Customer Reviews for

An Other Cup

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Yusuf Islam (Cat Stevens) is a talented, gentle soul . . . .

    Of the dozen CDs that I have purchased in the past year, this one is at the top of the list.  I can honestly say that I like every track on this CD, with the first two being my absolute favorites.  I would like to thank Yusuf, for giving us a look into his psyche after 30 years . . . .welcome back - we missed you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just what a spirit needs

    Not only is Yusuf Islam a wonderful human being with a heart of peace - he has not lost his talent in thirty+ years for writing music that appeals to people who are worldly aware of competing struggles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD!!!

    Refreshing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    inspiring

    more than just a song, Yusuf try to call us to back to our nature, to our humanity.Further,I hope there will be many singer not just sing a song, but also try to educate listeners about peace and humanity. Two thumbs up for Yusuf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Uninspiring

    There is good and there is bad, la,la,la. That's how I'd summarize the lyrics. The melodies are just as simplistic. Probably good for putting you to sleep, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    yay.

    I have to admit I haven't got the album (yet) so I haven't heard everything on it but what I have heard online sounds nice. I love the lyrics to all of the songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    looking for...

    Like the picture in the cover (an ocean into a tea cup)the musics into the CD are a world of delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    When I met Yusuf

    Yusuf is a man you feel sincerity whenever you meet him or listen to his music I remember meeting him back 1982 for 3 hours .he was discussing various things with many people with different ideologies and answering their questions so openly I was impressed . His latest is marvelous and deep in melodies and deep spiritual touches .you can’t help not feeling it gushing out.I love all songs in an other cup bunch. I find it hard to prefer one rose from the other from the same bundle. Thank you Yusuf for your legendry love for all humanity. Our world is really something with your presence I pray for you a long life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The CAT has done it once again~

    This is an amazing, mind blowing CD. IT's full of spiritual meaning that any person of any faith can relate to. It is uplifting to hear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Cat is Back! With a stronger bite.

    A great album. I've listen to it number of times till there are scratches on my disc. "The Beloved" is the best track.....ah but all the tracks are great. Yusuf is back, more matured. Dont worry, he wont channel the profit from the sales to terrorism. He's not a terrorist. Dont misunderstood him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    thank you so much yusuf islam.

    just to hear your voice , your words. thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This CD was quite a surprise, but in a positive way. Yusuf has revitalized his voice, and it sounds wonderful. His words carry so much depth, and he doesn't seem to care what anyone says- he's just doing what he likes to do. Good for you, Yusuf. Keep it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cat is back!

    I truly enjoyed this album. Highly recommended. My favorite songs are: Another World, Midday, Heaven, I see the light, Green fields, Beloved and In the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great comeback

    The tempo is obviously slower, but that is expected from 59 year old Yusef. Music is excellent over all. Refreshing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A sellout

    Yes his music is new and revised for the time but it is hard to get past the hypocrisy. Here is a man that walked away from his career and has sinced protested against capitalism and the U.S. and now wants Americans to buy his records. Not now not ever! Ask yourself When he gets the profits from the record will he use it to harm people. Yusuf can answer this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eh!

    By all means buy this CD if you want to help fund Hezbollah and Hamas.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Other (Cup) Review

    What a joy to welcome back an old friend and his new songs. Most of my music heroes from the late 60s and 70s have never recaptured the creative juices they had in their 20s, but Yusuf Islam has. I doubt that Yusuf will get much airplay on radio, but in this new age, who needs it? Radio airplay is so 1970. At least three of these songs are as good as any he's done: Midday, Heaven, and Maybe There's a World ... the first three on An Other Cup. Another, I Think I See The Light, is growing on me rapidly. Why, fans of musicals even have a song for them, Greenfields, Golden Sands. What a rich, diverse, collection from Yusuf’s many influences. Further, very few artists can make a decent cover song. Yusuf was among the best at that with Morning Has Broken. He defined the song. Now, he transforms Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood into his own song. There's no sampling or gimmicks, just a song transformed. If this Wild World ever needed someone to bridge the growing gulf between Islam and the West, it's now and Yusuf Islam may be the only person who can do it. I'd love to see him singing Peace Train at the Mall in Washington, D.C., Midday at a Central Park concert in New York, Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood in LA. The perfect symbolic setting for Yusuf to bring a better understanding of the Crescent Religion to the West would be under the Arch in St. Louis ... America's Gateway to the West. Following the extremely bitter and negative political campaign in which Americans repudiated "Stay the Course" in Iraq, we certainly could use some of his optimism and hope. The release of An Other Cup could be a defining moment in the war between Islam and the West where a good man steps forward to bring about understanding and true dialogue. Or, it could be ignored and ridiculed by the same forces that brought us the recent election and the War in Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1