Customer Reviews for

An English Bride in Scotland

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another ¿hysterical historical¿ from one of my favorite authors.

    Another “hysterical historical” from one of my favorite authors. Poor Annabel is packed up at the tender age of 7 and sent to live in a convent. Now 14 years later she is still a novice and has yet to take the veil. She isn't a very good nun. (Think Maria from The Sound of Music). All that is changed when her elder sister runs away with the stable masters son leaving her parents in a lurch. They had promised their eldest to marry Ross MacKay and he has come to collect. So Annabel is abruptly pulled from the abbey to take her place. She is totally unprepared to be a wife and lady of the manor. But those things that made her a bad nun may be just what she will need to the wife of the MacKay. Now if the big guy in the plaid would stop trying to kidnap her.
    This is a sweet, funny romance. It is obvious that Ms. Sands has done her research and had a great deal of fun with it. A little romance, a little mystery and a whole lot of fun. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Living in the past

    Each and every turn of the page was exciting, the author kepme engaged in the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly & posted at Under the Co

    Reviewed by Guest Reviewer/Kimberly & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Having been sent to a convent when she was merely a child, by her seemingly unloving parents, Annabel, aside from some “behavioral” issues, was well on her way to taking the veil, until an abrupt and surprise visit from her mother after fourteen years. Annabel soon realizes that her mother has plans for her and they aren’t out of love for her daughter either. Annabel, in place of her sweet, demure and perfect sister, is to marry a great Scottish beast, Ross MacKay, and why does Annabel have to be sacrificed? Her lovely sister has disgraced her parents and run off with the stable master’s son. So instead of being a bride of the church, Annabel is set to become the bride of Ross MacKay.

    Ross MacKay has set off to his prospective bride’s holding with several of his trustworthy men. He soon finds out that he is being tricked by Annabel’s parents, but upon seeing her innocence and beauty, decides to marry her anyway, and once he sees that her parents are not the nicest of people, Ross whisks Annabel off to her new home is Scotland.

    Unfortunately, no happily ever after ensues, for Annabel finds herself in harms way more than once on her journey and upon arriving in her new homeland. When Annabel’s runaway sister shows up on her doorstep, begging forgiveness on one hand, and flirting with Ross on the other,we find things are not as they should be. Even though it was pre-ordained for Ross to marry, he does his best to make Annabel aware that he will be a good and caring husband. Annabel, on the other hand, hasn’t had much to do with the outside world. She is innocent in many ways and also feels the sting of her parent’s rejection still after fourteen year. She in no way sees herself as bright and beautiful as those around her do, and even tries to fight the feelings that Ross has for her, even those she bears for him.

    An English Bride in Scotland by Lynsay Sands has all the makings of a fast paced historical romance. Ross and Annabel are fabulous characters with such depth and feeling. In a time, where there are so many Scottish historical romances out there, this one stands out for its romance, its antagonists and its tale. Ross’ protectiveness of his new bride from the first leaves an impression and Annabel’s sense of humor and her inquisitiveness makes her a great heroine. I thoroughly enjoyed Lynsay Sands An English Bride in Scotland and I think you will as well.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Light, Fun and Engaging. Loved the Characters, the story and the

    Light, Fun and Engaging. Loved the Characters, the story and the romance. Another great read by Ms Sands.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Love the book, great story and one of her best. Great beach read

    Love the book, great story and one of her best. Great beach reading. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Awesome

    Such a sweet story a must buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Go Lynsay

    I have been waiting for the next highland novel for a long time. I was so excited when it finally came that i bought it right away. Lynsay you did not disappoint. This wad just Ass Foss as every other one! Loved it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    AN ENGLISH BRIDE IN SCOTLAND by Lynsay Sands is an exciting Medi

    AN ENGLISH BRIDE IN SCOTLAND by Lynsay Sands is an exciting Medieval Historical Romance set in Scotland. The first in a new historical series set in the Highlands of Scotland. Fast paced with passion,innocence,and love. You don’t want to miss this tale of love with a bit of laughter,lots of passion,danger,jealousy,the fate of a beloved sister and the happiness of another. Follow Annabel and Ross MacKay on a journey of the discovery of love. With compelling characters,and an interesting plot,Ms. Sands has done it again with her witty banter between the characters, her Highlanders,and her wonderful plots. I can hardly wait for her next historical romance set in the Highlands of Scotland. A must read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: HOT

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR,Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    I recommend this book for Lynsay Sands fans

    I always enjoy Lynsay's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Super

    Very enjoyable loved the interaction between hero and heroine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

      I've just started reading Lynsay Sands books and have not been

      I've just started reading Lynsay Sands books and have not been disappointed.  I loved the story, the characters and the ending. It was refreshing to see that beauty is in the eye of the beholder and that you can't judge a book by it's cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    First time reader

    My first for Lynsay and loved it... sweet sexy and loads of humor... must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2014

    Annabel and Ross were an excellent couple to read about in An En

    Annabel and Ross were an excellent couple to read about in An English Bride In Scotland.  I especially enjoyed the karma Linsay Sands
    dished out to Annabel's sister.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved it. funny, suspensefull, sweet and romantic, and sexy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    The best

    The best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    highly recommend

    loved this book, very good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    loved it

    enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Funny and sweet

    I liked thi book more than I thought i would. It took me a bit to get into it but I am glad i finished it.
    I found my self laughing at parts and realy got into it. I was sorry when I finshed the book and will be looking for more books by Ms.Sands

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great book if you like romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    Funny and witty!

    This is a fun love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4