Customer Reviews for

An Inconvenient Truth: The Planetary Emergency of Global Warming and What We Can Do About It

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Excellent - do buy this book! I loved it. While you are here, check out Trash Talk (ISBN#141372518X) which helps individuals make a real and measureable difference in their communities and in the world... simply through better waste and resource management!

posted by Anonymous on October 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Exaggerated Hyperbol

As a scientist who has studied this issue for decades, I can tell anyone interested in the science that this book is garbage. If you love him and his politics, go ahead and read it, nothing I say about the true science will sway you anyway. But on a scientific basis, ...
As a scientist who has studied this issue for decades, I can tell anyone interested in the science that this book is garbage. If you love him and his politics, go ahead and read it, nothing I say about the true science will sway you anyway. But on a scientific basis, this book is trash and yellow journalism of the highest order.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Great logic and presentation of data

    This book is well organized, has wonderful photography and presents the information in a clear and concise manner. The general public would do well to read this book and appreciate the world's need to change its perception of what is happening to the environment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Excellent - do buy this book! I loved it. While you are here, check out Trash Talk (ISBN#141372518X) which helps individuals make a real and measureable difference in their communities and in the world... simply through better waste and resource management!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    A warning to be heeded.

    This book, by the former U.S. Vice President, serves or should serve, as a 'wake up' call to all of the inhabitants of this (our only, so far) planet. Mr. Gore gives many instances of how humanity's wasteful, and dangerous, consumption of fossil based fuels, primarily oil, have contributed to 'green house' gases which have let global warming develop at an alarming rate. It's easy for Conservatives to dismiss this a 'tree hugging' and 'liberal nonsense'. They are endangering all of us with such as dismissive view. It is not too late to save our planet, if we would heed Mr. Gore's words. Let's hope more of us are listening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Politics or common decency?

    This book is very compelling, but the video is better. The current administration has set this nation back at least 50 years, and its environmental policies are actually inimical to the general welfare. We really must get away from red or blue and start doing the right thing. Addressing our impact on the environment is not a political issue, it is a moral one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    Brilliant and persuasive

    This is an awesome book even if you know nothing about the climate whatsoever. Provides excellent background knowledge and all counter arguments i thought of have been discussed by the end of the book(not a scientist so i dont know everything about the subject, just a few tidbits). A must read book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Seeing the big picture

    This book is highly educational and very accessible, even if you don't know much of anything about climate change before you read it. I found it very compelling, because Gore makes a very strong case for all of us to stop viewing the global warming crisis in terms of politics. It is indeed an 'inconvenient truth' that no matter how much power or money a person has, it's utterly meaningless if the planet is dying. You will really see the big picture if you read this book. The strongest example is in the fact that Gore only discusses the political aspect of global warming in the context of the crisis as a whole. This is not a politically motivated book, and that is the whole point in my opinion. Let's just get past this red-vs.-blue thing and focus on what matters, the earth that sustains us and that we must work harder to sustain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Act now

    I think it was an outstanding movie although I have not yet read the book. People should act now on what you are trying to persue. Although I am only 13 years old (I want to start to help out the enviornment at a young age.)I have a great impact on things like this. We should all be aware of these disasters that are happening in the world and help now. Thank you Al for making a difference in me and in many others out their. ( can't wait to read the book!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    This is truth, not politics.

    All those doubters who believe global warming to be a hoax should take careful note: the information in this book systematically shows that our best science in the present era is indisputable. Global Climate Change as accelerated by human fossil fuel use IS occuring. Mr. Gore does a fantastic job of presenting evidence that anyone can relate to. Someone unfamilliar with the topic might not understand 600,000 years of ice core data, but they can understand that birds are migrating differently, species are cropping up where they shouldn't be, and wild weather disasters are more common. This book is not going to teach a seasoned environmentalist much, but the stunning clarity of the writing and the presentation of the facts as such is enough to prompt a thorough reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Take politics out of it, this is just plain true...

    No matter what your politics the overwhelming majority of scientific evidence points to the fact that we, as a species, are changing our environment in a way which is already detrimental to our wellbeing and that of future generations. We do have the ability to turn this process around, but first we have to accept the reality of our impact and then we have to CARE... if not for our own wellbeing then for that of our children - who will inherent our legacy. We simply must realize that we cannot continue to see ourselves as somehow seperated from the earth system, somehow immune to all of the toxins that we continue spill onto the surface and into the atomsphere of what is the only home that God gave us to experience as human beings. We simply must take seriously our responsibility as stewards of the planet. If we continue to function under this delusion of psychological disconnect - or lack of responsibility - we will nonetheless be held accountable. It is as simple as cause and effect. Truly everything and everyone is subject to the laws of cause and effect. Gore's message isn't about politics. Democrats and Republicans alike, we are all down stream from somebody and we are all upstream from somebody. We are in this together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Important and compelling

    [Note: Not reviewing the man here, just the book, and I urge other reviewers to do the same - as tempting as it is, this is not a political forum.] Gore's facts are legion, and his way of stringing them together is intelligent and compelling, building a powerful picture of a world ecology at risk. Have you been wondering if it's your imagination that the lilacs are blooming earlier and earlier ... no, it isn't. It's just one of the 'Inconvenient Truths' that we don't want to look at about how our globe is changing faster than we imagined was possible. Without being alarmist, this is an important, worthy and well-researched book, well worth your time, and will provoke thought. My only wish is for more solutions to the dilemma we seem to have created for ourselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    A great book and movie. Al Gore will be remembered for his abil

    A great book and movie. Al Gore will be remembered for his ability to present the facts as to why we must change in order to be successful in the natural world. I have personally interacted with the USA government regarding inconvenient truths and I can confirm that they have an extensive web of deceit in place to enable these “Inconvenient Truths” to be simply ignored. Keep on drinking the Kool-Aid! This book is a great starting point for those who want to understand environmental problems and where it is taking us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    About time

    It is always difficult to digest bad news. But the when a major part of the cause is us the truth must be told. I respect the author for the effort to bring this very important issue forward. It's a must read. But will we take the inconvenient truth seriously or stay with our convenient lies?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    For everybody

    To me this was and amazing book since I have spend 7 years fighting this battle, making people understand. There are no lies, like other reviewer said, it is about informing everybody worldwide about what its going on. We have to contribute at least in small ways. Join us on our cause to 'stop global warming'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    If u don't read it - don't hug your kids

    Al Gore and Rodale Books does an excellent job stringing together disparate data, charts and pictures to impress upon all of us the historic calamity about to befall us unless we change our SUV-driving ways. If yu love your kids, you definately must see this. Al Gore, the New Jeremiah!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    I'm a geek, you have a week.

    The movie is not in my town yet, so I read the book. It is inspiring! I signed my name on the inside cover with date read and told my wife 'I'm a geek, you have a week.' She has to pass it on within a week to someone who will do the same. I am thinking of buying ten and doing the same thing. I might actually be a geek, but reading it and taking the actions at the end of the book makes me think I am part of something big, and that we can do something historic in reversing global climate change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2006

    Brilliant and Provocative

    Incredibly insightful. The passion and intellect with which Mr. Gore presents the severity of the global warming issue in written form and on the screen is impressive. Well documented and well developed. A must read for all curious and concerned citizens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1