Customer Reviews for

The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(231)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT

It is an amazing book. It is very original and is one of the best books I've read in forever. It isn't one of those stupid superficial books. It has depth and wonderful characters. My favorite character is Bartimaeus. I love his side commentary. He always gets me laughi...
It is an amazing book. It is very original and is one of the best books I've read in forever. It isn't one of those stupid superficial books. It has depth and wonderful characters. My favorite character is Bartimaeus. I love his side commentary. He always gets me laughing. My favorite quote is, "One magician demanded I show him an image of the love of his life. I rustled up a mirror"

posted by BrokenGlamourSpell on March 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Jay

Yhgfsdeweiedofogkgkgiriuiouuuuuuuiidododjufjcnckrjfhdbxxxxxxxxxxdiiiewiwwuflfjkodieoeifieyrododoiutii

posted by Anonymous on May 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT

    It is an amazing book. It is very original and is one of the best books I've read in forever. It isn't one of those stupid superficial books. It has depth and wonderful characters. My favorite character is Bartimaeus. I love his side commentary. He always gets me laughing. My favorite quote is, "One magician demanded I show him an image of the love of his life. I rustled up a mirror"

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A sideways look at a world of magicians

    Liked Potter? Me, too, but I like Bartimaeus and it is completely different. Once again an author manages to show me a world I've never imagined, but that under author Jonathon Stroud's guidance becomes familiar and enduring. I was reluctant at first as it is pitched as a kid's book, but this Oh-so-not-a-kid found it absorbing and rewarding for the characters and ideas that came alive on the page.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally...a magical world worth reading about emerges after Harry Potter

    If you enjoyed being part of a secret magical world with Harry Potter, you'll love the plot twists and turns of the Amulet of Samarkand. The footnotes are some of the funniest lines in this book, so don't forget to read those (at least once in a while). The story takes you on a journey with a young boy who is apprenticed to a magician in London. As this child becomes a young man, the reader learns about different magical creatures, conjuring spells, and other basic rules of "magician-hood" that set the stage for this story.

    The writing and language are mature, but certainly straight-forward enough to understand for a mature 11-15 year old. There are definitely surprises in the action and up until the last page, I was unsure of the young boy's fate. It is story-telling like this, that makes this book worth reading and that will impel me to pick-up the 2nd book in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Amazing.

    When I first read this it did get confusing at times, but me being a little older now I understand it completely. It's one of those books that you could keep in your collection for years. I've re-read the whole Trilogy many times. Now Jonathan Stroud is making another book about Bartimaeus which should be coming out in 2010, and im very eager to see how that will play out.
    Bartimaeus Trilogy &Harry Potter are one of my all time favorite books, and that's saying something.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    amazing book

    masterful work of literature by stroud my hat off it the best fantasy trilogys i've read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Its one of my favorite books

    I did skim some parts, but I think thats more of a personal thing anyway, and actually when I went back and read those parts and reread the book it made me love the story that much more. And I think the 10 year olds this book is supposedly for will skim the same parts. This books main attraction for me was the cahracters as usuall, so I suprised myself loving everything else that makes a good book about it. All in all the book is very happening
    So the first and second page. I skimmed over the description then put the book down but I am SO GLAD I went back and read it. Bartimaeus...hes pure gold. Hes a 5000 year old enslaved demon or djinni. He ties up with all my other favorite characters. For me, it was litteraly a laugh a page or more when the story is in his point of view. And hes had 5000 years of reasons to not be how awsome and likable he is today.
    Then it switches to Nathaniels POV the young magician. I skimmed over his parts to until the middle of the story, just to understand things. It may not look like it at first but I find Nathaniel to be a fascinating character. He dosen't seen to be likable at first but he wasn't loved as a child, his parants sold to the magicians. He almost never leaves the house. Hes seperated form other children. His room is the attic in a 5 floor mansion. And his master set him up to perposely terriffy him at 6 years old, and so set him against 'demons' very young. And he turns out to be a hero in the end, even though driven at first to solve the stories mystery by ambition.

    Great story. Long live Barti <3

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    What A Book!!!

    This book was my favorite of all-time, until I read the final book of the trilogy. The story is so well set up and is always interesting and fun. You could read it over and over again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    A good read...

    This book is highly riveting and definately exciting. It's perfect for those just starting to really dive into big reading, as it never for a moment leaves you bored. The characters are different, especially Bartimaeus, who's sarcastic attitude constantly deflects any feelings of over- cliche attached to the book. The main character seems at first to be your every day, predictable hero and yet he turns out to be so much more. Complex plot, interesting ideas, and hilarious footnotes make it a must-read for anyone who calls them self a fantasy lover. The only complaint I, a nit-picker and fantasy freak, can have, is that the villian is a bit... tired. He is very one- sided. The evil, dark haired, mean and arrogant, and yet incredibly powerful bad-guy who wants to summon an evil demon, kill all of the wizards and, basically, destroy the world. There's a little more explanation, but not much. It leaves an intelligent reader wondering, 'But what's the STRATEGY in destroying the world, except to stroke your ego?' When placed next to Bartimaeus, who is, arguably, the best, and most well planned character I've ever read of, he dwindles. All and all, a definate read for those who love a fast- moving plot, high fantasy, and sarcastic footnotes. Four and three-quarter stars.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was absolutely amazing. I loved it. It had a little bit of everything that I like. Magic, suspence... all that it was missing was a little bit of romance. I think I actually like this book better than Harry Potter. This is a great compliment!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Jay

    Yhgfsdeweiedofogkgkgiriuiouuuuuuuiidododjufjcnckrjfhdbxxxxxxxxxxdiiiewiwwuflfjkodieoeifieyrododoiutii

    2 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    I think some of the above pro reviewers didn't read the book.

    I picked up this book a couple of weeks ago, sat down to read it on a Saturday afternoon, and finished it Saturday evening. The tale of young Nathaniel, an apprentice magician, that involves murder, revenge, and demons. This book is not for people who fancy themselves the upright church goer, it involves conjuring demons, which in all honesty is one of the most entertaining metaphores in the book. Bartimaeus is a 5000 year old djinni, who is summoned by Nathaniel to steal the amulet of Samrkand from a magician by the name of Simon Lovelace. Simon is a magician and more importantly is an evil magician (or as Bartimaeus might say ambitious not evil). The events in the book start out with an arrogant young boy, who is really somewhat innocent, but then he loses that innocence and starts on a journey into adulthood. This book is one of the only books that I have ever seen pull off a narrative by two different people and do it well. The footnotes that Bartimaeus leaves are sometimes distracting because they are so funny they can make you lose your concentration. I wouldn't recommend this to really young children, but from the age of 10 up should be safe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Had picked this up at an airport bookstore, looking for somethin

    Had picked this up at an airport bookstore, looking for something to read. Cover looked interesting as the summary. Wasn't sure if I was going to like this. Didn't like Nat and Kitty at first. The genie was interesting. Writing was pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Misconceptions(a.k.a. Travis' reviews)

    This book is not your typical fantasy book (orcs, epic battle scenes, heroes controlling the evil forces, etc.). This book is about a hillariously sarcastic, smart-mourhed, and comedic demon(Bartimaeus) who loves nothing mpre than pissing people off and eaves-dropping. It gets down-right comedic how ticked he gets when his master, a young child, outwits him,and vis versa. The two, after a while, develop a strange relationship where the master technically has no power of Bartimaeus, but he still helps out(extremely rare). Good book for everyone.
    I'm Travis and this is my review on 'The Amulet Of Samarkand'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Cool

    Never read the book but it seems cool

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Frustratingly Good

    I couldn't put this book down for the first 150 pages and then, it started to unravel, wander, plod. The spectacular ending was consumed in a single gulp. I keep wondering, with all the filler in the middle, why did the ending happen so fast? And I was disappointed in the farewell ending. At least it's a single book and not "to be continued" (though apparently, it is). I know there's more out there, but when the author is wandering, it's just too painful a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Didn't catch my attention

    Yep

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    WISH THERE WERE MORE....

    I first saw the cover of the 2nd book in this series, which made me go find the 1st. I was intrigued from the first paragraph, and could not put the book down. I went and bought the 2nd and when that was done impatiently waited for the 3rd to finally come out! this series is the most addicting i have read. I really wish jonathon stroud would have continued this series some how...Lol i did not want it to end! as a matter of fact i have read these 3 books a total of 4 times now, and recomend them to everyone into fantasy!!!! love em' i give all 3 books a a+++

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    Silver and co

    Name: Silver <br> Gender: female <br> Apearance: silvery grey fur and blue eyes with flecks of silver. <br> Job: organizer <p> Name: Snowykit <br> Gender: female <br> Apearance: white with grey spots here and there. Blue eyes. <br> Job: kit <br> Relations: sister of Slippingkit <br> Crush: nope <p> Name: Zebrakit <br> Gender: male <br> Apearance: white and black tabby. Yellow eyes. <br> Job: kit <br> Relations: none <br> Crush: no <p> Name: Slippingkit <br> Gender: tom <br> Apearance: pure white with red eyes. Is albino. <br> Job: kit. <br> Relations: brother of Snowykit <br> Crush: none <p> Name: Futurepaw <br> Gender: female <br> Apearance: black with white and grey streaks, starry-ish eyes, and extremely small. <br> Job: apprentice. <br> Relations: none <br> Crush: none

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Not the best, not even finished yet

    I am still not done this book yet because to me, it just seems boring. I have given up on this book since its a little slow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Bryan W

    Very funny and smart...a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17