Customer Reviews for

An Arranged Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

On of the best books I've read in a long time and I would highly

On of the best books I've read in a long time and I would highly recommend it. This is the type of book that you don't want to put down and I will keep it for future reading pleasure. I look forward to reading more of this author's excellent writing.

posted by 10709066 on November 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

An Arranged Disaster If You Ask Me...

This is the first book via B & N I bought for author Jo Beverly. My guess is this is one of her first novels as no others are noted? I read this book hoping for the best. Some of the reviews were good ¿ some a little off. I have to admit I was turned off by the first pa...
This is the first book via B & N I bought for author Jo Beverly. My guess is this is one of her first novels as no others are noted? I read this book hoping for the best. Some of the reviews were good ¿ some a little off. I have to admit I was turned off by the first parts of the book. The rape scene even though not wordy and documented was enough to make me cringe and be unsure of the story line. Make no doubt, this situation can and probably did happen more than any of us knew in history and modern times. But¿it¿s hard to put such a realistic and awful event into a book you want to be a love story. Eleanors own brother set up the incident which was revolting. Then, when Eleanor figures out that it was Christopher and not his twin Nicholas who violated her she didn¿t even have a serious fit of the vapors ( a minimum for those times) when the truth came out. She was upset but, not overly disgusted or angry. She agreed to whatever plans Chris came up with ¿ not an independent and thinking woman there. Nicholas in turn did whatever his twin brother Chris asked ¿ such as marrying the women he violated - even though Nick was clearly the strong, intelligent and dominate brother. Who would just marry their brothers intimate partner, consider taking on a possible pregnant woman and her child as his own and never have many fits of consciousness over such events? This story did not get better for me as time went on. Everyone was just way too accepting of the situation instead of fighting back the right way. The rape scene and resulting child were mentioned too often. I feel this content belongs in modern stories or biographies not love stories meant to take you away to a softer, kinder and more beautiful place. Many reviewers felt Nick was dashing, courageous and wonderful but, I felt he was too wimpy and accepting for me. His actions in some ways could be considered honorable but, in other ways I felt he was a doormat doing what he was supposed to do. Eleanor in turn just seemed to always sit back and let things control her world instead of her being the controller. The two of them seemed often apart and that didn¿t help to make their relationship seem solid and strong. Luck have it¿things did work themselves out but, this just was not a story line I found memorable and tender. It simply did not work for me. I was hard pressed to even give it two stars. Very disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    An Arranged Disaster If You Ask Me...

    This is the first book via B & N I bought for author Jo Beverly. My guess is this is one of her first novels as no others are noted? I read this book hoping for the best. Some of the reviews were good ¿ some a little off. I have to admit I was turned off by the first parts of the book. The rape scene even though not wordy and documented was enough to make me cringe and be unsure of the story line. Make no doubt, this situation can and probably did happen more than any of us knew in history and modern times. But¿it¿s hard to put such a realistic and awful event into a book you want to be a love story. Eleanors own brother set up the incident which was revolting. Then, when Eleanor figures out that it was Christopher and not his twin Nicholas who violated her she didn¿t even have a serious fit of the vapors ( a minimum for those times) when the truth came out. She was upset but, not overly disgusted or angry. She agreed to whatever plans Chris came up with ¿ not an independent and thinking woman there. Nicholas in turn did whatever his twin brother Chris asked ¿ such as marrying the women he violated - even though Nick was clearly the strong, intelligent and dominate brother. Who would just marry their brothers intimate partner, consider taking on a possible pregnant woman and her child as his own and never have many fits of consciousness over such events? This story did not get better for me as time went on. Everyone was just way too accepting of the situation instead of fighting back the right way. The rape scene and resulting child were mentioned too often. I feel this content belongs in modern stories or biographies not love stories meant to take you away to a softer, kinder and more beautiful place. Many reviewers felt Nick was dashing, courageous and wonderful but, I felt he was too wimpy and accepting for me. His actions in some ways could be considered honorable but, in other ways I felt he was a doormat doing what he was supposed to do. Eleanor in turn just seemed to always sit back and let things control her world instead of her being the controller. The two of them seemed often apart and that didn¿t help to make their relationship seem solid and strong. Luck have it¿things did work themselves out but, this just was not a story line I found memorable and tender. It simply did not work for me. I was hard pressed to even give it two stars. Very disappointing.

    16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Anonymous

    I usually like jo beverley, but this book was sad and depressing right up to the end for me. The heroine was badly mistreated by every man in her life, includding tthe so called hero, who cheated on her constantly. I dont admire the wimpy forgiving of everyone who never apologized, including the man who raped her. She was a weak character, and the men not worthy of the word hero.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Not What I Had Expected

    This is my first Jo Beverley book, and by it, I have to say that I harbor no hopes or wishes to continue reading her work. I've been reading romance books for quite some time now, and while I'm no guru on the genre, I believe that this novel lacked so much of what I look forward in a romantic book, thus turning it into what most people believe romance books are--empty words that do nothing but fill a mind with wistful dreams--a little harsh, I know, but 'tis just my belief. First of all, the characters have no depth, the story feels as if it has the narration of a children's book, I don't see any of the descriptive qualities--that of characters' looks, thoughts, in depth feelings--that I look forward to, the whole thing just seems to fly on by extremely fast. Now, right now I'm on chapter four, and can say with confidence that I'll go no further.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    This was a DNF

    I love Jo Berverly but I couldn't finish this one. The beginning was poorly written, melodramatic even. Not her usual excellent fare. I'll still buy other books of hers --- some are top shelf keepers, but not this one.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    I usually don't rate books, which shows how strongly I felt abou

    I usually don't rate books, which shows how strongly I felt about this book. I prefer to read to escape into a happier world and this book was definitely not it. In the opening scenes the heroine is drugged and raped by her own brother, making the story appalling to start out with. Then it irritated me how easily Eleanor could be led to believe that it was Nicholas who raped her, not Kit. Then, once Kit and Nicholas get married, the book is just so slow moving with almost no plot development. I stopped reading when Nicholas made clear he was going to cheat on Eleanor. I almost always finish books, but this one was impossible to get through. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    ?

    Ok book, but I wanted to punch Nicholas for being a sneaky jerk and slap Eleanor for being a spineless whiner. If u decide to read this book just understand that you will be compleately annoyed through the entire book. This story had the ability to be good, but just never developed. Just happy it was a nook free Friday book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Didn't hate it.

    If I saw another of this series at the library I would read it but would not pay for these books. Too much writing not enough story. Very little character depth. Very little character motivation. Why were they doing what they were doing? There was almost no backstory to explain why the characters reacted the way they did. Just something to read if you don't want to invest too much time or thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1