Customer Reviews for

An American Son: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

"an american son" is very hard to put down and shows w

"an american son" is very hard to put down and shows what an individuel can do whean they come to this country with hard word and good values and listen to their parents and grandparents wisdom such is the amazing life life of senator marco rubio. his parents ...
"an american son" is very hard to put down and shows what an individuel can do whean they come to this country with hard word and good values and listen to their parents and grandparents wisdom such is the amazing life life of senator marco rubio. his parents saw promince in this young boy and knew he could make a life for himself so they got him to america were he became successful in college football and law firms and became a carismatic politican all from listening to the advice of his parents and grand parents and showing that hard work pays off. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

posted by storms1 on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Heavy Spin & Hypocrisy

A heavily spun story of an immigrant boy makes good who then goes on to try and deny the same opportunities to others from similar background. Interesting piece of fiction.

posted by 2041512 on June 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    "an american son" is very hard to put down and shows w

    "an american son" is very hard to put down and shows what an individuel can do whean they come to this country with hard word and good values and listen to their parents and grandparents wisdom such is the amazing life life of senator marco rubio. his parents saw promince in this young boy and knew he could make a life for himself so they got him to america were he became successful in college football and law firms and became a carismatic politican all from listening to the advice of his parents and grand parents and showing that hard work pays off. great gift idea for a friend or family member.

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    A must read!!!

    I could not put it down and read it in one evening as I received it last night. It is wonderful to read how true he is to his values, his family, God and country. You can feel his sincerity and passion in his words. We definitely need more leaders like him in Congress. I am grateful that he saw it through and won the senatorial race. He stared adversity in the face and forged ahead. Thank you Senator Rubio for becoming a great voice in this nation and I look forward to the day you serve as President of the United States. God bless you and your family.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Stories like this are what obama a the lib-tards are afraid of !

    Stories like this are what obama a the lib-tards are afraid of !!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Heavy Spin & Hypocrisy

    A heavily spun story of an immigrant boy makes good who then goes on to try and deny the same opportunities to others from similar background. Interesting piece of fiction.

    6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Dont waste your time

    5 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Timing

    So interesting he wrote his book, and had it published now. Vice Pres nominee hopeful much?

    5 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Great read

    This book shows us that anything is possible in this great country as long as yu work hard.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    An American Son

    An enjoyable story of a down-to-earth guy that was willing to make sacrifices in order to succeed

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    Great Read from a Rising Star!

    This is a great read. Marco Rubio doesn't sugar coat anything...he admits to his faults and downplays his strenghts...very realistic about his career and his personal life. So open and compelling...that's why he's a rising Conservative politican and policy maker. So young to have such deep insights into himself, his career, and our country's founding and what America needs to continue to be the leader of the free world!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    A very encouraging and happy read. How wonderful to see that dreams can be accomplished with hard work, dedication and integrity and how it can be handed down from one generation to another. NO MORE EXCUSES!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Recommended

    This is an insightful story of a son of immigrant parents. Shows the qualities and character that are needed in a leader. The beginning of the book was a bit slow, but tempo picks up as you read further along. The book caused me to stop and think of how fortunate I am to be a citizen of the USA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    In spite of the one-star critics who probably didn't read the book, but just expressed their bias, I read it completely. I didn't know much about Rubio before, but I do now and I like what I discovered. Rubio is open and honest about his mistakes (public and private) and he's still a US Senator. That's amazing. He is a strong family man who loved his parents and grandparents who immigrated from Cuba to the US in 1956. He credits them wich everything he has accomplished. He is a man of faith who is not ashamed to express his convictions. I believe he is very bright and competent. Would I vote for him for President? Not sure yet, but I lean more in that direction than I did before I read his book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK i LAUGHED I CRIED I WAS SO INS

    I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK i LAUGHED I CRIED
    I WAS SO INSPIRED

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2014

    Very well spoken.

    I love the care in which he talks about his family as well as his love for this country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Another son of Fidel Castro!!!

    Another son of Fidel Castro!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Great book

    A RISING STAR A GREAT MAN HOPE HE WILL BE OUR PRESIDENT ONE OF THESE DAYS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    R A book written by a polirician worthy of reading!

    A very good story, well said

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    BETTER THAN MOST AUTOBIOGRAPHYS

    I FELT I GOT TO KNOW MARCO RUBIO AND I LIKE HIM VERY MUCH. IT'S A GOOD FAST EASY READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This is a real good book and tells about Marco Rubio's early life and some about how state elections work and why he decided to became a congressman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    An outstanding book. One of the best bio I have ever read. A totally honest reveal of his life and personality. He hides nothing. Reveals both his good points and his bad points. While I admired Marco Rubio before, now I admire him even more. He is no born and bred politician. He came from the bottom up and overcame numerous obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2