Customer Reviews for

An Essay On Niggers and Squirrels

Average Rating 3.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Don't judge a book by it's cover...or title.

The people who have given this essay one star have not read it. It is written by a black man and describes his experiences and thoughts on the relationship between blacks and the white society. Give it a read.

posted by 8828942 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid read

Any educated person should not be shocked by anything in this essay. Good read.

posted by 12388682 on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Don't judge a book by it's cover...or title.

    The people who have given this essay one star have not read it. It is written by a black man and describes his experiences and thoughts on the relationship between blacks and the white society. Give it a read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Solid read

    Any educated person should not be shocked by anything in this essay. Good read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is an essay about one man's experience with law enforcement and the world in which he lives. This essay is very disturbing in some areas however, it is very insightful and a very good read. Highly recommended!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Your (understandable) offense to the title is the REASON you need to read this, & pass it on!

    Come, now. Let us reason together, you and I. This man's voice is not the "voice of a racist", nor are these words "garbage". Rather, these words (piercing, though they are) are an inconvenient truth that must not be ignored, ESPECIALLY by those that are offended by them. I refuse to hide behind anonymity to say that this work is important and relevant, especially in a state where things haven't changed a bit, no matter what you've been told. We must hear thestories that aren't told aloud. Please, read this work.
    Ps apparently, b&n forces anonymity :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Like it.

    Honest and insightful. I dont agree with every word but the perspective was helpful in getting my analytical side working on the issues at hand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Thoughtful

    The thoughtful contemplation of some of one mans experiences with raceism, it's impact on him and his family, and his plan of action to improve race relations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great read

    An insightful eassy written by a thoughtful man.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Shame

    I refuse to read this. Using the "N" word offends. The use of that word in the book may have its place. I will never know. I am a white middle class woman. I grew up in the San Francisco bay area during the 60s & 70s. There were race riots at my school. I witnessed anti war rallys in Berkely. My children are of mixed race. This may be an insightful read however I can't get past the title. I am sure I am not alone in feeling this way. One star because I must rate in order to post.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Garbage!

    racist garbage.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful.

    A great short essay that provided insight on racial differences. I quite enjoyed it and felt like I came away having learned something. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Good

    The title drew me in. The writing and truthfulness of the naritive keep me there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    K

    Learn to read the book first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Open nest

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    THE "N" MUST GO!!!!!!!!

    I DECIDED NOT TO READ THE ESSAY BECAUSE I WAS
    TURNED OFF BY THE TITLE. DID IT OFFEND ME? TO SOME DEGREE IT DID. I HAPPEN TO BE AN AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMAN AND JUST HATE THE USAGE OF THE "N" WORD.
    I HAPPEN TO LIVE IN AN LARGE URBAN AREA
    (NEW YORK CITY). I GREW UP IN THE 60'S AND WITNESSED THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT, BLACK POWER MOVEMENT AND THE BLACK MUSLIM MOVEMENT---IN ADDITION THE RACE RIOTS WHICH DESTROYED BLACK AREAS.
    NEEDLESS TO SAY THE OVER USE OF THE "N" WORD
    BY BLACKS (TEENS, YOUNG ADULTS, MIDDLE AGED
    ADULTS AND EVEN SENIOR CITIZENS) DISTURBS ME.
    IT'S USED AS A GREETING, TERM OF ENDEARMENT (WHICH
    REALLY SICKENS ME AS A BLACK WOMEN), AND
    FREQUENTLY WITH THE "F" WORD. IT ALL MAKES ME
    WANT TO PACK SOME CLOTHES, LOTS OF BOOKS, FOOD, WATER, A TENT AND PORTABLE POTTY AND FIND
    A SECLUDED SPOT AND WAIT OUT THE APOCALYPSE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Evilclan

    Stay out or die unless your evil

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2