Customer Reviews for

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour

Average Rating 4.5
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Road trips and romance!

I love road trip books and in honor of my upcoming road trip across the country I decided to post my review of Amy and Roger's Epic Detour. This is Morgan Matson's debut novel and it is fabulous. The attention to detail in this book is what makes it a five star read for...
I love road trip books and in honor of my upcoming road trip across the country I decided to post my review of Amy and Roger's Epic Detour. This is Morgan Matson's debut novel and it is fabulous. The attention to detail in this book is what makes it a five star read for me. The playlists, pictures, receipts, locations, and even the people they meet along the way all fit flawlessly into the story and make it that much richer.

Amy Curry has been dealing with the sudden death of her father. Amy feels responsible for his death and refuses to get behind the wheel. Her life in California has been tough since the accident, but it is also her home. Now Amy's mother has decided to move the family to Connecticut. Her mother has left early to get there new place set up so Amy will be forced to make the trip across the country with the son of a family friend.

Roger has his own set of baggage he is bringing along on this road trip. A recent breakup has him all torn up and felt with issues of his own. He knows that he is making this trip because Amy can't do it herself and he needs the ride to Philadelphia, but he is still not thrilled about it. Amy's mother has planned out the trip down to the last detail but where is the fun in that? Roger and Amy agree to make a few unplanned stops along the way and soon Amy and Roger realize that life is lived in the detours we take. This book is about finding yourself and as they make their way across the country they are able to face their pasts and even find each other in the process.

I read this book a little while ago and I still find myself picking it up to reread some favorite passages. I can honestly say that this book is a keeper and I recommend that if you like a feel good book with twists and turns and a touch of romance this is a great book to pick up.

http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

posted by acsimps on August 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Goodish

The beginning was a little slow and the book was an easy read. Good story though. However the ending really irritated me, left me completely hanging!

posted by 8922755 on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Road trips and romance!

    I love road trip books and in honor of my upcoming road trip across the country I decided to post my review of Amy and Roger's Epic Detour. This is Morgan Matson's debut novel and it is fabulous. The attention to detail in this book is what makes it a five star read for me. The playlists, pictures, receipts, locations, and even the people they meet along the way all fit flawlessly into the story and make it that much richer.

    Amy Curry has been dealing with the sudden death of her father. Amy feels responsible for his death and refuses to get behind the wheel. Her life in California has been tough since the accident, but it is also her home. Now Amy's mother has decided to move the family to Connecticut. Her mother has left early to get there new place set up so Amy will be forced to make the trip across the country with the son of a family friend.

    Roger has his own set of baggage he is bringing along on this road trip. A recent breakup has him all torn up and felt with issues of his own. He knows that he is making this trip because Amy can't do it herself and he needs the ride to Philadelphia, but he is still not thrilled about it. Amy's mother has planned out the trip down to the last detail but where is the fun in that? Roger and Amy agree to make a few unplanned stops along the way and soon Amy and Roger realize that life is lived in the detours we take. This book is about finding yourself and as they make their way across the country they are able to face their pasts and even find each other in the process.

    I read this book a little while ago and I still find myself picking it up to reread some favorite passages. I can honestly say that this book is a keeper and I recommend that if you like a feel good book with twists and turns and a touch of romance this is a great book to pick up.

    http://bringmeanotherbook.blogspot.com/

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    Great!!!!!

    I finished this in a few hours. It was a really good, fun, book to read and I enjoyed how the author balanced the more serious topics of the story with the lighthearted romance between Amy and Roger. I would definitely recommend this to anyone :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Really Great

    This book was great! The main and supporting characters were well developed and fun! I was a bit apprehensive about all the pictures and stuff at first but they really added to the book and made it that much more original! If you are looking for a bright, feel good book, look no further!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by John Jacobson aka "R.J. Jacobs" for TeensReadToo.com

    I am proud to say this book is going on my keeper shelf. Road trip novels always held a special appeal to me, so this book was always going in my TBR. It was one of my most anticipated books of 2010. From the cover, to the first sentence, all the way to the ending - it held me in a way few books do. I am proud to say it both met and surpassed all expectations I had.

    Amy is home alone in California, packing up to drive across the country to her new home in Connecticut with her mother and her twin brother, Charlie. Roger is sent with her to supervise, drive, and hitch a ride to Philadelphia himself. They were old childhood playmates, but they hardly remembered each other. Amy is barely getting over her father's recent death, and Roger is dealing with the harsh break-up of someone he thought he loved. Needless to say, we are met with two needy and complex protagonists, and they give us one heck of a ride.

    What mainly follows is a series of detours. Amy and Roger decide to ride through Yellowstone, bypassing her mother's preplanned route; hotel reservations and MapQuest directions included. With caution thrown to the wind, we see these two characters change and build a relationship unlike any other. Amy deals with fears and her inability to be adventurous, as well as with a not-so-smooth mother/daughter relationship. Roger deals with trying to move on from a relationship that was never quite right, and with his new experiences with Amy.

    The writing and layout of this book was, in one word, perfect. It flowed and had the fun campy quality of Johnson's 13 LITTLE BLUE ENVELOPES and the depth of BECOMING CHLOE. Out of all the road trip novels I have read, this is so far the tops in terms of writing. The reader is also treated to the occasional email or music playlist. Though they don't show up constantly, but just enough to leave a lasting impact. Oh, and the rare receipt thrown in also had a lasting effect. Let me just say that this method ties into the ending in a way that left me utterly reeling with joy.

    Characterization and plot are no strangers to the power of this simple yet complex writing. Amy and Roger grow so slowly, yet exponentially, that the reader is left with a sense of completion upon finishing each chapter. The actions and growth are so subtle, yet hit the reader like the impact of an ocean wave on a tiny plastic boat. Even the side characters are perfect; their formations are great, and they don't ever feel like they are dropped, which is usually the case with novels like this. Even stationary novels have trouble with wrapping up characters, yet Matson does it with an ease and clarity that is appreciated greatly.

    Quotes begin every chapter section and fit together very well with the overall theme of the novel. This book is romantic and cute, but it manages to have several layers to it. The overall themes involving traveling and home and letting go are hit hard and in just the right spots to make the reader think without over-analyzing anything in the text. Even the references in theatre and song that dot the text have meaning aside from the obvious...

    Read the full review at www.teensreadtoo.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Im in love with it!!its one of the best books ever<3

    OMGG!! IM IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK! ITS AMAZING! SO SAD I FINISHED IT :c ughhh!

    Amy feels unwanted by anyone. Shes not herself. She and her family havent talked alot since her father died. Her best froend moved away. Her mother moved to another place and now she has to move soon. She stays in her house with het aunt for a few days. Then she leaves with a boy she met before but has forgot about him. Her mom has given a book to write down where she has been and stuff, and also gave them directions. But they both decide not to follow the directions her mom gave them. They take they're own way. They both feel akward.. especially since roger just broke up with his gf. He plays his playlist. They are late to where they are suppised to get and amy's mom finds out what they are doing and doesnt help them. Amy doesnt have a credit card now. Then they both go to meet rogers ex gf. Which didnt go well for roger... but amy finnaly rode a car. They both realize they had the same feelings for eachother. But at the end.. they both go they're own ways :c which made me cry.


    But they both didnt say goodbye. Which i loved<3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved the journey she takes the two main characters on in this story. Each have reasons for needing time away from everything plaguing them in life. And, what better than a road-trip cross-country to give you a little alone time :)
    I also enjoyed the receipts, maps, music playlists, etc displayed in between chapters. Very original :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious

    This book has made it's way onto my favorites list. I enjoyed every page of it and it had me laughing out loud. I adored Amy's character and she was very relatable as a teenager myself. I absolutely LOVE this book and would recommend it to anyone at any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Very good read no matter what age you are...

    I am 50 years old and was so tired of reading the same old story lines. A friend recommended this book and much to my surprise, I found the story so refreshing. It reminded me of my youth and what a carefree time it was and can be. In this "reading world" of heavy topics, it was nice to re-discover the true meaning of sitting down and relaxing with a book, which is to feel like you can't put it down and when you finish it, feeling the joy of the characters, yet sad that it's over. Can't wait for the next book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Goodish

    The beginning was a little slow and the book was an easy read. Good story though. However the ending really irritated me, left me completely hanging!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    READ!

    This book was quite good, and i would recommend it to teen girls: )

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Amy and Roger's Epic Detour

    Loved it. It is a very happy go lucky book with a little bit of seriousness to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Amy and sonic love story by:Jackie

    Chapter 1 part 1
    One day a pink hedgehog who goes by the name amy rose walked along the street of station spuare while appreciating the beautiful day. If she hadnt of looked up at the sky and smiled seeing the blue sky and some white puffy clouds hovering above the sun shining in the distance it wasnt too hot or too cold the temperature was just right.
    She had a brown paper bag full of food in her hands and was just heading home when she heard someone calling her "amy!" Rouge had flown down and landed in front of amy.


    Part 2 next result and so on....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    I love this book! It makes me want to get out and travel some mo

    I love this book! It makes me want to get out and travel some more! I am way excited to really look at all the travel mixes and create my own based on all the amazing songs. I loved this story more than anything. I would read it again and again. GREAT job!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    AMAZING:)

    I loved it:) it had a great plot and i also loved the scrapbook pages that were included! I hope there's a second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    So, I¿ve been looking through some of my books and realized that

    So, I’ve been looking through some of my books and realized that there are quite a few that I missed reviewing that I wanted to go through and review… so if you see some older books popping up, that is why!




    In some ways I envy Amy.  I mean who didn’t want the chance to start high school over? What high school girl wouldn’t have loved to hop in a car and drive across the country with a hop older guy? Roger is the most amazing guy ever.  And when we first meet Amy? Well, I gotta admit, I didn’t like her. But I started to more and more as the book went on.  She grew on me as I learned more about her and her story. Truly both Roger and Amy get so much out of their ‘detour’ across the US.




    Another contemporary hit that I just loved.  This books was great and such a fun read.  It really makes you want to jump in the car and take off and just go, well, somewhere! A fun story about the unusual places we can find love, if we are just willing to look.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is going to be quite a short review, I fear. I am having d

    This is going to be quite a short review, I fear. I am having difficulty coming up with words for my opinion on Amy &amp; Roger's Epic Detour.

    Amy Curry was in a car accident several months before the start of this story. An accident in which her father died. With her brother, Charlie, shipped off to rehab and her mother across the country setting up a new house...Amy is alone. She is waiting out the end of the school year then will be transported from California to Connecticut. Transported by a virtual stranger. Roger.

    Roger is on his own journey of sorts. Recently the victim of a breakup, he hopes to track down in ex-girlfriend in the hopes of winning her back. Driving Amy cross country is a means to an end.

    What they each find on this trip was and unexpected bond, unexpected feeling and an eventual healing. The healing of Roger's broken heart and Amy's broken soul.

    Amy &amp; Roger's Epic Detour should have been a great story. It could have been filled with great moments, fun filled adventures and heart breaking confessions. Unfortunately, it was filled more with boredom than anything else. The pacing was entirely too slow for me and the playlists at the beginning of most of the chapters had me rolling my eyes. No college kid would have all those songs on his ipod. I'm being nittpicky, I know. Sue me.

    There were a few smiles to be had and a couple of sweet moments but they were far too few. The narrator, Suzy Jackson, did a fine job though...so, there is that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    AMAZING

    Such a cute story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So Amy and Roger, the protagonists of Morgan Matson¿s debut nove

    So Amy and Roger, the protagonists of Morgan Matson’s debut novel, happen to know each other from childhood. They haven’t seen each other for years and still they get to spend a cross country road trip together. It could be fun to meet an old friend. But to be honest, isn’t that the most awkward position to be put into?
    Here starts Amy and Roger’s story, together, as friends, and maybe even more than friends.

    The trip’s goal is to transport the family’s car from California to Connecticut. The stops and route are strictly planned by Amy’s mother. But Amy and Roger ditch all the rules and make stops where they want, do what they feel like. And I simply loved to see them break free. People should do that more often, break free and out of their routine.

    Both Amy and Roger have a lot of thoughts occupying their minds and emotions weighing down their hearts. There are moments that make you laugh out loud. In other moments you simply grief with them. We also learn some details about their families and friends. Especially Amy’s relationships to her mother and brother are important. There's also a great loss that she has to cope with.

    The whole time you are rooting for Amy and Roger to fall in love. And I admired their personalities so much. The tension between them builds and their growing relationship with the variety of different feelings coming along on their road trip is just so enlightening. Amy and Roger meet many new people who are so much fun, but in the end it are the two of them who help each other find the right way.

    A really cool bonus are playlists and cute drawings and photos of their road trip. How fun that Morgan Matson went on that road trip herself. I like that she also followed the way her characters take on their road trip. I immediately felt the need to pack a duffle bag, grab my camera and hit the road, too. AMY &amp; ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR is a book you should totally read before you plan, or maybe not so consciously, plan to go on a road trip!

    THE VERDICT

    AMY &amp; ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR – Detours have never been so much fun before. Morgan Matson wrote a book packed with LOL-worthy, sweet, adventurous and insightful moments!

    A fun detour? Yes! It’s the contrast between doing the thing you are supposed to, following your heart and living the way you feel that makes AMY &amp; ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR such a tempting read. This novel gifts you with the spirit of a fabulous road trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Amazing

    This is one of my absolute favorites. It is a definite must read for teens, and i could not find it in me to put the book down. I was hooked on it and had it finished in no time. Read it. You will NOT be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Morgan Matson's "Amy and Roger's Epic Detour" is a mus

    Morgan Matson's &quot;Amy and Roger's Epic Detour&quot; is a must read for any travel fans out there.
    Matson's protagonists, Amy and Roger, were both well-developed and likable characters and
    the romance that unfolded between them was sweet, albeit in a somewhat predictable YA fashion,
    but the book also touched upon more serious topics such as Amy's grief over her father's dad and
    trying to move on from it. You definitely emphasize with her during those parts, and I felt Amy's grief
    was definitely presented in a realistic and touching way. One of my favorite parts were the musical
    playlists and memento-like entries that added a nice touch to the book while I was reading. I would
     definitely recommend this to any contemporary YA fans who just want to read a light, simple, but
    sweet read. After reading Matson's book, it definitely made me go on a road trip! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12