BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Angel by Her Side (Heaven On Earth Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An Angel by Her Side caught me by surprise, literally. Okay, I k

An Angel by Her Side caught me by surprise, literally. Okay, I knew that according to the synopsis, there’s an angel in the story. What I didn’t expect was the supernatural play out – demon vs. angel – in the story. I usually steer away from such books, but this one? It...
An Angel by Her Side caught me by surprise, literally. Okay, I knew that according to the synopsis, there’s an angel in the story. What I didn’t expect was the supernatural play out – demon vs. angel – in the story. I usually steer away from such books, but this one? It was good. Never mind that this could be included in the paranormal genre and I don’t read paranormal. The good vs. bad scenarios were just too interesting. I found myself cheering for Elias as he battled the evil demon.

I gotta admit that the reason I requested for this book was because it’s an Amish stories. Although I enjoy reading Amish stories, I sometimes feel disgruntled with certain portrayal of the characters. However, I was completely satisfied with the portrayal of the characters. They weren’t super-holy people just because they are Amish. The protagonist, Katie, had her flaws aka attitude problems and so did Amos and the other characters.

The “would-they-or-would-they-not-get-together” kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the book. The author certainly did well in keeping the suspense about the relationship until the end. There was definitely no moment to get bored with the story, especially when I *needed* to know the outcome of Katie and Seth’s relationship! Even though I got impatient and was sorely tempted to skip to the end of the book to find the answer to my question, I patiently read, read some more, waited, and waited.

Besides the main characters, the supporting characters were interesting as well. Yes, the story is mainly a love story, but the drama involving the other characters made the story exciting. There wasn’t only love, there was also bitterness, hatred, being lost, and finding God’s purpose in life.

In conclusion, I loved reading An Angel by Her Side. This is the 3rd book in the A Heaven On Earth series. I don’t know if there will be other new books in the series, but will definitely read them if there are. It would be especially interesting if there’s a story about Amos’ teenaged daughter.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

posted by Evangeline_Han on April 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

So sad that with 11 reviews and all of them are plot spoilers all bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review. They ruin the book for other readers who have to pay their books. Bn, when are you going to do something about these obnoxious ...
So sad that with 11 reviews and all of them are plot spoilers all bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review. They ruin the book for other readers who have to pay their books. Bn, when are you going to do something about these obnoxious people who think they have the right to reveal every detail of the plot line just because they got their book for free. It is not fair to other readers, nor to you, because i will not buy a book after they ruin it. Please ban these plot spoilers and delete their posts.

posted by 8888649 on March 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Plot spoilers

    So sad that with 11 reviews and all of them are plot spoilers all bragging how they got their book for free for their so called honest review. They ruin the book for other readers who have to pay their books. Bn, when are you going to do something about these obnoxious people who think they have the right to reveal every detail of the plot line just because they got their book for free. It is not fair to other readers, nor to you, because i will not buy a book after they ruin it. Please ban these plot spoilers and delete their posts.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    Disappointing I have to admit, I am disappointed in this book.

    Disappointing

    I have to admit, I am disappointed in this book. I’ve had this series on my radar for months and was so excited to start reading, but the book just didn’t live up to what I was hoping for.

    Let’s start with the characters. Katie is adorable and sweet. She talks about how much she gave up with her fiancé died years before and how she replaced the possibility of marriage and children with learning to be a teacher for the community. All well and good – except this is all told to the reader. Nothing in her actions really speaks of the battle between what she has come to accepts and what she truly wishes she could have. Side characters call her meddlesome but really she just seems blunt and a bit too opinionated.

    I wanted to like Seth, I really did, but his character simply fell flat. There were moments of adorableness and swoon, moments of really understanding his inner battle and his fear. Yet those were overridden by the sometimes downright mean way he treated Katie. He was inconsistent – one second being cruel and insulting, the next throwing her a wink and a grin. I couldn’t quite figure him out, and by the end, I didn’t even want to.

    I give An Angel By Her Side two stars. The plot was slow, the drama kept going back and forth as the characters just repeated their slip-ups and apologies, and the overall feel of the book was not what I had hoped for.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An Angel by Her Side caught me by surprise, literally. Okay, I k

    An Angel by Her Side caught me by surprise, literally. Okay, I knew that according to the synopsis, there’s an angel in the story. What I didn’t expect was the supernatural play out – demon vs. angel – in the story. I usually steer away from such books, but this one? It was good. Never mind that this could be included in the paranormal genre and I don’t read paranormal. The good vs. bad scenarios were just too interesting. I found myself cheering for Elias as he battled the evil demon.

    I gotta admit that the reason I requested for this book was because it’s an Amish stories. Although I enjoy reading Amish stories, I sometimes feel disgruntled with certain portrayal of the characters. However, I was completely satisfied with the portrayal of the characters. They weren’t super-holy people just because they are Amish. The protagonist, Katie, had her flaws aka attitude problems and so did Amos and the other characters.

    The “would-they-or-would-they-not-get-together” kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the book. The author certainly did well in keeping the suspense about the relationship until the end. There was definitely no moment to get bored with the story, especially when I *needed* to know the outcome of Katie and Seth’s relationship! Even though I got impatient and was sorely tempted to skip to the end of the book to find the answer to my question, I patiently read, read some more, waited, and waited.

    Besides the main characters, the supporting characters were interesting as well. Yes, the story is mainly a love story, but the drama involving the other characters made the story exciting. There wasn’t only love, there was also bitterness, hatred, being lost, and finding God’s purpose in life.

    In conclusion, I loved reading An Angel by Her Side. This is the 3rd book in the A Heaven On Earth series. I don’t know if there will be other new books in the series, but will definitely read them if there are. It would be especially interesting if there’s a story about Amos’ teenaged daughter.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Good read

    Completely enjoy books about the Amish faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting read

    This book kept me reading, non-stop, to the end. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Katie Bender, is the main character in this story. The story re

    Katie Bender, is the main character in this story. The story really begins after her fiancé died. It tells how she found a new calling and was content with her life until a new stranger came into her community. It is important to remember the story takes place in an Amish community and their way of life differs greatly from most of ours. The Amish are low key and humble as are the characters in this story. This may make the reader to think the person many not be 'strong' but that is not true. Katie is not afraid to speak up and challenge when this seem unjust to her. And, being a woman who speaks out is not looked on favorably.
    I believe the story will hold your attention and there a few new twists not usually written about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Gjgjg

    Fju

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this series! The angel Elias has his hands full in this

    I loved this series!

    The angel Elias has his hands full in this book and Razzen is still interfering. Katie Bender saves her students when a tornado hits the school but the school is ruined along with a lot of other buildings in the area. Seth Stutzman is working on the beehives for his brother-in-law when the tornado hits and runs to the cellar under the school too. Amos, Seth's widowed brother-in-law despises Katie so much that he pulled his children out of school and they don't even attend church services. When Amos's oldest daughter Leah runs away from home and Amos goes blind, Seth has no choice but to ask Katie to come daily and help with the children.




    When the people decide not to rebuild the school because of the cost and all the other repairs that are more important, Katie finds herself out of a job and may have to move in the grossdaadi haus at her brothers place. When Katie applies for another teaching job and does not get it she realizes it isn't losing the job that she's upset about, it's a broken heart again.




    I really did enjoy this series, I like the way Ruth has the angels appearing and talking to the characters. It brings to life the fact that there are angels watching over us we just don't realize it, and they aren't always helping in a positive way. I would encourage others to get these books and read them and this is a continuing series so I would suggest you start with the first one "The Promise of an Angel" then the second which is "Brush of an Angel's Wings". Great job Ruth!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read Katie still feels responsible for the death of her f

    Great Read

    Katie still feels responsible for the death of her fiancé and does not plan to marry. She works as a teacher in her community and feels like she has found her calling. Yet a tornado destroys her school and leaves her wondering what she will do next. Seth just happened to be in the right place at the right time and helped Katie and the school children to safety during the storm. He is visiting his brother to help him and does not plan to stay in the area. Elias the angel is watching over them both and as love blossoms so does a new understanding of God. 




         I have really enjoyed this series and this book lived up to my expectations. I really like how this book incorporates angels and evil spirits into the story. It  may not be realistic but its so well written you can’t help but imagine a angle whispering God’s messages into your ear.




    What I liked: I really liked Katie and Seth. Both where dealing with past issues that required them to listen to God for guidance. I love the good vs. evil that went on in this book. Not a lot of Christian fiction will write of a different realm like this author does and I really enjoy it. I also liked how characters from the first two books pop up from time to time. I liked how the story also dealt with Seth’s brother and how he was lost and slowly with the help of his family and spiritual guidance he found his way back. Very well written. 




    What I did not like: As much as I liked this book I thought the angel might have gotten to involved in the lives of the characters in the book. There is only one thing that really bothered me and it had to do with the little girl but I also have to remember its fiction and not real.




         Over all this was a great book and I really enjoyed it. Both Katie and Seth had to let go and let God and it’s a good lesson for all of us. Adding the angel into the story made it interesting. I highly recommend this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Katie Bender is a character we have met before, earlier in this

    Katie Bender is a character we have met before, earlier in this series. But we are now several years down the road and Katie has made her way as a teacher after the death of her fiance. Now however her whole world has been shaken, literally as a tornado destroys the school house. Her quick thinking had saved all the children and the community was binding together to help one another in this time of trouble, but Katie is not sure what is going to happen, because rebuilding the school is not at the top of the list of priorities. The community has to rebuild the homes and farms of those damaged by the tornado, it is their very livelihood at stake. Seth Stutzman was in Hope Falls helping his brother-in-law Amos Mast. It it a very dark period in the lives of the Mast family, the loss of Amos' wife Erma to cancer had hardened his heart and he was reacting poorly, walking away from God and his community. He and Katie have clashed repeatedly over her teaching of his children and her objections to the beehives, he plans on putting near the school house.
    A community finding their way after tragedy, a family nearing irreparable fracture after a death in the family, and a young woman trying to find her way in the midst of the storms of life. I enjoyed this book, more than I did the others in this series. It was like a culmination of the stories all melded together. We have key characters from the other stories here, in a different period of life for them. All in all it was an enjoyable story. Reading Group Guide included. 344 pages US $15.99 4 stars. This book was provided for review purposes only no payment was received for this review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    An Angel by Her Side is Ruth Reid's latest Amish novel.  It is t

    An Angel by Her Side is Ruth Reid's latest Amish novel.  It is the third book in the Heaven on Earth series.  It is the story of Katie Bender, a single Amish schoolteacher, and Seth Stultzman, an Amish man who is visiting family in crisis. A freak tornado wreaks havoc in the town of Hope Falls, and the two are thrust together during efforts to repair.  Both Katie and Seth have had their hearts broken in the past, and are reluctant to open themselves up again.



    What I found interesting in this story is the focus on good versus evil, with the angel Elias and his enemy Razzen.  Also inspiring was the character of Seth's uncle Amos, who after the death of his wife has closed his heart to his faith and community.  This is a good book, and it was easy to read quickly.  If you are interested in reading the first two in the series (but you could just read An Angel by Her Side alone), they are titled The Promise of an Angel and Brush of Angel's Wings.  Also included at the end of the book is a Reading Group Guide.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    I enjoy Amish fiction, and for me this one did not disappoint. F

    I enjoy Amish fiction, and for me this one did not disappoint. For those unfamiliar with some of the Amish words, there is a glossary at the beginning of the book to refer back to, but if you've read a few Amish stories you'll probably have no issues understanding. I liked Katie's character, and while the story may seem slow at moments, it's all just setting the stage for the story. The hidden battle in the background rears it's ugly head at times throughout the story, but it's not just what the book is about, of course. It also discusses learning disabilities, as Seth's character struggles with dyslexia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    After losing her fiance in a tragic accident, Katie Bender found

    After losing her fiance in a tragic accident, Katie Bender found solace as well as a vocation in teaching. But when the school is destroyed by a tornado and the community doesn't want to rebuild, Katie's future is questionable. Fortunately, she has an angel by her side.

    Upon first picking up this novel, I wasn't sure regarding the combination of Amish and angels. It sounded as though it might be a bit too "Touched by an Angel" for my liking. However, I have to admit that I enjoyed it. The battles between Elias and Razzen added a new depth to the typical Amish novel. And although the ending was predictable, the story made it worthwhile.

    4 stars


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A different Amish story, and yet a lot about living your life as

    A different Amish story, and yet a lot about living your life as Amish. The separation of their Community, and yet the being there for those who are not members.
    We experience a lot of good and evil. Katie Bender has suffered a lot of loss in her young life. She has resigned herself to being a teacher, instead of a wife and mother. Then the a tornado destroys her school, along with a lot of their Community.
    Seth Stutzman is visiting Hope Falls, he is trying to help his brother-in-law Amos. Seth builds bee hives, but he is also dealing with his demons. Amos is actually shunning his community, and is so bitter.
    We find their are evil forces involved, whispering in their ears! Makes you realize where some of those thoughts you personally don't want come from! Especially if you love the Lord.
    This book paints these pictures in your mind so that you actually feel like you are part of the battles. We look for Elias, the mighty angel. How lucky they are to have him, he seems to be there when needed.
    Will the evil Razzen win? I vote for Elias, but will those hear him and pray?
    Loved this book, if you enjoy reading Amish stories, this is a must read.

    I received this book through the Thomas Nelson Booksneeze reviewer program, and was not required to give a positive review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I never got the chance to read the first two books in the ¿A Hea

    I never got the chance to read the first two books in the ‘A Heaven on Earth’ series, but I will definitely pick them up now after reading An Angel by Her Side the 3rd book in the series. Katie Bender and Seth Stutzman are the main characters in the book. Katie has faced allot of heartbreak and tragedy in her short time on this earth, that she felt she never would never recover from, she is also a schoolteacher in the Amish community of Hope Falls.

    The day began like any other day for Katie as she was grading papers and the children worked at their desks quietly, than strong winds began to come through the windows and blow her and the children’s papers around so she worked hard at trying to get the windows shut. As they all looked out the windows the children mentioned to Katie that the sky just did not look right, and Katie watched as the sky turned a color unlike she had never seen.

    Then a tornado came through and destroyed their community including the schoolhouse in which she worked. Seth arrives in town just days before the tornado hit the small Amish community to offer healing and support to his brother-in-law who is struggling since the recent death of his wife. Katie and Seth end up working side by side to restore their small community when a stranger comes to town that no one knows. In addition, unknown to anyone, he is actually an Angel there to help Katie restore her faith while he watches over Seth as well.

    This is a very heartwarming story that you will not want to miss reading. It will make you look at your own heartbreak and faith in a different way; at least it did this for me. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishing via Booksneeze for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    My rating: 5 of 5 stars I couldn't wait to pick up this book! I

    My rating: 5 of 5 stars

    I couldn't wait to pick up this book! I really enjoyed the first two books in the Heaven on Earth series by Ruth Reid and I knew that this one would be another fantastic read! This author keeps getting better. She perfectly blends the Amish genre in seamlessly with angel fiction and the result is amazing. The second and third book really shows that the author is finding her niche. If you're looking for a great series to read this year then I strongly suggest these books.

    About the Story:
    Katie Bender is a twenty-nine year old school teacher and borders on "old maid" status in her Amish culture. After the death of her fiancée--Katie accepts that it may not be God's will for her to marry and have children and teaching becomes a passion for her. That is--until the school and her community is hit by a devastating storm that destroys everything in its path.
    Seth Stutzman arrived in the community before the storm and as fate would have it--he is the one who helps Katie and her school children escape from the school's storm cellar. His presence in Hope Falls is a mission as well. He is there to help his brother-in-law who is still grieving the loss of his wife. The situation that Seth finds in the home is an emotionally charged train wreck. Amos has become bitter and depressed and his children are also suffering.

    Amos has stopped going to church and refuses to help with rebuilding the community. Despite struggling with a hidden learning disability and a dark secret that has destroyed his confidence--Seth is determined to do his part. He jumps in on the relief efforts and finds encouragement in an old man that no one seems to know. Perhaps he is from a neighboring community?

    What is unknown to Katie and Seth is that the friendly and helpful old man named Elias is actually an angel. He is watching over Katie and Seth and even Amos--protecting them from the fallen angel, Razzen who is bent on destroying lives and turning this family away from God and away from each other. I particularly enjoyed the struggle and the battle scenes that raged between Razzen and Elias. It is a very interesting and unique concept taking place within the story.

    This book was a smashing hit. Once again I was pulled into the community of Hope Falls and hung on every bit of dialogue between the characters and also between the angel and demon. I thought it very interesting that these characters were not your run-of-the-mill-perfect characters that are often presented in books and rather had very real issues. Amos had his depression, Katie was often overbearing and Seth struggles with dyslexia. Very real characters that you can relate to! If you're looking for new Amish fiction to read that is unique--Ruth Reid's Heaven on Earth series is well worth the read!

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1