kilter with the culprit told him to head back to the office, which he started to do until the explosion.<BR/><BR/>The next day the Office of the Prime Minister receives the first of several threatening letters warning of terrorist activity; this note also contains the name of Maisie Dobbs. She joins a government investigation team trying to find the anonymous writer and prevent the threatened attacks.<BR/><BR/>This is a terrific Dobbs entry that as usual brings alive London at a time when the Great Depression is causing global havoc. Maisie is terrific as an early psychological profiler though some of her descritpors are based on hunches as no validated database yet exists. More a thriller than an investigative tale, series fan will enjoy the latest Maisie Dobbs psychological sleuthing case (see PARDONABLE LIES and AN INCOMPLETE REVENGE).<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    Another excellent book in this series

    Jacqueline Winspear has done an outstanding job with this series. I have recommended it to any of my friends that still read. My husband and both my daughters have read the whole series also and were very impressed(especially my husband as he rarely reads fiction). Watching Maisie's life unfold and watching the characters grow and change is extremely enjoyable. I recieved this on my brithday weekend and spent one very relaxing day reading the whole book. Absolutely wonderful book and series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I love the world of Maisie Dobbs!

    The Maisie Dobbs books are some of the few in my permanent collection of fiction. It's easy to identify with Maisie from my perspective. Yes, she lost so much, but she gives of herself even more. She may end up in a conventional relationship, but in the meantime, she epitomizes the independent woman trying to make a living and do some good in the world.

    Among the Mad is really a mirror from Maisie's time to ours. Evil is out there, it isn't going away, and it only succeeds when good people do nothing to counter it. This book also highlights the sameness of the turf wars between police and intelligence agencies of her time and our time. A timely insight into the problems of our own time, for it takes place at the beginning of the Great Depression, the economics, the military veterans issues, the governmental issues. An amazing insight from our past. For an absorbing read that challenges one intellectually and morally, there is no better fiction writer living today than Jacqueline Winspear, and I read a lot of mysteries and crime fiction, bot British and American. She pulls no punches and takes us inside the life and mind of an extraordinary woman of her time, of any time. I highly recommend the entire series starting with Maisie Dobbs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Unique Moment in Time

    I always look forward to new releases in the Maisie Dobbs series, and Among the Mad did not disappoint. To me, the most interesting element of the series is the setting, 1930s England. The long-lasting effects of WWI on the minds, bodies and spirits of those impacted by it are not often a theme in fiction, and I have enjoyed learning a bit more about it. I also enjoy following a strong, working, single female in a time when being those things would have made for many challenges, both professionally and personally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this new one in the series.

    Very Thoughtful and insightful writing on a subject as new as today as it was in England after WWI - the setting for this book. The story is moving and very interesting with good plot and strong characters as is usual with this wonderful writer. While this is in a series, it is also a good stand alone story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    I love Maisie Dobbs

    I love Maisie Dobbs. Read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    If you like historical fiction, you will enjoy this mystery series.

    It is always a learning experience to read a Maisie Dobbs mystery. This one is timely in that it relates the use of chemical weapons in WWI by the Germans and the efforts by the British to find antidotes, quite astounding revelations. The issue of veterans suffering from their military service, lack of adequate benefits, as well as PTSD, is addressed in the search for an assailant. Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome, although not termed as such, is present in civilians' and veterans' lives as this sorry is followed. As usual, Miaisie's own time on the Front gives her a special insight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    If you're into MAISIE, you'll love this one.

    The best of this series so far. Starts with a bang and never lets up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Maisie Dobbs series

    I love the excellent writing and great way the author holds the readers interest and emotion with the way she weaves the story line. These are GREAT!









    ?..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    FANTASTIC111

    I have yet to read a Winspear book that was not well written with an engrossing story behind the good writing. And I have read every book she has written. More power to you Ms. Winspear, keep up the excellent work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    wonderful+series

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted February 20, 2010

    A good addition to the Maisie Dobbs series

    I really enjoyed this book. I've read all the others and if you like them, you will like this one, too. I don't know as much about the years inbetween WWI and WWII, especially in England, so the plots of these books are always full of things I didn't know before. But I don't feel like I've been in school. Maisie's stories are all well written, and interesting. They are all a little sad, but still very worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    maise dobbs reigns....

    Wonderful addition to the unfolding story of Maise,her friends and family. A refreshingly different type of mystery, enriched with details of post WWI England and the world. I have "turned on" many friends to this wonderful series... and all agree that it is a pleasure read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Fun Series

    Maisie is a great character and if, like me you like the 1930's/40's and mysteries and detective stories, the Maisie Dobbs series is civilized reading. Very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Among the Mad

    Although the story is written in England after the 1st World War the main theme of this story is relevant to our time. Maisie Dobbs witnesses a public suicide that leads her into a plot involving a terrorist act. She and Scotland Yard race against the clock to find a person who has threatened violence unless demands are met.

    The underlying theme is about people who have given their lives for their country and returned only to find no one cares. The ones that survived have carried their emotional and physical wounds into a world that does not want to see. This is the story of one person's demand for recognition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    a good read

    not as good as the first few books but well worth reading = the author has an amazing ability to make you feel that you are there in the time period of the book. very well done. interesting info on the period after WWI and during. highly recommmend her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Winspear remains consistently entertaining.

    Have been with this series since the first publishing and have enjoyed each book. Jacqueline Winspear keeps her plots fresh and the characters have grown with each story. The psychological approach with a touch of mysticism makes this female sleuth of the 30's believable. As long as Winspear can avoid the pitfalls that lead to a boiler plate novel I will continue to look forward to the next "Maisie Dobbs" case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Intriguing and thoughtful

    Winspear has a unique style that draws you in even if somewhat offbeat and weird. I have read everything else she has written and this last book is not one of my most favorites but it is still quite good. I think reading these in the order they were written is helpful; you see how Maise develops and grows as a character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Disappointment

    I loved all of the previous books but I found this one disappointing and lacking in plot.
    Also found it lacking in her ususal description of the period clothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    So glad to the Maisie again

    Always happy to read the next chapter in Maisies life. She seems tired in this one. I passed on this one to a friend whom I have hooked on Maisie. We both agree on the quality of Ms. Winspears writing, very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3