Customer Reviews for

An Irish Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about

I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about a married man who finds love outside his marriage it is still an exceptional read I could hardly put it down. I felt so sad for Maggie and Pat and the fact that he had a wife and family awaiting him in the ...
I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about a married man who finds love outside his marriage it is still an exceptional read I could hardly put it down. I felt so sad for Maggie and Pat and the fact that he had a wife and family awaiting him in the US because in Ireland he found his soul mate in Maggie. I won't ruin the story but I will say this love will find a way and I would have done the same thing had I been in his shoes. What a great story!!!

posted by Joni78 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Nope

I tried, but couldnt get past the fact he cheated and quit reading in the middle of the book. Im not fond of books that make me sad, that isnt my idea of entertainment.

posted by 7214097 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about

    I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about a married man who finds love outside his marriage it is still an exceptional read I could hardly put it down. I felt so sad for Maggie and Pat and the fact that he had a wife and family awaiting him in the US because in Ireland he found his soul mate in Maggie. I won't ruin the story but I will say this love will find a way and I would have done the same thing had I been in his shoes. What a great story!!!

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Nope

    I tried, but couldnt get past the fact he cheated and quit reading in the middle of the book. Im not fond of books that make me sad, that isnt my idea of entertainment.

    19 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Their is no earthly reward for cheating

    Not my kind of entertainment. I would not want anyone who could turn their back on their family. Thanks for the heads up.

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Ok

    Although I didn't like the loose morals of the characters, I did want to know the ending. Honestly wished I had skipped reading this novel.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Tough to ignore....

    I can't get passed the immorality of the characters & plot. I could not enjoy this book.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Just OK

    I read the whole book, but not non-stop. Was disappointing that it included infidelity. Was hoping he would not concede, but then surprise, wife was cheating also, so happy ending. Some people might love it, just not my particular cup of tea.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Cheater

    A man who cheats on his wife, has a child with the other woman does not deserve respect and should run for governor of California. This book is about 375 pages of storyline in a 381 page book. It was actually pretty well edited. I was looking foward to reading a book set in Ireland, since I am an Irish decendent. I was disappointed. The authors of romance novels throw their characters into bed way too fast. A cheater who does not use protection, and knows little about his or her partner is nothing but an incubater for AIDS and other STDS, as well as creating unwanted children. I did not enjoy this book and I do not recommend it. If I did, it would be for adult readers.

    AD

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    LOVELY

    ... simply, lovely

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Just ok

    You can tell a man wrote it. The main character gets to cheat on his wife & lust after other women while the lady waits 20 years for him without being with anyone else. Give me a break.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Don't bother

    I purchased this book because of my interest in Ireland. When the main character, who left a lovely family back home, began an affair with an Irish woman I put the book down. I was very disappointed.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Wonderful,

    Great read,

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Could not put it down...

    Simply delightful...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    An Irish Love Story

    Awesome read. Kept me going till the end. A COULD NOT PUT DOWN BOOK.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    great read

    This is a very interesting book. I hope everyone who reads it enjoys it as much as I did. I would recommend this book to any one that likes romance book and also likes to read about other countries. I would definitely read this author again!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Respect anyone?

    It was obvious by pg 42 where this was going. No I didn't finish the book. I have no interest in reading a "love story" about people who have so little respect for keeping the promise that is marriage, no matter how "swept away" or "romantic". Why should I be interested in characters I can't respect. Other reviewers seem to think it's okay since the marriage was obviously in trouble and his wife cheated too. BS. If you think you might not be able to keep a promise at least have the balls to be up front about it. To do otherwise is just weak rationalization.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Sweet Story

    Yes, I agree that adultery is wrong but, this story was very sweet and I would definately reccomend it. It says in the description that he falls in love even though he is already married so if you already know you don't like that, don't read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Disappointed

    I chose this book because of the title as I Love Ireland and thought it would be a good story. However, I was extremely sad after reading it to find out it was about a cheating husband. The descriptions of Ireland were wonderful and you felt like you were there, but the story itself was disturbing in that he was living with a young irish girl while all along knowing that he had his wife and children in the U.S.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Must read for all Romantics!!!

    Very charming story! I felt like I was in Ireland!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    I made it to page 68

    I didnt feel a connection between them

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Amazing

    I loved this book. Couldnt stop reading it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10