Customer Reviews for

Amplified Bible

Average Rating 4
( 341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(53)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

This is a good interpretion of the Bible.

This is a nice Bible to compare with other Bible translations. By reading NASB and ESV along with Amplified you will have a clearer understanding of the text and the intent of the writer. I would also recommend "How to choose a translation for all its worth". There is s...
This is a nice Bible to compare with other Bible translations. By reading NASB and ESV along with Amplified you will have a clearer understanding of the text and the intent of the writer. I would also recommend "How to choose a translation for all its worth". There is so much that most people do not understand about the Greek, Hebrew and Aramaic text of the original manuscripts and how it is translated into the receptor language (English). The how to book above is a good starting point for study. You will enjoy the Amplified Bible even more when you understand how they put it together in our English.

posted by GregGS on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed - False Advertising

I was very pleased with the Bible itself, but the overview said that it had a concordance with 25,000 or more entries in it. That was very important to me, and when I downloaded it, the concordance was not there! It does NOT contain a concordance.

posted by Meggie-Inkheart on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoy reading the Amplied Bible on my Nook, iit is just like reading the normal Bible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Not that great

    The attempt to "amplify" the bible has a very biased slant to it and I found it to be quite annoying in various places. It is very sluggish, taking up to ten seconds to go from one book to another And heaven help you if you want to look at a reference and then try to go back to where you were originally reading. In short I would recommend this only to people who have the patience of Job.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    It's the bible

    I thought otherwise of not giving it five stars, but this version is very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Will+buy

    Great+book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    Fabulous! I love this Bible. This is a legit Bible compared to The King James Bible. There are so many versions of the Bible that now a days you have to be careful.

    Love it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    Yeah! $9.99 again.

    Thanks for the great version, reduced.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2015

    Cool !!!!!!!!! :)

    I love this bible. Somtimes it's tough to understand but that's when asking the pastor comes in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    Very good

    Easy print to read. it helps me understand the Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    must have

    excellant to read easy to understand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Excellent book

    I have this book in paperback but wanted to by it for my new Nook. I like the larger print in this Bible and easy to understand language. Now with my Nook I can adjust the font. I highly recommend this version of the Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Highly recommend for those already familiar with the Bible

    If you don't know the Bible well, the extras can throw you off in your understanding of many of the verses, but if you already feel comfortable in the Word of God and have some grasp of the original languages, this is a wonderful exercise and a pleasure to read. I won't use it for serious Bible study but rather for pleasure reading and spending time in worship and prayer and freely recommend the same for anyone. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Love

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Cool

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Vvgggy vtcvgvyvgmbn

    Vccxxfddx gfeegvjb cxxdjnhbyv

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommended. Great reading for your daily life.

    I already have an Amplified Bible that is a hard back book, that I use at Church. Since I now have the Nook, I figured I should purchase it to carry and read it in a more compact manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    This has been a great Bible to read.  The added notes within the

    This has been a great Bible to read.  The added notes within the scriptures opened me to a clarification regarding a few Scripture texts I thought I was familiar with.  While it doesn't have a breakdown of certain stories within each chapter of the book, it still works well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Nicely composed

    I love how it breaks down th meaning in each verse. However, the translation still sounds a little like king james version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Aden to jesbes

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    ****

    It was very user friendly & I am glad I purchased it. It was what I expected. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in an electronic bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I love having the Amplified Bible on my Nook. I use it when I teach Sunday School Class for 5th and 6th graders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18