Customer Reviews for

An Irish Country Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good read but some flaws in Nook version

As nice a read as the other books in the series.

But paging on the Nook went wacky between 832 and 846.
Skipped pages when "turned" or didn't advance at all. Used the slide bar to try to work around the issue but gave up and just moved on .... too bad because it meant...
As nice a read as the other books in the series.

But paging on the Nook went wacky between 832 and 846.
Skipped pages when "turned" or didn't advance at all. Used the slide bar to try to work around the issue but gave up and just moved on .... too bad because it meant missing the various wedding toasts.

posted by 183978 on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too lonh Too long

Too drawn out. skipped half the book. All the village characters had a happy ending.

posted by Annie97 on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Good read but some flaws in Nook version

    As nice a read as the other books in the series.

    But paging on the Nook went wacky between 832 and 846.
    Skipped pages when "turned" or didn't advance at all. Used the slide bar to try to work around the issue but gave up and just moved on .... too bad because it meant missing the various wedding toasts.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    This book has not been released yet.

    This book has not been released yet. I have loved all of Patrick Taylor's books and so has my husband, who is not a reader at all. He cannot wait for this new book to come out.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    ?

    Love this series as does my husband. It makes us yearn for a trip to Ireland. I understand the next book will be out in October.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Highly recommended - A good book to get lost in!

    I've read all Patrick Taylor's Irish Country books and loved them all!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I was very disappointed in this book. It was too long and drawn

    I was very disappointed in this book. It was too long and drawn out. While the characters were interesting, the author didn't keep things moving. I was expecting more of a strory about the main characters and not so many villagers. I always feel so cheated when I spend hard earned money on a book and have to force myself to finish it. I really had to force myself to finish it because I was meeting with my book club. No more Patrick Taylor, M.D. for me!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Too lonh Too long

    Too drawn out. skipped half the book. All the village characters had a happy ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I have read all seven of these books, and I just love them! Unf

    I have read all seven of these books, and I just love them! Unfortunately, the problem with that is that these are the BEST "feel-good" books I've read in ages! Right now I've been reading a somewhat depressing book about WWI (Ken Follett's "Fall of Giants"), and such books about war are sometimes depressing, so I frequently read something else cheerful for a while and then go back to the sad one. But - now that I've read all of these books, I'll have to find something else to cheer me up. As a pediatrician who went to med school in the 1960's, I feel close to these doctors! Such fun stories, especially for a physician to read, but ANYBODY will love them! Please hurry, Dr. Taylor. with the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    A delightful and informative read! Looking forward to the sequel!

    You will love being taken by the doctors loyalty to their profession with seriousness and wonderful sense of humor. There is just the right blend of Irish history to keep your interest peaked. I have missed a book of this serries...ENJOY!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Fun

    I like to readfun books. Some serious parts about the troubles in Ireland. I am going to miss these characters after the next and I believe, the last in series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Always a treasure

    Time spent in Ballybucklebo is always enjoyable - although I thought the book would be more about the relationship and wedding of Dr. F and Miss Kitty and less so about Barry leaving for his specialization studies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    I wish there were more in this series. I've read & enjoyed them all.

    I love this series and hope Mr. Taylor will pen some more of them.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    RECOMMENDED

    Another great book in the "Country Doctor Series" by Patrick Taylor. I feel that Dr. Patrick Taylor would be the doctor who I would like too have. Normally do not read fiction but his books are informative and to the point.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    As addictive as his other Balleybuckleboo stories.

    As always, Patrick Taylor delivers a first class look at the Irish and the ins and outs of their daily life. Fingal and Kitty, what a delightful couple. When you finish this read, you will want to turn back to page one and begin again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Patrick Taylor's books are just so enjoyable and this one is no

    Patrick Taylor's books are just so enjoyable and this one is no exception. Superb reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    An excellent addition to the series

    I bought this for myself and also for my aunt. We both loved the book and hated to see it end. The time and characters are so well defined. I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading a book about a time gone by, but with values still relevant today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Hightly recommend

    I have not read it as yet but if it is like his other books will be good. I really have enjoyed the Irish Country series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Loved it

    Good read! Characters are well developed. I look forward to Patrick Taylor's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Another great addition to the series - love them all!

    This book is a continuation of the great series - I have read them all and look forward to another addition to a good story. Love to see what is new with all these characters and the whole country side of Balleybuckleboo! Thanks for adding this one and hope there is an addition in the future. Helen Roper

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I have read the entire series by Patrick Taylor. This is excellent, fun reading. We need more books on the adventures of Dr.O'Reilly, Dr.Laverty, Kinky, and the rest of the residents of Ballybuckalo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect ending to a wonderful series!

    This series was introduced by a friend and I was immediately hooked. This was the perfect ending but it felt like moving away from good friends. I will miss them, but the memories are comforting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3