Customer Reviews for

The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Funny

The 3rd in The Burgundy Club series. This may have been my favorite. Tarquin is so proper and Celia is not the fashionable,proper bride he wants.

It is so funny when he loses his memory and she names him Terence Fish. They travel together and I fell in love with Ter...
The 3rd in The Burgundy Club series. This may have been my favorite. Tarquin is so proper and Celia is not the fashionable,proper bride he wants.

It is so funny when he loses his memory and she names him Terence Fish. They travel together and I fell in love with Terence right along with Celia. When he gets his memory back Tarquin cannot deny that Terence is still in him and he himself loves Celia.

The dirty book collection that Tarquin owns is very funny since Celia and her friend Minera read them. There may be even a little story reinactment which is pretty hot. I loved this book.

posted by 5110517 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

M

And hete we go again. Another book ruined by the big mouth harriet klausner, revealing every detail in the book. Come on bn, DO SOMETHING to this plot spoiling poster already. Ppl are sick of her ruining boojs.

posted by 8888649 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    M

    And hete we go again. Another book ruined by the big mouth harriet klausner, revealing every detail in the book. Come on bn, DO SOMETHING to this plot spoiling poster already. Ppl are sick of her ruining boojs.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Funny

    The 3rd in The Burgundy Club series. This may have been my favorite. Tarquin is so proper and Celia is not the fashionable,proper bride he wants.

    It is so funny when he loses his memory and she names him Terence Fish. They travel together and I fell in love with Terence right along with Celia. When he gets his memory back Tarquin cannot deny that Terence is still in him and he himself loves Celia.

    The dirty book collection that Tarquin owns is very funny since Celia and her friend Minera read them. There may be even a little story reinactment which is pretty hot. I loved this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a delightful Regency romantic romp

    In 1820 Yorkshire, the man with the gun informs Miss Celia Seaton to take off her clothes or he will rip them off. He tells her he must leave her but figures she will not wander the moors naked. Tarquin Compton left London but got lost. He sees a cottage and stops for directions.

    Celia escapes her attic prison only to find the man she loathes arrogant Tarquin who called her a vegetable ruining her prospects. He lies prone by the door. When he awakens he recalls nothing; not even who he is. Seeing an opportunity to avenge his nastiness, Celia says he is her fiancé Terrance Fish and they need to flee the cottage before the thugs who left him for dead return. As they flee Celia begins to fall in love with the kind intelligent Terrence, but when the memory returns so does conceited Tarquin who is engaged to Countess Julia. She is the first choice of his beloved uncle.

    The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton is a delightful Regency romantic romp with a supporting mystery involving the kidnapping and subsequent murder attempts. Although too much happens, sub-genre fans will enjoy the cross country caper as a killer stalks the pair as they fall in love.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Great story.....................................................

    Great story.................................................................................................................
    Good story.   Good Plot.     Good ending.    Mystery with romance.   Good combination.  My first MN novel.   Not my last.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    just okay

    Didn't really care for the hero or the heroine but I liked their friends and I liked the plot, overall an okay read that I'll probably never think of again. And for 99 cents how can anyone hold a grudge?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    A must for those who like a good love story.

    A year after her father's death and her return to England, Celia Seton is surprisely kidnapped. While she is escaping she stumbles upon Tarquin Crompton, the Ton's leading dandy, with no memory of who he is. Remembering the scorn she faced at his hands a year before, Celia sees her chance for revenge. She claims his name is Terrence Fish and that they are engaged. The make their way to an acquaintance of Celia's with few clothes and no money. As they spend their days walking they start to care for each other. However, when Tarquin regains his memory he returns to his arrogant self, the leader of the ton beyond Celia's touch. When Celia's safety is threatened, Tarquin has to be honest about his feelings for Celia. This story wouldn't appeal to those who dislike romances filled with consequences and unlikely events, but romance readers who are happy to put up with such things for a good love story will find themselves drawn into story and rooting for the characters.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Great Read

    I loved the premise of Miranda Neville's The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton-a fringe ton debutante whose prospects are destroyed by a casually cruel comment of the reigning haut ton's golden boy finds herself in the unique position to extend payback when the golden boy loses his memory. Celia Seaton is a strong, smart, resourceful woman with a devilish sense of humor. I laughed aloud at some of her fabrications and enjoyed seeing her and dandy Tarquin Compton romp through the Yorkshire countryside. Both Celia and I fell in love with Tarquin as Terrance Fish.

    Tarquin's character was believable with and without his memory. His charm and self confidence battled nicely with his newfound knowledge of how tough it would be on the fringes of high society. He gets the unique chance to look at himself from someone else's point of view and it opens his eyes to what is important. I enjoyed seeing the transformation.

    The romance and Celia's "amorous education" were fun and titillating, but Celia's attitudes in the last quarter of the book felt a bit too modern and idealistic for the time. I wanted her to accept life/polite society the way it was instead of contemplating foolish alternatives. Secondary characters shouldn't have supported ill-conceived ideas. Those ideas were ruinous and should have been addressed as such. I wanted those secondary characters to be a bit more well rounded and realistic.

    Still, all's well that ends well and The Amorous Education of Celia Seaton ended very well.

    Truthfully, reading this book was a nice way to spend a cold and windy weekend. By the way, Ms. Neville's author's notes made me smile and like the book even more. I recommend reading them as well.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Loved It!

    I read all three of the Burgundy Club books over two days. I read a lot of Regency Romances and many are light, easy reading but not well developed. The Burgundy Club books have well drawn characters I could get involved in. In addition to just a predictible love story there's intrique and mysteries to deepen the readers enjoyment. Any book that can make me laugh out loud and also cry is a well written hit for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Not my favorite....

    It was just OK. I'd like a little more story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Made me laugh!

    Funny and touching, she's a survivor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    3.5 Stars - I loved Celia's look on life. It was hard sometimes

    3.5 Stars - I loved Celia's look on life. It was hard sometimes to like Tarquin, but I did at the end. A lot of great character's that added spice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Engaging romp

    While escaping from a kidnapper, Celia encounters the man she blames for ruining her London season and leads him on a merry adventure through the Yorkshire countryside.
    Celia and Tarquin's verbal sparring is entertaining and I enjoyed their interactions both when they were in accord and when they were not. The narrative flowed smoothly and was well-paced. I will be looking for more of Miranda Neville's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Enjoyable to read

    I loved it, was hard to put down. Had a great storyline and the charaters were very entertaining. It isn a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    good romantic novel

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Kept me reading!

    Pretty well written book. Thought it was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Very Good

    Very Good
    I found that I enjoyed, when it first started I thought what is going on I was loss before the story started but as it unfolded I was surprised. It had humor, scandal, kidnappings, chasing, and romance. What I was disappointed with is that I would have loved to have felt the pain Celia felt over her situation. It was devastating to be so young with any prospects and her former life with her father. The author told us but it was not felt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    average

    not a keeper

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3