Customer Reviews for

Amped

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Can't put it down!

The idea that we could have brain implants that make us super smart or super strong seems a little far fetched at first, but by the end of the first chapter I was hooked and along for an action-packed thrill ride. In a world where neural implants give people super abili...
The idea that we could have brain implants that make us super smart or super strong seems a little far fetched at first, but by the end of the first chapter I was hooked and along for an action-packed thrill ride. In a world where neural implants give people super abilities, Wilson tells the story of how our society reacts when our technology gets into our heads. Thought provoking and a really fun read.

posted by Camille888 on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wanted 1/2 my money back

Interesting story, but I enjoyed Robopocalypse more. I finished the book in a couple of hours and found myself a little peeved at myself for spending $14 for what turned out to be a quick 239 pages.

posted by 8380906 on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Can't put it down!

    The idea that we could have brain implants that make us super smart or super strong seems a little far fetched at first, but by the end of the first chapter I was hooked and along for an action-packed thrill ride. In a world where neural implants give people super abilities, Wilson tells the story of how our society reacts when our technology gets into our heads. Thought provoking and a really fun read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Wanted 1/2 my money back

    Interesting story, but I enjoyed Robopocalypse more. I finished the book in a couple of hours and found myself a little peeved at myself for spending $14 for what turned out to be a quick 239 pages.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    First Review

    I have to that I enjoyed this book a lot. I had read is previous book and I will not sit here and copare since I believe they are very different, even though they have similar themes in regards to robotics. I really enjoyed the plot twists, just when I thought that i had figured it out he hit you with another twist. The undertones of the book where very interesting, to me there are hints to which can be seen in todays society as far as society that is afraid of anything different. I did think it was a little to short and was looking for more when i did finally finished. I would recommend this to anyone who has read his previous work .

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Confusing and Confused

    While I am no genius, I found myself confused by a story that wanted to break genre tropes--sometimes succeeding--but often falling victim to letting voice carry a plot with not enough exposition. I think many readers enjoy a story with twists and plot turns, I was often still trying to piece together the characters' relationships and interactions from before and figuring out the LAST plot twist when a new one would be introduced.

    While I appreciate any author's intention to subvert or challenge a genre, I'd prefer they didn't subvert the conventions of sensible plot construction and clever character development.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Daniel Wilson's AMPED is another very solid bio/techno-thriller,

    Daniel Wilson's AMPED is another very solid bio/techno-thriller, on the heals of his first book, Robopocalypse: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries).

    In the near future, humans can be technologically improved, or "amped," to correct deficiencies or handicaps such as missing limbs or brain damage. However, as technology improves, "amped" humans begin to have a decisive advantage over the unimproved majority, and the tensions flare to the brink of a civil war. In the middle of this is a former math teacher was was "amped" as a small boy by his father, a leader in the field of bio-enhancement, in order to save his life after a major head trauma. The teacher knows he's different, but doesn't know HOW different he is, and his finding out is key to the climax of the story.

    This book grabbed me a lot more than his first. Maybe it's the talk of the first person to run in the Olympics with artificial limbs, maybe it's the new prosthetic limbs our wounded vets are receiving. This book just seems more real.

    Well written, fast moving, entertaining. Fans of science thrillers will really enjoy this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Interesting enough to finish it, but...... I enjoyed Robopocalyp

    Interesting enough to finish it, but......
    I enjoyed Robopocalypse, and had high hopes for Amped. However, I found it quite dull. It was interesting enough to keep me reading to the end, but the closer I got to the end the more I wished it would end so I could move on to something more to my liking. Not only did I find it dull, but the characters were unbelievable and unlikeable. Just did not have the punch of the earlier title.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    I did not like this story at all. I didn't like any of the chara

    I did not like this story at all. I didn't like any of the characters in it especially the main one. He got on my nerves so bad it was not even funny. I have no respect for someone who wouldn't take up for themselves even after being urinated on. The sad thing is that I think people really would act this stupid if things like what happened in this story were to come true. Wilson does show exactly how stupid humans can be and I do applaud him for hitting that head on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great villains

    This book grabbed me from the first page and I’m thinking Daniel H Wilson is quickly becoming my favorite new author. I loved reading this from cover to cover.

    It’s certainly an interesting concept, where we can become ‘amplified’ to enhance ourselves but then you’d have to ask yourselves where the line is crossed and when it’s too much? when does it become out of hand to the point where those with ‘amps’ are then ostracized and become second class citizens. These are all the things to look at while reading this book.

    What makes it so good is the action that begins right in the beginning of the book, and all throughout the book which engages the reader and makes the book a non stop read. It’s pretty much fast paced, although through the middle of the book it does slow down but only to give Owen a bit more character development.

    As for Owen as a character, I had to admit I’m still not that crazy about him. He’s a bit of a twit. Sure, he looks at the world sometimes through a rose colored lens but you’d have to wonder when reality is going to hit him and when he’s going to react. It’s not until he’s actually FORCED with his back to the wall type of scenario to finally act. He does seem to be a bit blind to what’s going on around him and his fellow Amps.

    The villains in this book are very well done. They’re awesome bad guys (Lyle moreso. Vaughn’s just a jerk). They’re so bad you’re not sure if you want to hate them (like Vaughn) or like them because they do such a good job at being bad (like Lyle). Overall the characters in the book are pretty well written. The only one character I wasn’t too keen on was Lucy, because I thought she was just there to play a romantic love interest and that was it. She didn’t really contribute much for this book in my opinion.

    The writing style is good. Nothing fancy or so wordy when it comes to the ‘high tech’ part that you’ll be left looking through wikipedia on some of the terminology and all you get are metaphysical answers. Thankfully this book has none of that so even if you’re not much of a sci fi fan, you should give this book a try. The action packed writing should be enough to get you going!

    I’m definitely going to put Daniel H Wilson on my authors to watch for list. I really liked his style of writing so I’ll be looking for more works by him. Definitely recommended for those that want an action packed read. Sci fi readers might enjoy this also (even those who don’t care much for high tech speak!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Feels frighteningly possible

    Read this very fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    This really isn't the type of book that I normally read but I th

    This really isn't the type of book that I normally read but I thought is was pretty good. The fight scenes reminded me of the movie "The Matrix". Sometimes it was a little hard to follow but I always got caught up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Entertainment

    An incredible plotline of humans becoming superhumans through technology. Amped is the next "BLADE RUNNER."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book creates a very similar sense of adventure to Robopocal

    This book creates a very similar sense of adventure to Robopocalypse. It explores through an exciting story how technology can be save us or destroy us. The plot explores a possible future in which many people are living with implants that correct physical and mental disorders or damage. They also can enhance intelligence. This leads to many average citizens feeling jealous and threatened by their modified neighbors. With very little prompting from a power hungry madman, people turn on each other and create a less-than class and legalize prejudice. In a diverse society such as ours, this is always a real danger. This novel reminds us why it is very important to legalize and teach all children that all people have equal human rights. It protects us all.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Enjoyable Read - But Has Lost Potential

    I enjoyed Wilson's other book, "Robopocalypse," enough to buy another book by the same author and give it a read. I like the book. But I wanted to love it. About 3/4 of the way through it I found myself wondering if this was going to be book 1 of a series. Because at that point it could have been. But the final 1/4 of the book disappointed. I felt it could have gone onto being at least a three part series on a war between amped and non-amped humans. But the author just kind of wraps it up in a nice little package and ends the story. So I have to say it was a fairly enjoyable read, but had potential to be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Solid followup to robopocalypse

    I enjoyed,but not nearly as good as robopocalypse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Great book!

    Cant compare this book to Robopocalypse because theyre two totally different stories. Amped will keep you reading and most importantly.....thinking.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I loved this book. Character development is lacking, but it's still very much worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great book

    Along the same veins as Robopocalypse. Relevant to today - discussions of olympic athletes, genetic testing, gene therapy. Thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    great short read

    Kept me interested would recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Pretty good.

    Got this book because I enjoyed Robopocalypse so much. I like the idea of Amped but it left me a little wanting. It is not as good as Mr. Wilson's first book. It is a good read and I do recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Very cool book! Interesting concept that may not be that far-fe

    Very cool book! Interesting concept that may not be that far-fetched with advancements in medical technology. Once again, I really had a great time reading this book. It was fast-paced and really engaging. I found it even better that Robopocalypse, which I really enjoyed. I have to say that I'm a new Daniel H. Wilson fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3