Customer Reviews for

An Affair to Dismember

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Totally a five star book. Bad things first. Her dress is the wro

    Totally a five star book. Bad things first. Her dress is the wrong color. She doesn't have sex. And the best storyline in the book doesn't finish.
    Good things. It is freakin' hilarious!!! Its a fun mystery. Crazy characters. There are no boring slow times. The mystery is an interesting one. The crazy and the hot are all terrific characters. I cannot imagine how Elise will keep up this pace.
    I really enjoyed this read.
    Only a couple of fun quotes.
    "He had me there. I was a big fat liar with my pants on fire."
    "I felt his breath on the back of my neck and right there and then, I began to ovulate."
    I really enjoyed this story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Marissa Book provided by: Edelweiss Review original

    Reviewed by: Marissa
    Book provided by: Edelweiss
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book




    This was a most amazing and amusing book and I decided I had to share it with everyone. I love getting in on the beginning of a new series, especially one that has all the elements I love: mystery and romance with a little bit of humor thrown in. Reading this one gave me a nice case of the warm fuzzies and I’m hoping to pass them along…




    Gladie is a character made just for me. She’s in her late twenties but has no direction in her life (neither did I at that age). Since most romance novels tend to feature their female leads as strong and career-oriented (lawyers, chefs, doctors – all those jobs that take training and career planning), I’ve always had a hard time identifying with them. Now I’m given a woman with no long-term goals, where three weeks in one job is deemed a lifetime, and who faints at the sight of blood. She’s moved into her grandmother’s house and is training to take over the matchmaking business and before long has two handsome men interested in her well-being. Let’s not forget the way her eyes dilate when she sees Spencer, the hot new police chief in town, and Holden, the handsome new next-door neighbor with the mysterious background (and what great names are those, huh?). Hubba, hubba.




    Within the space of one week, Gladie is stuck on a telephone pole, kidnapped, threatened, steals a police car, finds a dead body, gets shot at, and gets kissed by the dreamy neighbor. Like I said, I love getting in on a new series – and this one promises to be a doozy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    good book

    good book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't wait for the next book in the series! ¿An Affair to Dis

    I can't wait for the next book in the series!

    “An Affair to Dismember” is a laugh out loud, entertaining book from debut author Elise Sax.  She introduces us to Gladie Burger, a woman who is training to take over her grandmother Zelda’s Matchmaking business although Gladie seems to think she is better cut out to find the murderer of her neighbor who the police do not believe has been murdered.




     Gladie interacts with a variety of interesting, crazy and in some cases sexy people in her pursuit of finding out what really happened in the fictional town of Cannes, California where her eccentric grandmother lives and Gladie has moved to.  We meet her friends Bridget and Lucy who love to get involved in all Gladie does.  Then there is the new neighbor, the sexy Arthur Holden who you never find out what he does for a living and the delicious Chief of Police, Spencer Bolton who is one of the people always coming to Gladies rescue whenever she gets in over her head.




    I don’t want to repeat what others have written but I do want to say that you will be pulled in to the story and want to meet and become friends with most of the characters in this book.  Yes, being a fan of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, I too see the parallels to her stories but I do think it is a compliment to both of them to compare the style.  There is enough different though that I can’t wait for the next book in the Matchmaker series, “Matchpoint” due out in July 2013, to find out who Gladie will want to spend more time with, Spencer or Arthur (who goes by Holden), and just what is it that Holden does.  Will Gladie become the matchmaker grandmother Zelda thinks she is cut out to be or will she keep getting caught up in other peoples “issues” and keep expanding her horizons helping others with their unsolved problems?  I guess I will just have to read the next book in the series to find out what happens next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Im torn alittle about this book

    Ok. So i loved and hated this book. I loved the mystery part of the book. You kept changing who you thought the killer was. And what happened with the killer at the end was a twist. This book is also very well written. I loved all the people even the crazy ones. Now the romance part of the book. Shes trying to chose between one hot mystery guy and one sexy cop. I liked how you went back and forth on who you wanted her to be with. But the part I hated was how at the end she left the romance part was left wide open. I read this book in one and half days because i wated to know who the killer was and which man she was going to pick. So when it was left unsaid i felt cheated. Im going to guess a secound book will come out but now i have to think about weather i want to take the risk and read it and possably be left with another unfinished ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    this book was so funny!!!   i really liked it but it like zany,

    this book was so funny!!!   i really liked it but it like zany, and crazy.   I think its worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious and fun, this book was impossible to put down!  Gladie

    Hilarious and fun, this book was impossible to put down!  Gladie moves to California to be with her grandmother who wants her to take over the family business.  But when her neighbor is found murdered, Gladie is determined to find out who the murderer is.  With the help (or distraction) of two hunky men, she ends up biting off a little more than she can chew.




    The characters in this book are incredibly well written.  They are witty, beautiful, quirky and a whole lot of fun.  Just like someone you'd more than likely find yourself friends with.  Gladie is a great lead, comparable to Stephanie Plum in just about every way.  Her two suitors, Holden and Spencer, are exciting, a bit mysterious, and super sexy!  The secondary characters round out the story with humor and intrigue.




    Remarkably well written, this classic whodunnit mystery is a fantastic first in what looks to be a promising new series.  

    Reviewed by Marie for Cocktails and Books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I was happy to meet Gladie Burger as she tries out a new town a

    I was happy to meet Gladie Burger as she tries out a new town and career after a lifetime of wandering. Staying with her grandma Zelda and learning the matchmaker trade from the ground up would seem easy enough, but crazy neighbors, cute police and a possible murder pave the way for Gladie's madcap adventure. I liked the title, the storyline wasn't too easy to figure out and I will definitely follow Gladie on her next adventure. To say she's like Stephanie Plum is almost unfair. Gladie's her own person, surrounded by some great, zany characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Please read

    I enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Funny! Can't wait for the next one!

    One of the best books I've read. Hysterical! Janet Evanovich has some stiff competition. I love the humor mixed in the relationship. This is an author I will automatically purchase every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    love this book

    can't put this book down, funny, funny. would certainly recommend this for any day of the week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Disappointed

    I did not like this book at all, it was really hard to get through. There is such a thing as too much detail - way too much down to silly things. It barely made sense at times. I would not read anything by this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Very Funny

    If you enjoy Stephanie Plumb books you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Silly story, silly characters.

    Very little romance. Waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Dfrfgvvvgvgvvvtgtgtfrcrxrdfxffrcfxrdrxfxfxfxfxfxfxfxdxdxfxfxfxxfxfxfxfxfxfxfxfxdxdxdxdxfxfxfxdxdxdxdxfxfxfxfxfxfcdxdxd$"$"$"$""4"4'4"4'4%4"4"4"uccrccrvrctcttfrxcrfrfrrfffrfrcr gftcgcfrxexgcgvccrrxrxexcrccrcrcffxrxxf cgvr vgvv g tctccgvgctftffhfb

    Cd hhhnxcdjd


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Awful

    This book was terrible! The main character is written to seem so ditzy and helpless. The plot didnt even make sense and then it just comes to an end with no real suspense. Not worth the paper it was written on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    SEXY!!!!!!!!

    This book is sexy sexy sexy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh my gosh how funny and wonderfully entertaining is this book.

    Oh my gosh how funny and wonderfully entertaining is this book. Pages 70-74 are writing genus.
    It was uncontrollable laughter of the best kind. I love Gladie and her dealings with Spencer, now he is all together
    Something else and what about Holden, the "guy next door"? Good mystery as well. Loved the book and looking forward to 
    Reading the next one and more from this author. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Matchmaker Series by Elise Sax.  I

    This is the first book in the Matchmaker Series by Elise Sax.  I was intrigued when I saw the first book, enough so that I was thrilled to be part of the Bewitching Book Tour for Matchpoint, the second book in the series.  This gave me the push to move An Affair to Dismember to the top of my TBR pile.

    The story opens with Gladys "Gladie" Burger going through her grandmother's attic office, researching and updating Zelda's Matchmaking Services records.  Zelda, Gladie's eccentric grandmother, had called Gladie home to the small mountain town of Cannes, California three months prior to join the matchmaking business. Zelda assures Gladie that she has the gift to be a matchmaker.  Since Gladie has spent the last 10 years going from job to job across the country every few months, it didn't take much for her to decide to move back home.  As of the beginning of the book, Gladie has been in training for about 3 months, has yet to make 1 match and has gotten a little to comfortable in her role as her grandmother's trainee.

    All that is about to change however.  Starting with her climbing a telephone pole to rescue an owl, getting stuck and showing off her pink Victoria's secret boy shorts underpants to what feels like the entire police force and fire department of Cannes when they come to rescue her. It is here that she meets the Chief of Police and hottie, Spencer.  Later that day Gladie finds out that the house next to her grandmother's has been sold to a wealthy, single mysterious man named Holden.  Add to that, some how Gladie has gotten sucked into "looking into" the death of the across the street neighbor Randy Terns.

    This book was a hilarious mix of misunderstandings, miscommunication, misdirection and mistaken identity. It felt like a cross between a Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum and Toni McGee Causey's Bobby Faye  - basically laugh out loud action from start to finish.  If you don't find yourself laughing during this book, you might want to get you sense of humor checked.  I had to give this book 5 stars on Goodreads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    So, when I got the email about this book, I don¿t think I got mu

    So, when I got the email about this book, I don’t think I got much past the line of appeals to fans of Janet Evanovich.  A bit of a perusal and I thought, this really does sound a lot like a Stephanie Plum book.  I have a great love of Stephanie Plum, so I thought, I’d give it a shot.




    Well Gladie isn’t Stephanie by a long shot, but, she could be her west coast cousin. Gladie is fun and stuff seems to follow her around and happen, and she just can’t seem to keep a job. I mean she seems to spend the better part of the book hyperventilating because she has been with her grandmother for 3 months.  In the span of one week,  Gladie,  ends up stuck on a telephone pole, kidnapped, threatened, steals a police car, finds a dead body, gets shot at, and gets kissed by the dreamy neighbor. She doesn’t have it together and between Spencer the new police chief in town and Holden her new neighbor, she even has guys falling all over her.  I mean seriously, I’d like to have those kinds of problems, sort of!




    It defiantly had echoes of Stephanie Plum, but hey… all good books have to start somewhere.  I try not to let this kind of thing bother me, so I enjoyed to book.  If that kind of thing bothers you, this series may not be for you.




    This was defiantly a fun read and one that I really enjoyed.  I am not looking forward to book #2, and can add another series to my shelf.  Oh, and now I have to choose a t-shirt, Team Spencer or Team Holden, FYI for now the jury is still out.  (But in case you have missed the message, I’m 100% Team Morelli!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2