Customer Reviews for

An Inconvenient Truth: The Planetary Emergency of Global Warming and What We Can Do About It

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Politics or common decency?

This book is very compelling, but the video is better. The current administration has set this nation back at least 50 years, and its environmental policies are actually inimical to the general welfare. We really must get away from red or blue and start doing the righ...
This book is very compelling, but the video is better. The current administration has set this nation back at least 50 years, and its environmental policies are actually inimical to the general welfare. We really must get away from red or blue and start doing the right thing. Addressing our impact on the environment is not a political issue, it is a moral one.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Liberalism at its Worst

The weather changes, people! The Earth goes through warm spurts. Now, you can't tell me something that has been happening long before cars or lightbulbs or anything like that were invented is now our fault. Despite his 'Inconvenient' thought process, there is many conve...
The weather changes, people! The Earth goes through warm spurts. Now, you can't tell me something that has been happening long before cars or lightbulbs or anything like that were invented is now our fault. Despite his 'Inconvenient' thought process, there is many convenient things about this book. Namely, it gives Gore money and power. The publicity and popularity of this book is sickening. How much more gullible can you get?

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Great logic and presentation of data

    This book is well organized, has wonderful photography and presents the information in a clear and concise manner. The general public would do well to read this book and appreciate the world's need to change its perception of what is happening to the environment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    ain't that something

    I think its interesting that all the reviews that give this book 1 star came from reviewers that talk about Al Gore as a politician, instead of a person who wrote a book about the environment. How easy it is to write a critical review instead of taking any action. We're ALL living on the same singular planet, folks. You either want to help it or not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Excellent - do buy this book! I loved it. While you are here, check out Trash Talk (ISBN#141372518X) which helps individuals make a real and measureable difference in their communities and in the world... simply through better waste and resource management!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    Liberalism at its Worst

    The weather changes, people! The Earth goes through warm spurts. Now, you can't tell me something that has been happening long before cars or lightbulbs or anything like that were invented is now our fault. Despite his 'Inconvenient' thought process, there is many convenient things about this book. Namely, it gives Gore money and power. The publicity and popularity of this book is sickening. How much more gullible can you get?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    A warning to be heeded.

    This book, by the former U.S. Vice President, serves or should serve, as a 'wake up' call to all of the inhabitants of this (our only, so far) planet. Mr. Gore gives many instances of how humanity's wasteful, and dangerous, consumption of fossil based fuels, primarily oil, have contributed to 'green house' gases which have let global warming develop at an alarming rate. It's easy for Conservatives to dismiss this a 'tree hugging' and 'liberal nonsense'. They are endangering all of us with such as dismissive view. It is not too late to save our planet, if we would heed Mr. Gore's words. Let's hope more of us are listening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Exaggerated Hyperbol

    As a scientist who has studied this issue for decades, I can tell anyone interested in the science that this book is garbage. If you love him and his politics, go ahead and read it, nothing I say about the true science will sway you anyway. But on a scientific basis, this book is trash and yellow journalism of the highest order.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Politics or common decency?

    This book is very compelling, but the video is better. The current administration has set this nation back at least 50 years, and its environmental policies are actually inimical to the general welfare. We really must get away from red or blue and start doing the right thing. Addressing our impact on the environment is not a political issue, it is a moral one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Brilliant and persuasive

    This is an awesome book even if you know nothing about the climate whatsoever. Provides excellent background knowledge and all counter arguments i thought of have been discussed by the end of the book(not a scientist so i dont know everything about the subject, just a few tidbits). A must read book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Seeing the big picture

    This book is highly educational and very accessible, even if you don't know much of anything about climate change before you read it. I found it very compelling, because Gore makes a very strong case for all of us to stop viewing the global warming crisis in terms of politics. It is indeed an 'inconvenient truth' that no matter how much power or money a person has, it's utterly meaningless if the planet is dying. You will really see the big picture if you read this book. The strongest example is in the fact that Gore only discusses the political aspect of global warming in the context of the crisis as a whole. This is not a politically motivated book, and that is the whole point in my opinion. Let's just get past this red-vs.-blue thing and focus on what matters, the earth that sustains us and that we must work harder to sustain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Act now

    I think it was an outstanding movie although I have not yet read the book. People should act now on what you are trying to persue. Although I am only 13 years old (I want to start to help out the enviornment at a young age.)I have a great impact on things like this. We should all be aware of these disasters that are happening in the world and help now. Thank you Al for making a difference in me and in many others out their. ( can't wait to read the book!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    This is truth, not politics.

    All those doubters who believe global warming to be a hoax should take careful note: the information in this book systematically shows that our best science in the present era is indisputable. Global Climate Change as accelerated by human fossil fuel use IS occuring. Mr. Gore does a fantastic job of presenting evidence that anyone can relate to. Someone unfamilliar with the topic might not understand 600,000 years of ice core data, but they can understand that birds are migrating differently, species are cropping up where they shouldn't be, and wild weather disasters are more common. This book is not going to teach a seasoned environmentalist much, but the stunning clarity of the writing and the presentation of the facts as such is enough to prompt a thorough reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Take politics out of it, this is just plain true...

    No matter what your politics the overwhelming majority of scientific evidence points to the fact that we, as a species, are changing our environment in a way which is already detrimental to our wellbeing and that of future generations. We do have the ability to turn this process around, but first we have to accept the reality of our impact and then we have to CARE... if not for our own wellbeing then for that of our children - who will inherent our legacy. We simply must realize that we cannot continue to see ourselves as somehow seperated from the earth system, somehow immune to all of the toxins that we continue spill onto the surface and into the atomsphere of what is the only home that God gave us to experience as human beings. We simply must take seriously our responsibility as stewards of the planet. If we continue to function under this delusion of psychological disconnect - or lack of responsibility - we will nonetheless be held accountable. It is as simple as cause and effect. Truly everything and everyone is subject to the laws of cause and effect. Gore's message isn't about politics. Democrats and Republicans alike, we are all down stream from somebody and we are all upstream from somebody. We are in this together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Important and compelling

    [Note: Not reviewing the man here, just the book, and I urge other reviewers to do the same - as tempting as it is, this is not a political forum.] Gore's facts are legion, and his way of stringing them together is intelligent and compelling, building a powerful picture of a world ecology at risk. Have you been wondering if it's your imagination that the lilacs are blooming earlier and earlier ... no, it isn't. It's just one of the 'Inconvenient Truths' that we don't want to look at about how our globe is changing faster than we imagined was possible. Without being alarmist, this is an important, worthy and well-researched book, well worth your time, and will provoke thought. My only wish is for more solutions to the dilemma we seem to have created for ourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    A great book and movie. Al Gore will be remembered for his abil

    A great book and movie. Al Gore will be remembered for his ability to present the facts as to why we must change in order to be successful in the natural world. I have personally interacted with the USA government regarding inconvenient truths and I can confirm that they have an extensive web of deceit in place to enable these “Inconvenient Truths” to be simply ignored. Keep on drinking the Kool-Aid! This book is a great starting point for those who want to understand environmental problems and where it is taking us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Gore misses with this book. As with Silent Spring (Rachel Carson), it presents a shallow, one sided story that uses junk science and misleads the reader. Yes, the environment is something special that should be nurtured, but I find it funny that all the Global Warmists are also anti-capitalist and that the only countries that are screamed at are capitalistic countries. Like Silent Spring, this book is important for raising the the questions, but harmful in trying to squash any real debate about the subject

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Should be called 'Convenient Lies'

    Without getting into the obvious political slant and nature of this book, Al Gore's book and movie do not represent the issue accurately. It is slanted to the 'Average American' who does not have the desire or ability to do their own research or even checking both sides of the issue. As a scientist myself, I am not in agreement that the 'debate' is over. Although we are most likely in a warming period, the earth has gone through these in the past...well before fossil fuels came into large-scale use. So before we go accepting these 'facts', lets not ridicule nor slander and unfund those seeking to look at the alternate views.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    Weak Writing

    Gore has a good topic here but he fails to describe it in a techncially unbiased manner. There are better books on this subject.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Al Bore spreads more lies

    Please read the political Incorrect Guide to Global Warming and learn the truth. Global Warming is much like the 1970's Global Cooling (remember that Al?) and is based on the same lies and pseudo science. The liberal media here and in Europe is either lazy and wont invest in the truth or is just as guilty as Al Bore.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Bad Power Point in Book Form

    The only redeeming value of this book is that is does have some really cool pictures, besides that, the actual content is rather flawed. First off, most of what is spit out from this book is made to just be taken as 'fact.' However, much of global warming is still very much 'theory' and is a matter of where one is taking their data points. There is still very much we still do not understand about climate, but Mr Gore just presents that the Earth, for sure, will die by 2050 as a result of our carbon emmissions. It is also missing several characteristics about carbon dixoide as a greenhouse gas. Graphs and figures are at many times highly exaggerated for effect and some citations are poorly referenced. I have no problem with the message that he tries to convey in this book in that as human beings we should be concerned about conserving our resources, but he does not present the full picture and seems to have 'magical' solutions for many issues concerning our enviroment. If you want to have a book where you can roll your eyes at for a couple hours, this is it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Why didn't Al tell us that Kyoto won't save us?

    Al Gore has been pushing the Kyoto Treaty on Americans since he was Vice-President, as the solution to global warming. Here's the sum total of all that he had to say about Kyoto in his book: Mr. Gore 'helped ... at the negotiations in Kyoto, Japan,' 'helped to write' the treaty, listed U.S. cities living with the Kyoto Protocol, and countries that ratified it. [Intro, p. 41, p. 288, p. 282] Thus, Al Gore was an 'insider' with inside knowledge of the limits of the Kyoto Protocol, yet he gave us no detailed information on it whatsoever. Richard Lindzen, PhD, the chair professor of meteorology in prestigious M.I.T. university, reviewed the movie version of this book. He said that he found Mr. Gore's 'An Inconvenient Truth' highly inaccurate, and in regard to Gore's 'shrill alarmism,' commented 'To believe it requires that one ignore the truly inconvenient facts.' [Wall Street Journal, 'There is no 'Consensus' on Global Warming,' June 26, 2006] That's what I found, too. When I noticed that both the range of temperature rises to 2100 and the value of Kyoto's cooling were missing from the book, I put together the math involved in the action of the Kyoto Treaty on the final temperature in 2100 and saw the whole picture. Using the best known values* in F [preferred by Gore], we have: [4.5 to 7.2] - 0.3 = [4.2 to 6.9]. In other words, the range of the temperature increase by 2100 is only reduced by 0.3 degrees F and thus remains almost the same as without Kyoto. THUS, KYOTO WON'T SAVE US FROM GORE'S DISASTER NIGHTMARES AT ALL! It only cools the increases by about 5%, leaving 95% of the temperature increase by 2100 untouched! Either those disasters aren't going to happen anyway, per the actual convictions of many scientists who disagree with Mr. Gore, or we may as well get prepared to withstand whatever amount of them happens, Kyoto or no Kyoto! Now, I see why Mr. Gore withheld the values. He probably saw this result and recognized the same conclusion, since he wrote the book and must have known all the numbers. He knew he couldn't get people to make the economic sacrifices of Kyoto if that wouldn't even save them from his disasters. So, like Richard Lindzen commented, he just 'ignored the truly inconvenient facts.' *The numbers 4.5 to 7.2 come from an average of modest estimates by global warming advocates that predicted increases from 2.5 to 4 degrees C all the way to 2100. That translates directly to 4.5 to 7.2 degrees F. The 0.3 F given as the cooling effect of Kyoto comes from the definition in the Kyoto treaty, modified by estimates of scientists since then to about .08 degrees C by 2050. That is .144 degrees F, extrapolated to .288 F by 2100, rounded up to 0.3 F.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2