BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Amish Kitchen

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    A wonderful read!

    I loved this book! It was writen by three of my favorite amish authors. There are three different novella's in this book. You won't be dissapointed if like the writing of kelly long, amy clipston, or beth wiseman. The only thing i would have liked better is if they would have been full length novels. Novella's are sometimes too short and i'd rather read a novel. Anyway,,,good authors and good stories. I hope they all keep writing! No doubt a 5 star!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    An Amish Kitchen is a collection of novellas following the stori

    An Amish Kitchen is a collection of novellas following the stories of a group of characters who live in Paradise, Pennsylvania. In each story the kitchen plays a huge part, which is the center of the Amish home. From mixing herbal remedies to running a bed and breakfast to working in close quarters with family the characters featured in An Amish Kitchen find the kitchen to be places of love, hope and family.




    As with most other story collections, the stories of these characters are intertwined and all the main characters make appearances in each story.  I really enjoy reading collections like these because I really like being able to follow characters after their main story is told. This group of stories is well written and flows together really well even though there are 3 different authors. My only complaint is that these stories, like most in these types of collections, each seem to be a rushed story.  I’d love to be able to go a little more in depth into each story, but then the book would probably be 1,000 pages long…of course then it would take me 3 times as long to read. Overall I really enjoyed reading this book.




    Oh yeah, I forgot to mention something super important. At the end of the book, there is a collection of 45 Old Order Amish recipes many of which make an appearance in the stories.  Some of the recipes included are soft pretzels, pumpkin whoopee pies, cream celery and quilter’s salad.  I can’t wait to try my hand at some of these recipes. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Good Book

    I loved the fun in this book. I also loved the recipes at the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2014

    This makes a nice addition to my bookshelf. Not my favorite type

    This makes a nice addition to my bookshelf. Not my favorite type of book, but it was sweet enough. The book features 3 stories (each written by a different author). Here are some quick thoughts on each story.

    "A Taste of Faith" by Kelly Long
    The story of Fern Zook, a young woman who lives with her grandmother, who teaches her about medicinal, herbal remedies. It is a charming enough story of the romance that buds between Fern and one of the young men in her Amish community.

    "A Spoonful of Love" by Amy Clipston
    My favorite selection of the 3 in this book. It's about Hannah King, a woman who is not searching for love, but finds it anyway, right on the doorstep of her bed-and-breakfast inn.

    "A Recipe for Hope" by Beth Wiseman
    A story of forgiveness, between a middle-aged woman and her mother, learning to love each other again. And that is in the midst of raising three teenage boys, all in 'rumschpringe' at once.

    Overall, these were sweet stories for adult readers to enjoy. I love how the characters were tied together between the 3 stories (the women featured in each story know each other because they all live in the same community). For anyone who really enjoys Amish fiction, this book would probably be a treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Pretty, pretty words! A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long I have rea

    Pretty, pretty words!

    A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long
    I have read two other Amish fiction compilations with works provided by Kelly, and in the past her story has always been my least favorite. This time, her words reached me in a way they haven't before, and A Taste of Faith has become my absolute favorite piece of Amish fiction.

    A Taste of Faith is the unexpected romance between earthy, loving Fern and bachelor Abram. Believing he knows what love is, and that he wants nothing to do with it, Abram has closed himself off from the possibility of a wife and marriage. In fact, he sees himself as married to his fields which is so very telling. Watching as these two get to know each other and develop a strong relationship was such a beautiful experience. And for Christian fiction, there was a little more touchy-feely than I'm used to.

    This story is filled with a beautiful sense of romance but the family love expressed through both Fern and Abram is just as wonderful. Truly a gorgeous story. I will be purchasing a hardcover of this book simply to have this story on my shelf.

    A Spoonful of Love by Amy Clipston
    I've been a fan of Amy since I started reading her Kauffman Amish Bakery series, and Spoonful lived up to what I expected. While this story has a lovely string of romantic love running through it, the larger story has to do with family and forgiveness. Slightly dark yet beautiful, A Spoonful of Love will pull strong emotions from you, both painful and uplifting. My only complaint about this story is that the ending is a bit rushed, though that often happens in short stories. It's not enough to make me unhappy with the overall piece.

    A Recipe for Hope by Beth Wiseman
    Powerful and real, A Recipe of Hope is all about the love of family and what happens when that love isn't cared for properly. Between Eve and her mother, with their strained relationship and judgment of each other, to a brotherly bond stretched beyond its breaking point, Beth takes us on a journey of family, faith and hope. Truly wonderful and inspiring...it'll make you want to call your mother to remind her how much she means to you.

    All three stories in this book have a common thread of love and family weaved through them. All three are beautiful in their own right, and each one works well with the other two to provide the readers with an emotional journey through Paradise, Pennsylvania. I give this book four and a half stars. This is definitely one to keep on the bookshelf to re-read when those bonds between friends, lovers and family become strained. The book also contains 45 Amish recipes which I look forward to trying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    I got this book as a "fun read" while I was sick. I w

    I got this book as a "fun read" while I was sick. I was, unfortunately, unable to get a hard copy and had to settle for a kindle addition. Generally, I don't read Kindle books very often (I love the feel of a "real book"), but this was very enjoyable. They weren't the best stories I have ever read, but I enjoyed the simple little tales of Amish life.

    A collection of three stories by well known authors, I think anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful read will enjoy these.

    A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long documents the story of Fern, who loves plants and their healing properties. The story follows the many appearances of Abram and his injured sister. Why does he keep showing up?

    A Spoonful of Love by Amy Clipston tells the story Hannah, who runs Paradise Inn with her parents. She has resigned herself to a life alone, caring for her little home. However, one day a stranger arrives who seems to be a great man. What will her father think?

    A Recipe of Hope by Beth Wiseman centers around Eve and her Mother. As they cook they can't seem to agree on anything. As her mother fails, will Eve find a way to help her?


    Score ~ ¿¿¿
    Violence ~ 0
    Indecency ~ 2
    Language ~ 0
    Age ~ Women, Ages 17 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    An Amish Kitchen was an enjoyable read. It is a compilation of t

    An Amish Kitchen was an enjoyable read. It is a compilation of three stories written by Kelly Long, Amy Clipston and Beth Wiseman. All are set in the town of Paradise, PA and have characters in common.

    In the first story, A Taste of Faith, Abram is left with the care of his younger siblings for a month while his parents have been called away. He finds himself attracted to Deborah, known as Fern, who works as a healer in their district. Abram has negative views about marriage and Fern has been hurt by a man before. They must both overcome their fears if they have a chance together.

    The second story, A Spoonful of Love, Hannah runs a bed and breakfast while struggling to feel that she cannot gain her mother's approval. Stephen moves to the area, stays at the bed and breakfast and becomes the handyman. He is running away from some very painful memories and the feeling that he has done too much wrong to be forgiven. Can Hannah help him understand that God's forgiveness is available to all?

    In the third story, A Recipe for Hope, Eve stuggles to connect with a mother she only felt close to when they were cooking. Her mother, Rosemary, struggles with change and an illness. There is more turmoil between Eve's children as they must deal with their actions and learn forgiveness.

    I liked the stories and found them to be a quick and easy read with good messages of forgiveness and the importance of family. I was provided a copy of An Amish Kitchen by Thomas Nelson Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Amish Kitchen Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston & Kelly Long Book

    Amish Kitchen

    Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston & Kelly Long

    Book Description: The Amish Kitchen is the Heart of the Home – and the Ideal Setting for Stories of Love and Hope. Fall in Paradise, Pennsylvania, always brings a brisk change in the weather. This season also ushers in unexpected visitors, new love, and renewed hope for three women. Fern has a green thumb for growing healing herbs, but longs for love to bloom in her life. Then the next-door neighbor’s oldest son, Abram, comes running into Fern’s kitchen seeking help for his little sister. The crisis soon leads to a promise of romance—until mistrust threatens to end the growing attraction. Nearby, Hannah runs her parents’ bed and breakfast, Paradise Inn—but her life feels nothing like Paradise. She longs for a man of integrity to enter her life, but never expected him to knock on the front door looking for a room. Will she be able trust Stephen with her future once she discovers his mysterious past? When a storm blows a tree onto Eve’s farmhouse, she has little choice but to temporarily move her family into her parents’ home. Outside of cooking together in the kitchen, Eve and her mother can’t agree on anything. But this may be just the recipe for hope in healing old wounds.

    Review: This was a fun trilogy. The stories stayed with me even when I went on to my next book. I was getting these stories confused with what I was currently reading, which is the mark of good storytelling. Fern’s story was a lot of fun. It reminds me that even when one thinks there time for marriage is gone and are surprised to find that not to be true. I cried, laughed and rejoiced with all these characters. They truly were their own stories and yet they overlapped with just the right amount of blending to make it believable. Hannah’s story was exciting to see how these two unique characters were going to get along. Hannah’s parents were enjoyable and provided for a cute side story. I liked Eve and felt a bit of connection to her challenges at home. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    I would like to thank Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AN AMISH KITCHEN by Beth Wiseman,Amy Clipston and Kelly Long is

    AN AMISH KITCHEN by Beth Wiseman,Amy Clipston and Kelly Long is a wonderful inspirational Amish Romance set in Paradise, Pennsylvania. For a glimpse of hope,delicious Old Order Amish recipes,family,faith,and love follow three women on a journey of forgiveness and healing. Fern,Hannah and Eve will bring a joy to your heart as each struggle for hope,second chances and another chance at love.Written by three powerful and talented authors comes three compelling and endearing novellas of faith,courage,and love. A story set in the heart of the home-the kitchen. A must read for Amish readers as well as romance readers. Received for an honest review from the publisher.


    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: April, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fern and Abram not getting in the love. Abram is taking care of

    Fern and Abram not getting in the love. Abram is taking care of his siblings for a amount of time. He is always turning to her for something. The way they get together is quite different from any other way and I really enjoyed it.

    Each book or story in the book is different. They found their romance differently form each one. Each story tell a different story. I like this some for that means there are three different ways. Each one is a wonderful read and enjoyment. You can read it if you like and decide for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommend this book.

    Enjoyed these stories. A good read for short stories. Very well written. Will read more books by these authors. I also love the recipes in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    An Amish Kitchen is three mini novellas. Each is a separate stor

    An Amish Kitchen is three mini novellas. Each is a separate story, but the other characters are briefly mentioned in each story. There is also a reader's guide & lots of Amish recipes at the end of the book which would be lots of fun to try - if I were a better cook!




    The first story is about Fern, an Amish healer, the second is about Hannah, who runs her family's bed and breakfast while taking care of aging parents, and the third, the longest one in the book, is about Eve and her extended family.




    I think I liked the first story the best - I could relate to Fern a lot, I liked the pacing of the story, & I liked how it ended. I also liked the story about Hannah, but I didn't like the pacing of the story as much & I felt the ending was cut very, very short - so much so, that the ending actually ruined the whole story for me, and if I had to rate just the middle story, I'd only give it two stars. I felt like I was being teased, and I didn't feel like I read the whole tale. Without giving anything away, I also really felt like the conflict in the story was solved way too quickly & not very realistically. 




    The last story, about Eve's family, was a very emotional one for me. Her mother suffer's from Parkinson's disease, which in a lot of ways is similar to Alzheimer's, which runs in my family. I was brought to tears more than once by certain parts, and I also laughed out loud at some of the parts!












    I received this book to read & review through the book sneeze program for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Three wonderful Amish stories to draw you in: A Taste of Faith b

    Three wonderful Amish stories to draw you in:
    A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long
    A Spoonful of Love by Amy Clipston
    A Recipe For Hope by Beth Wiseman

    The first by Kelly Long, is about a girl who is very talented with healing, but very little self esteem. She has been put down by others, and feels she is to ugly and fat to ever have a husband.

    The second by Amy Cliptson is about forgiveness. A sin is a sin, God forgives us. We just need to ask, but the hardest part is forgiving ourselves. This one is about a man who feels he let his fiancé down, when she was killed in a buggy accident. He comes to Paradise and comes to the Kings B&B. A sweet story of returning to God and finding forgiveness.

    The third is by Beth Wiseman
    The last is also a story of forgiveness. Eve and Ben move into her parents home while there home is being repaired, a tree fell on it during a storm. There are the five of them going to live with her parents...there is a love triangle, and some old child abuse.
    Will this family be able to get rid of old and new hurts, and have a good relationship?

    These are three really good stories, and a very fast afternoon read.
    Then there are the mouth watering recipes at the end...several going on my list!

    I received this book through the Booksneeze Blogger Program, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    An Amish Kitchen is a collection of novellas set around Paradise

    An Amish Kitchen is a collection of novellas set around Paradise, Pennsylvania. The first novella is A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long and is the story of Fern and her grandmother. Both are homeopathic doctors to their small Amish community. For major issues/illnesses they refer to a doctor in the nearby town. Fern treats a member of the Fisher family and seems to notice Abram Fisher as if for the first time. She knows he wouldn't ever notice her but still her heart flips at the sound of his voice. 




    Will they fall in love? Will they both realize the mutual attraction? Will they be soft enough to move towards each other when life gets hard? 




    The second novella is A spoonful of Love by Amy Clipston. It is the story of Hannah King. Hannah operates a Bed and Breakfast in the town of Paradise, PA.  What will happen  when an Amish bachelor comes to stay? What will other people think when Hannah, an unwed woman, rents him a room indefinitely? 




    The final story is A Recipe For Hope by Beth Wiseman. It is the story of Eve Bender who is moving back in with her parents at the age of thirty-eight.  Not because of her husband's passing but due to damage to their house from a storm.  What will happen during the 2 months they are living with Eve's parents? What will happen when Elias sneaks out at night? 




    The best part of this book, and a large part of the "Why" I requested this book is the recipes in the back. I haven't had a chance to try any yet. I've not even had much chance to skim through all of them so I'm hoping they are what I would consider "authentic Amish" recipes i.e. they don't use prepackaged, processed food stuff. 




    I found each of the stories to be so predictable as to be boring. Why continue reading a book when you know from the first sentence how the plot will work out and how the whole thing ends? In talking with other friends, we commiserated about books about the Amish for this very reason. They are so predictable. 




    So if you like recipes and are looking for new ones, this might be a good book for you.  I do think you should read the book to find out for yourself and make up your own mind. 




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!!!

    A great book and a fast reading. Just wish the authhors would continue the stories, especially Beth Wiseman. The recipes sound yummy, and I'm planning making a few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    3 beautiful stories plus 45 Amish recipes There are three beaut

    3 beautiful stories plus 45 Amish recipes

    There are three beautiful stories in this book, A Taste of Faith by Kelly Long, A Spoonful of Love by Amy Clipston and A Recipe for Hope by Beth Wiseman. Each story is about a different family in Paradise, Pennsylvania, they are all friends with the ladies meeting on Saturday afternoons at The Daily Bread for a time of fellowship and prayer.




    A Taste of Faith is the story of Fern, single and living with her grandmother who raised her after her parents died. She is the one everyone goes to for treatments when they are ill or injured rather than go to an English doctor. Her grandmother was always trying to find her someone to marry but Fern had no desire for a husband, she was satisfied with her garden.




    A Recipe for Hope has Hannah running her parents' bed and breakfast since her father had his first stroke. Stephen decides he has to move from his hometown, after his fiancee is killed in an accident which he blames himself for, and finds himself staying at Paradise Inn. Stephen tries to find a job with no luck so needing to keep busy he starts doing repairs around the Inn. Hannah's parents don't like the idea of a single man renting a room where their single daughter lives, even though there are always other guests there. Her parents get so upset that they even bring the Bishop in on the situation.




    A Recipe for Hope finds Eve's house damaged by a storm that blew a tree onto it. She finds her family moving back to her parents house temporarily, she has never felt close to her mother and is not looking forward to living under her roof again, even for a couple of months. She knows her mother has Parkinson's Disease, but didn't realize how bad until she's living with her again, but her Mother won't go to an English doctor, she only wants to use Fern's treatments.




    I was so excited to get this book and I was not disappointed. They were all wonderful stories but, Beth's contribution, A Recipe for Hope, really pulled at my heartstrings. My mother had alzheimers and some of the things Eve's mother is going through really touched home with me. All of the stories were wonderfully written.




    At the back of the book there are Recipes for Herbal Medicinal Treatments, 45 Old Order Amish Recipes and A Reading Group Guide. Anyone that likes Amish stories or any of these authors really should get this and read it.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®(dot)com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1