Customer Reviews for

Amped

Average Rating 3.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Can't put it down!

The idea that we could have brain implants that make us super smart or super strong seems a little far fetched at first, but by the end of the first chapter I was hooked and along for an action-packed thrill ride. In a world where neural implants give people super abili...
The idea that we could have brain implants that make us super smart or super strong seems a little far fetched at first, but by the end of the first chapter I was hooked and along for an action-packed thrill ride. In a world where neural implants give people super abilities, Wilson tells the story of how our society reacts when our technology gets into our heads. Thought provoking and a really fun read.

posted by Camille888 on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wanted 1/2 my money back

Interesting story, but I enjoyed Robopocalypse more. I finished the book in a couple of hours and found myself a little peeved at myself for spending $14 for what turned out to be a quick 239 pages.

posted by 8380906 on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Confusing and Confused

    While I am no genius, I found myself confused by a story that wanted to break genre tropes--sometimes succeeding--but often falling victim to letting voice carry a plot with not enough exposition. I think many readers enjoy a story with twists and plot turns, I was often still trying to piece together the characters' relationships and interactions from before and figuring out the LAST plot twist when a new one would be introduced.

    While I appreciate any author's intention to subvert or challenge a genre, I'd prefer they didn't subvert the conventions of sensible plot construction and clever character development.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Interesting enough to finish it, but...... I enjoyed Robopocalyp

    Interesting enough to finish it, but......
    I enjoyed Robopocalypse, and had high hopes for Amped. However, I found it quite dull. It was interesting enough to keep me reading to the end, but the closer I got to the end the more I wished it would end so I could move on to something more to my liking. Not only did I find it dull, but the characters were unbelievable and unlikeable. Just did not have the punch of the earlier title.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Daniel H. Wilson arrived to the novel scene with last year's inv

    Daniel H. Wilson arrived to the novel scene with last year's inventive
    tale, "Robopocalypse". Combining a well thought out story with
    factual information (Wilson has a PhD in robotics), Wilson debuted a
    highly entertaining novel that earned critical and financial success.
    The film rights to the novel were even obtained by director Steven
    Spielberg. With fond memories of my time spent with his previous novel,
    I began reading "Amped" with high expectations. In this
    sophomore novel, Wilson imagines a future in which humans have used
    technology to enhance their physical and mental abilities, creating a
    multitude of amplified humans (amps). Owen Gray, a high school teacher,
    is a medical amp. He was implanted with a device at a young age to help
    control his seizures. While Owen is a pretty straightforward amp, other
    humans have been amped to such a high level that normal humans fear
    them. Fueled by the zealous persuasion of Senator Joseph Vaughn, the
    Supreme Court passes laws that differentiate the rights of Amps from
    those of regular people (Reggies). We abruptly learn that Owen's
    father, who was a lead scientist in the development of Amps, added
    another element to Owen's implant, one that gives him superhuman
    characteristics of the highest degree. Set on learning more about
    himself and on helping gain equal rights for all humans, Owen heads to
    an Amp refuge in Oklahoma, where he is forced to decide which side of
    the battle to fight on, and to dig deep inside of himself for the sake
    of humanity. I was extremely disappointed by this novel. At only 288
    pages, the whole narrative felt extremely rushed, and the characters
    were not given enough time for development. I was reminded of a similar
    novel, "Toys" by James Patterson, in which a man finds out
    that he is not what he thinks and is thrust into a battle between
    enhanced and regular humans. I can't believe that I actually enjoyed the
    Patterson novel more that this one. Overall, "Amped" lacks the
    technical reality, emotionally drawn characters, and unique concept that
    made "Robopocalypse" a success. Without these components, we
    are left with a subpar story that moves to an inevitable ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Enjoyable in spots. The premise of the book is its downfall and

    Enjoyable in spots. The premise of the book is its downfall and it is too difficult to suspend belief. In addition the characters are cartoonish and not well constructed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Not a fan

    The book was flat. It didn't really bring any of the characters to life. I didn't care what was going to happen to the characters or to the plot in general. Overall this is a book I'd pass on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Hard to follow Robopocalypse

    Could have been incredible, movie worthy, but fell short consistently throughout. Kept waiting for the fight scenes and was let down every time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1