Customer Reviews for

An Amish Miracle

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    I had the privilege of reading The Amish Miracle The Amish Mirac

    I had the privilege of reading The Amish Miracle The Amish Miracle by three great authors: Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid, and Mary Ellis. It was terrific. It takes real talent to be able to blend three different stories about three women from the same community and keep the characteristics of each woman similar while writing in your own style. It was wonderful. I found another community I would love to live in. I fell in love with the Bowman’s first and as always, Ms. Ellis drew me in with her strong male characters and servant-hearted women. Ms. Ellis’ writing is truly a gift and I love reading anything she writes. Next, I thoroughly enjoyed the style and story brought by Ruth Reid while continuing the story of Rosa who was first introduced in Hope’s story. Lastly, Ms. Wiseman did a great job concluding the entire book series with her depiction of Becky Byler, again, first introduced in Hope’s story. If you don’t have time to sit and read three full novels, this book is perfect. You get the blessings of a full novel in each shorter story - freeing up some time in your busy schedule without losing any substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I generally don¿t like books that have to put a glossary or char

    I generally don’t like books that have to put a glossary or character reference guide at the beginning of the book, but the glossary feels necessary here and not trite. These aren’t made-up terms. The phrases are true to the purpose of the book and much needed to allow the reader to fully enjoy the stories. I liked these three novellas and thought they went well together. They were easy-to-read and engaging. This book would be great for a lazy day in the summer reading outside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    These three authors worked well to bring this piece of Amish fic

    These three authors worked well to bring this piece of Amish fiction together.

    Lately I have been shying away from novellas. They're usually so short that the authors don't have time to really help you get acquainted with the setting let alone with characters. That's why I was so surprised with An Amish Miracle. This novella was a great book from beginning to end and really flowed between the different authors. I like how they covertly introduced a character in one story that would feature in the next. And it was just enough that I was wondering a bit more about that character. Not only that but there was a bit of follow up of previous characters so that you aren't left wondering.

    I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    WOW. What a fabulous novel! Miracles are all around us...from co

    WOW. What a fabulous novel! Miracles are all around us...from conception (which is a miracle in itself) and all through life. The successful surgery? Yep. Even successful diagnosis. The sun rising. Flowers bursting into bloom. Yes and yes.
    An Amish Miracle highlights three different miracles, but as I read these novellas my heart expanded and I thought of so many other miracles I see each day. These stories take place in an Amish setting, and though that causes some obstacles we might not face in today's society, it does not take away from the miracles of life.
    All three authors have done a fantastic work to place the reader in the settings, and I did not see the conclusion coming, which made the miracles so much more miraculous. Vivid imagery had me not only working beside the women as they struggled with their issues, but I found myself praying for their miracle! In my own life, the miracles came after a dark moment, which is, I suppose, the definition of miracle! 
    Those that have actually lived a miracle, or those who long for one in their own life or for their loved ones, will gain fresh insight, a fresh breath of life when they read this book! I read this in an Ebook, but will be buying the paperback in order to share with friends and family! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    I've read and reviewed a fair amount of Amish fiction over the p

    I've read and reviewed a fair amount of Amish fiction over the past couple years, and I liked what I considered to be less formulaic story lines in the three short stories that comprise "An Amish Miracle."

    In the stories, Hope Bowman deals with the guilt she's felt for giving up the son conceived as a result of rape; Rosa Hostetler worries about possibly losing her farm because of back taxes; and Becky Byler struggles with being overweight.

    While two of the three stories ultimately end in happy couples come together (Hope already is married and has several children), I liked that the stories weren't just boy likes girl, girl likes boy, misunderstanding keeps boy and girl apart, a chance meeting brings boy and girl back together, boy and girl live happily ever after.

    So, especially if you're fan of Amish fiction, I'd add these stories to your collection.

    Note: I received a review copy of this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite If you love &quo

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers' Favorite

    If you love "feel good" stories, the collection, An Amish Miracle, will surely brighten your day. Beth Wiseman, Ruth Reid, and Mary Ellis have combined their talents to create three stories about Amish life that appears to be one fluid tale of everyday problems in a closely-knit community. In "Always in My Heart," Mary Ellis presents the dilemma of Hope and Stephen Bowman who have three daughters. Hope is about to deliver and she prays for a baby boy who will assist her husband with the running of the farm. When Hope delivers a fourth girl, she is haunted with dreams of the baby boy she gave up for adoption when getting pregnant at the age of sixteen.

    "Always His Provision" by Ruth Reid features a character in the above story, widowed Rosa Hostetler who longs for the child she was never able to conceive. Her husband died in a barn fire attempting to save his neighbor Adam and Adam now feels the responsibility of caring for Rosa. Because she has no income other than that from the sale of her eggs, Rosa gradually moves into a position of having to give up her farm due to overdue taxes. Adam attempts to help but his kindly gestures are pushed away by a proud Rosa.

    "Always Beautiful" by Beth Wise addresses a problem which is plentiful in current society in general. Becky has been overweight for as long as she can remember. When she starts a strict diet in order to become the woman of her dreams, Becky attracts the attention of the handsome Matt and she focuses on superficial things uncommon in the world of the Amish. Loving the attention she receives, Becky begins to imagine a different kind of life for herself.

    All three stories feature issues common in everyday life, no matter the religion or culture. The stories are tastefully and respectfully done such that the reader is absorbed, learning personal lessons along the way. I loved the book for the flow from one story to the next and I encourage the writers to get together again for even more "feel good" stories for their readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

     This is a delightful Amish novella collection by Mary Ellis, Ru

     This is a delightful Amish novella collection by Mary Ellis, Ruth Reid, and Beth Wiseman.   In Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis, Hope is given a second chance with the son she was forced to give up for adoption.   God sends this young man back into her life at the age of fifteen.  Will James want to stay with his birth mother and get to know his family or will Hope's heart be broken once again?  Ruth Reid shares the story of a young, childless widow in Always His Providence, Rosa Hostetler is in desperate need of funds to save her home but she is too proud to ask for help from the Amish community widow's fund.    The man her husband died to save has promised to look after her and he wants to help her but she does not trust him enough to share her needs.  Will she let go of her pride and open her heart?  Becky Byler struggles with her weight and is the laughing stock of the Amish community in Always Beautiful.   Becky is pushed to the point of suicide because of her low self-esteem and asks God for a miracle.   He grants it as she loses weight and has not one, but two suitors.   Will she discover what both young suitors already know?  Will she learn that inner beauty matters far more than outer appearance?  Read the three novellas to find these answers and more.   The authors do a beautiful job of portraying forgiveness, love, inner beauty and sacrifice.   I love the way that the three novellas blend together and have characters who share in each others' lives.  I am quite curious to know if there will be a sequel to the three novellas as I would love to know what comes next for Hope, Becky and Rosa.  
    I received a free pdf version of this book from netgalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    This is a collection of three novellas by three different author

    This is a collection of three novellas by three different authors set in the same Amish community: Always Beautiful, Always His Providence, and Always in My Heart. In Always Beautiful, Becky Byler struggles with her weight and the difference of inner and outer beauty and whether outward appearances matter in the question of true love. In Always His Providence, widow Rosa Hostetler faces losing her farm to taxes and refuses assistance from her neighbor. In her struggles, she learns to rely on God to provide and to wait on his will, but will it take her away from her home before she is able to open her heart to love? In Always in My Heart, Hope Bowman faces her grief after giving up her firstborn son, especially after she and her husband have four daughters. Will God grant the desire of her heart for a son?

    When I first started reading this book, I wasn't sure if all the stories were inter-related and was thrilled when I got to visit with the same characters in each of the books. My happiness is a testament to the likability of the characters. Each of them are well-written, and you want everything to work out for them. Typically in romance books, there are not a lot of surprises, but these offered a few unexpected twists, which is always nice.

    I enjoyed everything about these novellas, the characters, the plot, the description of the life of the Amish and how it merges and intertwines with our culture, yet remains separate. I also enjoyed reading the recipes in the back, which I have not tried yet, but hope to soon.

    If you are a fan of Christian romance, or like to read about the Amish culture, you will enjoy this book. Very nicely written, and a very fast read as well. I look forward to reading more books by these authors.

    I received a copy of this book from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I never wanted this book to end. I wanted to stay right here and

    I never wanted this book to end. I wanted to stay right here and keep absorbing their lives. There are three separate stories here, and each blends into the next author's story.
    We begin with Always in My Heart by Mary Ellis. A story of tragedy brought full circle. Book Blurb: Hope Bowman believes God is punishing her for giving up her firstborn son when she was a teenager. She’s hidden this secret from her husband, who is thankful for their daughters but longs for a son. Hope prays desperately, but the son God sends her isn’t a new baby but the fifteen-year-old boy she gave up years ago.
    I can just imagine how Hope felt, the missing piece of her life. Will she ever be able to tell her husband?? Will she be able to forgive her Dad? Strong feelings of emotion on all of the people in this story.
    The next story is Always His Providence by Ruth Reid and the blurb about this book: Widow Rosa Hostetler has one month to pay her delinquent taxes before the county auctions her farm. She’s prepared to sell whatever is necessary to pay the lien, but she isn’t willing to request money from the community’s widow fund. She’s embarrassed and refuses to admit she needs help. Rosa depends on income from selling eggs, but when that income is threatened, only a miracle can help Rosa accept the kindness of a neighbor.
    We find Rosa is such a proud woman, and she is still protecting the reputation of her late husband, and she is doing this to the point of possibly loosing her farm. There are so many surprises and lots of action in this read. There is even a bit of romance. Again we are with people who we met in the first book, and continue with their story.
    The third and last story is Always Beautiful by Beth Wiseman: Becky Byler is eighteen and overweight. She is overwhelmed by the embarrassment she feels when comparing herself to other girls her age. Having lost all hope, she considers taking her own life. As she stands before rushing water, unable to swim, Becky begs God for a miracle. In just several months, Becky sees her prayers answered as food and temptation lose their hold over her. She’s finally pleased with how she looks, but does she like the person she has become? And has the man she has dreamed of been right beside her all along, loving her exactly as she is?
    We met Becky in the first story, and now we are going to focus on her. A novelette of not seeing really what is in front of you. Having your prayers answered by God, but not really seeing his answer, because one is focused on what we want.
    These are really get reads all by them selves, but especially great as they are a continuation into the lives of these beloved people, that will feel like family, by the time you finish!

    I received this book through NetGalley, and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    I received a copy of AN AMISH MIRACLE, which is a collection of

    I received a copy of AN AMISH MIRACLE, which is a collection of three novellas, from Thomas Nelson via BookSneeze. I was thrilled at the chance to review it, and ordered it to do with as I’ve done with past Amish books: read, enjoy, and pass on to my mother. Every summer, we spend a week in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, visiting Amish shops and enjoying the peaceful, country life. Books like this one bring back those happy memories.

    My mother and I have also read AN AMISH LOVE, part of the same novella series, and enjoyed that one as well, so we were doubly pleased with this one.

    The first novella, Always in my Heart by Mary Ellis, involves Hope Bowman and her troubled past. As a teenager, she was raped, and her father forced her to give up the baby to an adoption agency. She is now unable to have a son, and feels it is because she surrendered her first one to the state. Hope is tormented by that deed, but is given a chance for redemption when her long lost son runs away from his foster family to meet her. Yes, the story was sweet, and I had tears in my eyes by the end, but overall, it felt very farfetched.

    Ruth Reid wrote the second novella, ALWAYS HIS PROVIDENCE. It also felt far-fetched, but left me with a contented smile. Rosa, a widower from the first novella, reappears as her back taxes catch up with her and she faces losing her farm. She makes a living off selling eggs, but the new neighbor’s dogs start attacking her chickens. An old friend of hers who rents her barn comes to her rescue, and they sweetly fall in love.

    The final story is ALWAYS BEAUTIFUL by Beth Wiseman. Another reoccurring character, Becky, struggles with her weight. Since she is overweight, she struggles with her self-worth and starts dieting. Her lifelong best friend loves her as she is, as does a handsome young Amish man, but she strives to lose pounds. I found this novella inspiring, and will recommend it to my friends who also struggle with their weights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 wonderful personal stories Three novella's all taking place i

    3 wonderful personal stories

    Three novella's all taking place in the same community by three different authors, all are among my list of favorite authors. Two of the main characters are good friends, Hope Bowman and Rosa Hostetler and Becky Byler is a younger person in the community. All three stories deal with modern day circumstances and tell how the ladies deal with them. I could associate with one of the stories more than the others but they were all very touching and I really enjoyed this book. These women each show their strength and their strong faith.




    I would recommend this book to those who like stories that deal with personal feelings and trying to overcome those feelings, no matter what the outcome may be. "An Amish Miracale" goes on sale December 3, 2013.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1