Customer Reviews for

An Inconvenient Truth: The Planetary Emergency of Global Warming and What We Can Do About It

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Excellent - do buy this book! I loved it. While you are here, check out Trash Talk (ISBN#141372518X) which helps individuals make a real and measureable difference in their communities and in the world... simply through better waste and resource management!

posted by Anonymous on October 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Exaggerated Hyperbol

As a scientist who has studied this issue for decades, I can tell anyone interested in the science that this book is garbage. If you love him and his politics, go ahead and read it, nothing I say about the true science will sway you anyway. But on a scientific basis, ...
As a scientist who has studied this issue for decades, I can tell anyone interested in the science that this book is garbage. If you love him and his politics, go ahead and read it, nothing I say about the true science will sway you anyway. But on a scientific basis, this book is trash and yellow journalism of the highest order.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    Liberalism at its Worst

    The weather changes, people! The Earth goes through warm spurts. Now, you can't tell me something that has been happening long before cars or lightbulbs or anything like that were invented is now our fault. Despite his 'Inconvenient' thought process, there is many convenient things about this book. Namely, it gives Gore money and power. The publicity and popularity of this book is sickening. How much more gullible can you get?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    Exaggerated Hyperbol

    As a scientist who has studied this issue for decades, I can tell anyone interested in the science that this book is garbage. If you love him and his politics, go ahead and read it, nothing I say about the true science will sway you anyway. But on a scientific basis, this book is trash and yellow journalism of the highest order.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2007

    Should be called 'Convenient Lies'

    Without getting into the obvious political slant and nature of this book, Al Gore's book and movie do not represent the issue accurately. It is slanted to the 'Average American' who does not have the desire or ability to do their own research or even checking both sides of the issue. As a scientist myself, I am not in agreement that the 'debate' is over. Although we are most likely in a warming period, the earth has gone through these in the past...well before fossil fuels came into large-scale use. So before we go accepting these 'facts', lets not ridicule nor slander and unfund those seeking to look at the alternate views.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Al Bore spreads more lies

    Please read the political Incorrect Guide to Global Warming and learn the truth. Global Warming is much like the 1970's Global Cooling (remember that Al?) and is based on the same lies and pseudo science. The liberal media here and in Europe is either lazy and wont invest in the truth or is just as guilty as Al Bore.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Bad Power Point in Book Form

    The only redeeming value of this book is that is does have some really cool pictures, besides that, the actual content is rather flawed. First off, most of what is spit out from this book is made to just be taken as 'fact.' However, much of global warming is still very much 'theory' and is a matter of where one is taking their data points. There is still very much we still do not understand about climate, but Mr Gore just presents that the Earth, for sure, will die by 2050 as a result of our carbon emmissions. It is also missing several characteristics about carbon dixoide as a greenhouse gas. Graphs and figures are at many times highly exaggerated for effect and some citations are poorly referenced. I have no problem with the message that he tries to convey in this book in that as human beings we should be concerned about conserving our resources, but he does not present the full picture and seems to have 'magical' solutions for many issues concerning our enviroment. If you want to have a book where you can roll your eyes at for a couple hours, this is it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Why didn't Al tell us that Kyoto won't save us?

    Al Gore has been pushing the Kyoto Treaty on Americans since he was Vice-President, as the solution to global warming. Here's the sum total of all that he had to say about Kyoto in his book: Mr. Gore 'helped ... at the negotiations in Kyoto, Japan,' 'helped to write' the treaty, listed U.S. cities living with the Kyoto Protocol, and countries that ratified it. [Intro, p. 41, p. 288, p. 282] Thus, Al Gore was an 'insider' with inside knowledge of the limits of the Kyoto Protocol, yet he gave us no detailed information on it whatsoever. Richard Lindzen, PhD, the chair professor of meteorology in prestigious M.I.T. university, reviewed the movie version of this book. He said that he found Mr. Gore's 'An Inconvenient Truth' highly inaccurate, and in regard to Gore's 'shrill alarmism,' commented 'To believe it requires that one ignore the truly inconvenient facts.' [Wall Street Journal, 'There is no 'Consensus' on Global Warming,' June 26, 2006] That's what I found, too. When I noticed that both the range of temperature rises to 2100 and the value of Kyoto's cooling were missing from the book, I put together the math involved in the action of the Kyoto Treaty on the final temperature in 2100 and saw the whole picture. Using the best known values* in F [preferred by Gore], we have: [4.5 to 7.2] - 0.3 = [4.2 to 6.9]. In other words, the range of the temperature increase by 2100 is only reduced by 0.3 degrees F and thus remains almost the same as without Kyoto. THUS, KYOTO WON'T SAVE US FROM GORE'S DISASTER NIGHTMARES AT ALL! It only cools the increases by about 5%, leaving 95% of the temperature increase by 2100 untouched! Either those disasters aren't going to happen anyway, per the actual convictions of many scientists who disagree with Mr. Gore, or we may as well get prepared to withstand whatever amount of them happens, Kyoto or no Kyoto! Now, I see why Mr. Gore withheld the values. He probably saw this result and recognized the same conclusion, since he wrote the book and must have known all the numbers. He knew he couldn't get people to make the economic sacrifices of Kyoto if that wouldn't even save them from his disasters. So, like Richard Lindzen commented, he just 'ignored the truly inconvenient facts.' *The numbers 4.5 to 7.2 come from an average of modest estimates by global warming advocates that predicted increases from 2.5 to 4 degrees C all the way to 2100. That translates directly to 4.5 to 7.2 degrees F. The 0.3 F given as the cooling effect of Kyoto comes from the definition in the Kyoto treaty, modified by estimates of scientists since then to about .08 degrees C by 2050. That is .144 degrees F, extrapolated to .288 F by 2100, rounded up to 0.3 F.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    One of the worst

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read! All Al does is report facts that slant the viewpoint of the reader. The other side of the argument isn't even presented. Look at the natural cycles of the greenland land mass, it has been thawing and freezing in a natural cycle forever. Politicians are slimy to begin with, but politicians(who can't win) turned writers are the worst kind of rubbish our society produces.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1