Customer Reviews for

An Alpha's Path

Average Rating 3.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Weretastic Romance!

Carrie Ann Ryan and her debut story are AWESOME! This is a short, paranormal romance that will heat your heart up and turn you into a forever fan! With an amazingly created alpha hero and a heroine that will tug at your heart strings, this is one story that you won't wa...
Carrie Ann Ryan and her debut story are AWESOME! This is a short, paranormal romance that will heat your heart up and turn you into a forever fan! With an amazingly created alpha hero and a heroine that will tug at your heart strings, this is one story that you won't want to miss!

Kade Jamieson is one HOT wolf! Oh my gosh. As I sat there reading his description in the story, my jaw dropped. He was absolutely yummy sounding!!!! And, after having just broken up with whom he thought was his life's mate, I just wanted to put myself in Melanie's shoes and wrap my arms around the hunky man and give him a hug! The attraction he felt to Melanie, though, was instant and steamy! WOW!

I loved the way Kade treated Melanie....like he treasured her. He's over a 100 years old (after all, he's a wolf.....) and really knew how to treat a sexy woman. I loved the way he had conversations in his head with his wolf self. Hehehe. It really made for a bit of comedy in the story :-).

Poor Melanie. She's got her PhD but absolutely no social life, save for her best friend. And what that best friend intends to set Melanie up for a blind date....well, I could feel Melanie's inner turmoil at not wanting that. But, in the end, she accepted, and what happens after that....well she met a sexy, gorgeous, takes-your-breath-away kind man, who happens to have a secret.

I loved watching these two amazing characters interact. And with a few awesome secondary characters, I really hope that this won't be the end (pssst....check out Carrie's website....you'll see it's NOT the end...I can't wait for Spring of 2012!). Carrie Ann's debut is a rockin' one and shouldn't be missed by anyone who loves a fantastic paranormal romance filled with hot passion scenes and gorgeous man-wolves. Definitely a 5 Book worthy keeper in my opinion!

posted by ReviewsByMolly on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

So so

Hot and steamy. Poor editing. Only 55 pages, a full story would have been more enjoyable.

posted by 11034976 on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Crappy editing but an ok story

    The story was only 59 pages so it was a quick read. Author seems able to do the steamier parts better than the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    A Must

    A really good book but short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Pretty good

    I really like this series as well....it heats up and gets better as you go along dont stop with this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    This book is a nice little quickie! It starts off with Mel&rsqu

    This book is a nice little quickie! It starts off with Mel’s BFF telling her how much she needs to get laid and trying to talk her into a blind date. Then we move right onto said date. It’s sweet and hot, providing a very satisfying experience for them both, until morning comes. I can’t decide what really fuels the spark in the conflict more, him not telling her he was a werewolf, or the moment he does tell her. One hurts her, and the other scares her, but the result is the same either way…she runs.

    Then they’re faced with another problem – that is, another werewolf – claiming Melanie for himself, and from Kade’s own pack even! The ensuing showdown still does nothing to help Mel sort anything out, and everyone winds up miserable. It gets better though when others conspire to give them a good kick in the ass to reconcile the situation.

    The character building was lacking a bit, and it started off pretty slow, but it was only slow to start because we’re given a fair helping of sex first, so I suppose I will let that one slide *devilish grin*. The fight over potential mates seemed a little silly and barbaric though, but then I’m not a werewolf with age-old traditions and more baser, primal instincts to contend with.

    In the end, while I enjoyed the book, I think it would have been worth adding a little more length to the book to include more character development and world building.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Poor editing but wonderfully dirty

    This has to be the dirtyest book ive ever read and its only 55 pages long. The editing was terrible and the dialoge was aweful. Kade sounded like one of those horrible russian to english digital translators. Dirty from page 5 and definatly x rated. Buy it for a predate warmup not a heartwarming romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kade Jamenson is the first son of the Redwood Pack's Alpha, thus

    Kade Jamenson is the first son of the Redwood Pack's Alpha, thus an Alpha himself and heir to the Redwood Pack. With the help of his brother Jasper, and Larissa (a witch), they set Kade up on a blind date with Melanie (Larissa's best friend). But what Kade isn't aware of, until he meets Melanie, is that she could be his mate.

    Melanie is hesitant about a blind date but her friend Larissa insists that she needs to let loose, at least for one night. That one night, however, changes everything for Melanie. Not only does she learn about what Kade is and that she is a possible mate for him, but she finds out that she could be a possible mate for another werewolf from the Redwood pack as well. And because of that, she must choose between them. But Melanie is too smart and sensible to make such a decision without a lot of careful consideration, no matter what her heart tells her.

    Because I read A Taste for a Mate, book two in the Redwood Pack series, prior to reading this one, I find myself wanting to compare the two a little bit. I think An Alpha's Path was a little better written, as there wasn't a repetition of words or phrases in it like A Taste for a Mate had. But on the other hand, A Taste for a Mate was more action packed, more suspenseful. There were a number of mistakes in the writing as well, though nothing that I found particularly distracting.

    I sort of wish that the main instance of conflict in the story had been a little more intense, more drawn out maybe. It wasn't as exciting as I hoped it would be but I didn't mind the way the conflict ended. Plus, I suppose that the romance lover in me would have liked the story to be a little longer. I'd have loved to see Melanie and Kade get to know each other better. I wasn't quite ready for it to end where it did either. :) But at least, there is a little more to Kade's and Melanie's story in A Taste for a Mate. And, with any luck, maybe there will be a little more to their story in Trinity Bound, book three in the Redwood Pack series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Ho Short and hot!!!

    Love anything with werewolves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    To short of a book but still good

    Good book but it was too short needs more than 55 pages over all story was good though just needs to be longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Alpha┬┐s Path was a short and sexy escape into the world of werewolves.

    Melanie is a career driven young woman who has spent way too much time working and not enough time playing. So when her best friend convinces her to go on a blind date Melanie reluctantly agrees. What could one night with no strings attached hurt? Nothing could prepare her for this tall stranger whose sensuality radiated off him in waves though. Agreeing to this crazy hook-up by his brother, Kade is ready to blow off some steam. After losing one potential mate, one wild night with a beautiful stranger is looking pretty good to him right now. But as soon as Kade walks into the bar him and his wolf senses his mate is close, and surprisingly turns out to be his date for the night. After experiencing the best night of their lives, Kade spills his secrets. But is it too much for this human woman to handle? When a potential rival for Melanie’s affections shows up, Kade’s future looks bleak. Will giving Melanie time to decide on a future with him bring her back to his arms, or will she end up in another’s? An Alpa’s Path was a good read and a fun novella with a heart-throbbingly sexy alpha wolf. I felt Kade was wonderfully written and I was easily captivated by him. He see’s Melanie and knows she is the one for him but is understanding about her uncertainties and even though it kills him he gives her the space she needs, hoping that she will eventually come back to him. I wasn’t too keen on the heroine, Melanie, though or her indecisive ways but she was smart and quirky. Their one wild night of fun definitely didn’t lack in the sexiness department and is sure to get readers all fired up. The plot moved at a good pace, never a lull, while the supporting characters are appealing and left me wanting to read more of their own stories. All together, An Alpha’s Path was a nice introduction to the Redwood Pack and an entertaining quickie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3