Customer Reviews for

An Irish Love Story

Average Rating 3.5
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about

I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about a married man who finds love outside his marriage it is still an exceptional read I could hardly put it down. I felt so sad for Maggie and Pat and the fact that he had a wife and family awaiting him in the ...
I highly recommend this story...Even though this story is about a married man who finds love outside his marriage it is still an exceptional read I could hardly put it down. I felt so sad for Maggie and Pat and the fact that he had a wife and family awaiting him in the US because in Ireland he found his soul mate in Maggie. I won't ruin the story but I will say this love will find a way and I would have done the same thing had I been in his shoes. What a great story!!!

posted by Joni78 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Nope

I tried, but couldnt get past the fact he cheated and quit reading in the middle of the book. Im not fond of books that make me sad, that isnt my idea of entertainment.

posted by 7214097 on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Wonderful,

    Great read,

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Sweet Story

    Yes, I agree that adultery is wrong but, this story was very sweet and I would definately reccomend it. It says in the description that he falls in love even though he is already married so if you already know you don't like that, don't read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Good

    Ok i dont like cheating either but somestimes theheart wants what it wants. Plus he did the right thing and i really wish they had not lost all the time they cld have been togther. Great ending

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Good story

    Infidelity certainly isn't admirable, but it was also obvious that there was trouble in the marriage (although Patrick didn't realize it for years). The love story of Patrick and Maggie and of both of them and Ireland was heartfet and wonderfully described.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    It was a good story, even though it involved cheating. I thought

    It was a good story, even though it involved cheating. I thought everything worked out well in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Nice read

    Loved it , could not put it down till I knew what became of Patrick and Maggie. Would recommend to those that hold out for love and those who have faith .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Good.

    Well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    This was really a great book.

    Had a nice ending. Which U had more of how she live Thur her yrs away from him. #1 how her life with her husband n raising her son. How her best friend was there for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Good story

    Very enjoyable easy read. Nice to have a good story on a dreary winter day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    ok

    This was a ok book was alittle leiry in the begining was not to sure i would like it though it got better at the end but still just a ok book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Worth the read.

    It was well written & captivating. However, it almost seems like the author thinks the adultery is "OK". Enough said b/c I don't want to spoil the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great book. Really shows how the Irish read, talk, act, and fall in love with an American.

    This book is a great way to understand how it feels to travel to Ireland and fall in love with an Irish girl. Even if you are married and have 2 beautiful children. The way Patrick's feelings are described maes you feel like you are inside his mind. The way he cares for Maggie is unconditional love. Even though he is married he falls deeply in love with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    4 stars you will enjoy this book.

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read. A very interesting love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    An irish love story

    Excellent love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Will there be a next book?

    I liked this book and how it shows that people can always be sure somethin good can come out of everything. Even when your life seems at a loss and you feel it will never get better. Will there be another book? I am hoping so. Maybe about his son growing up... Or Maggie and his son going with him to meet his other kids and his ex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Life happens

    So interesting some reviewers are incensed over infidelity. Its called life and sometimes its messy. In this case, he did not end his marriage over a brief time of unexpected love. The book is not very deep, I felt it was more like an outline. Quick read. Events happened fast with no feeling for the reader in my opinion. It was free and actually made me want to visit Ireland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    People crack me up with their holier than thou reviews. It's a

    People crack me up with their holier than thou reviews. It's a book. Do you really think people in real life don't cheat - I guess you don't watch most tv show today either? A book doesn't deserve a 1 star rating just because it doesn't sit well with your morals (esp. from those of you in your review clearly show you didn't even read it in the slightest and based your review on others reviews). Especially when it's free, just stop reading it and go about your day.

    This book is well written and I loved the descriptions of Ireland. Having been there myself, this author really captured the heart of Ireland's countryside. Sure, one would hope he wouldn't cheat on his wife (who surprise, she cheated too), there wouldn't be much of a story if this didn't occur. Sure, it could have just been a love story, but I believe it was meant to be a twist of the agnony one would feel to find their soul mate but after they were already married to another. The thing that bothered me more (sorry, I just can't get on the soapbox of cheating when IT'S A BOOK!), was that after he was divorced, he waited so long to find Maggie. Almost diminishes from the soul mate plot that the author so greatly built prior. I wish the author would do a follow up book because while it was a happy ending, I wanted to know more (or at the very least, I would have liked it een more if he expanded the book a few more chapters after the original ending).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Nook friend?

    Hcg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Private

    Well written book with interesting characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Private

    Enjoyed the book. Can't go wrong for a free read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3