Customer Reviews for

An Arranged Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

On of the best books I've read in a long time and I would highly

On of the best books I've read in a long time and I would highly recommend it. This is the type of book that you don't want to put down and I will keep it for future reading pleasure. I look forward to reading more of this author's excellent writing.

posted by 10709066 on November 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

An Arranged Disaster If You Ask Me...

This is the first book via B & N I bought for author Jo Beverly. My guess is this is one of her first novels as no others are noted? I read this book hoping for the best. Some of the reviews were good ¿ some a little off. I have to admit I was turned off by the first pa...
This is the first book via B & N I bought for author Jo Beverly. My guess is this is one of her first novels as no others are noted? I read this book hoping for the best. Some of the reviews were good ¿ some a little off. I have to admit I was turned off by the first parts of the book. The rape scene even though not wordy and documented was enough to make me cringe and be unsure of the story line. Make no doubt, this situation can and probably did happen more than any of us knew in history and modern times. But¿it¿s hard to put such a realistic and awful event into a book you want to be a love story. Eleanors own brother set up the incident which was revolting. Then, when Eleanor figures out that it was Christopher and not his twin Nicholas who violated her she didn¿t even have a serious fit of the vapors ( a minimum for those times) when the truth came out. She was upset but, not overly disgusted or angry. She agreed to whatever plans Chris came up with ¿ not an independent and thinking woman there. Nicholas in turn did whatever his twin brother Chris asked ¿ such as marrying the women he violated - even though Nick was clearly the strong, intelligent and dominate brother. Who would just marry their brothers intimate partner, consider taking on a possible pregnant woman and her child as his own and never have many fits of consciousness over such events? This story did not get better for me as time went on. Everyone was just way too accepting of the situation instead of fighting back the right way. The rape scene and resulting child were mentioned too often. I feel this content belongs in modern stories or biographies not love stories meant to take you away to a softer, kinder and more beautiful place. Many reviewers felt Nick was dashing, courageous and wonderful but, I felt he was too wimpy and accepting for me. His actions in some ways could be considered honorable but, in other ways I felt he was a doormat doing what he was supposed to do. Eleanor in turn just seemed to always sit back and let things control her world instead of her being the controller. The two of them seemed often apart and that didn¿t help to make their relationship seem solid and strong. Luck have it¿things did work themselves out but, this just was not a story line I found memorable and tender. It simply did not work for me. I was hard pressed to even give it two stars. Very disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    On of the best books I've read in a long time and I would highly

    On of the best books I've read in a long time and I would highly recommend it. This is the type of book that you don't want to put down and I will keep it for future reading pleasure. I look forward to reading more of this author's excellent writing.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2004

    A True Masterpiece in Romance Writing

    I don't know what it was about Nicholas Delaney but I just fell in love with that character. When he invited the rogues to his house to meet Eleanor, my heart just melted for this guy. He was so sexy, a bit mysterious, and ever the gentleman with Eleanor. The way he looked at her, and his actions, especially with his eyes, made my heart jump. And I respected him for allowing Eleanor into the lives of his friends. Only a unique man like Nicholas would have been comfortable doing that. And although I wouldn't want my marriage tested the way Eleanor's was with Therese, I really believe Nicholas hated every moment with that woman. How could he not? Therese was revolting. The situation Nicholas's twin brother found himself in was unfortunate, but nothing justified raping an innocent girl. However, I thought Nicholas handled his first love scene with Eleanor magnificently. Since Nicholas had no way of knowing whether or not Eleanor might be pregnant by his brother, he and Eleanor married quickly. That way, no one would ever know for sure who had fathered the baby. I think Nicholas did this solely for Eleanor's peace of mind. He was such a wonderful, loving father (in other books in the series) I don't think it would have mattered to him anyway. Only after I'd finished reading this book did I realize that Nicholas and Eleanor were actually apart throughout a goodly portion of this novel. Perhaps that's why the dialogue between them, when it did occur, was so special.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    Awesome Book

    Nicholas Delaney is one of the best heros ever created. He has everything; good looks, sensitivity, gentleness, intelligence, loyalty, and yes, troubles. I so enjoyed reading about him in the other Rogue series, especially in AN UNWILLING BRIDE. Since he had less troubles in Lucien's story, he laughed and found humor in a lot of things, which was great, since he was unable to do much of that here because of his work. Eleanor was lovely, the perfect mate for Nicholas, although her brother was a rat.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Loved it! Would highly recommend it!

    Thank you........ Janet Adams! I am so glad you went to her classes and finally finished this first Rogues book. I loved every page of it. Plus you deserved every writing award you received for this wonderful book. You're right about this book though....it's not like any other book I've read lately. I loved all the characters and can not wait to read the rest of the Rogues' stories. I look forward to enjoying many reading hours to come getting to know all the Rogues. Thank you for writing such a GREAT book!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    A fast moving story!

    I enjoyed this book and liked the characters.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    What a marvelous way to start a series

    Nicholas Delaney is a remarkable hero to introduce as King Rogue. Though the story stretches credibility with his willingness to marry simply to save his twin from doing so, the characters are richly drawn and vivid. You'll want to get to know the entire company. I did. Though not all of the novels are as rich, they are all rewarding. Did I mention that her Georgian Malloren series is marvelous with dashing heros and feisty heroines? Get to know these two series. You will be glad you did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Wow great read

    Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    Wow! This was a great historical romance with a unique storyline

    Wow! This was a great historical romance with a unique storyline. I thought Beverley did a great job of dealing with the fallout from Eleanor's rape and her relationships with her brother, her husband, and her brother-in-law. I felt like there was growth for both Eleanor and Nicholas. I look forward to reading more of this series.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Excellent read

    Terrrific dialogue, characters and especially the plot. I have found a new, wonderful author. I would rate this a SUPER 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    She got the better deal after all

    Really liked this story. This is my favorite time period, and the author captures it all well; the fashions, the speech, the morals, the struggles of the classes. There was a lot of angst, tension, and passion between the hero and heroine. They were both likeable and I wanted to keep on reading to see how the story would turn out. I look forward to reading the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Recommend.

    Such a good book and am waiting to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Excellent

    Fun book. Great writer. Bought 3 more and plan to get them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Unique, challenging, but worth it!

    I am a huge fan of Jo Beverley's writing, and have loved most of her books. This is the most unique, I think, of her Regency stories. Yes, as some have commented, it is hard to read some parts. I am not a fan of rape scenes, but this one was well-written and not too graphic, and certainly integral to the plot. I did not find Eleanor whiny, I thought she did a good job of sucking it up and trying to deal with her problems and find the good in her situation. That doesn't make her a doormat, nor mean she can't get mad about it at times. I love Nicholas as the leader if the Rogues, combining a raging intellect with rampant curiosity about the world. He has an almost mind-reading sensitivity to the thoughts and feelings of others, and he has become one of my favorite literary characters. I just wish we got to see more of him in the subsequent Rogue books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    highly recommend jmm44

    Very well written--from the 1800's---involves everything from rape to true love AND all very believable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2