BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

An Unforgettable Lady

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Different But GOOD!

I was super excited when I came across this book. I'm a huge fan of the Blackdagger Brotherhood books and the Fallen Angel books so I know JR Ward's style. This book is not like those at all. It's got suspense and romance but not to much comedy. But the characters are...
I was super excited when I came across this book. I'm a huge fan of the Blackdagger Brotherhood books and the Fallen Angel books so I know JR Ward's style. This book is not like those at all. It's got suspense and romance but not to much comedy. But the characters are awesome as usual and the story line is intense. I loved this book by then end!

posted by AshleyA25 on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid Read with a few minor Annoyances

An Unforgettable Lady was originally published in 2004 under the penname Jessica Bird and was rereleased this year because of JR Ward's popularity. Grace Hall is a woman born of wealth and privilege. A madman had decided to target the richest most influential women of N...
An Unforgettable Lady was originally published in 2004 under the penname Jessica Bird and was rereleased this year because of JR Ward's popularity. Grace Hall is a woman born of wealth and privilege. A madman had decided to target the richest most influential women of New York. One by one Grace's friends are being brutally murdered in their homes and Grace fears that she will be next. She hires John Smith, a body guard to the rich and famous who is the best in the business. What complicates things even more is that John and Grace shared a passionate moment a few days prior and neither thought they would see the other again.

An Unforgettable Lady was my first Jessica Bird book and a contemporary none the less. I am very familiar with Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood books which I have enjoyed very much. I was looking forward to this with enthusiasm. I thought it was a solid read with a few minor annoyances.

I liked both Grace and John's personalities. Grace although a high society princess, never acted like one. She was very considerate and polite of others, albeit she was always very contained when it came to her own emotions. Her buttoned up demeanor is what John is drawn to and he can't help but admire her poise. John himself is very contained when it comes to his emotions except when he is around Grace. Then he surprises himself when he is unable to remain in control. I enjoyed his inner monologues when he is trying to rationalize his attraction to Grace and the steps he plans to take to resolve this problem. As logical as he tries to be it doesn't exactly work out like he planned.

John and Grace fight their attraction to each other for most of the book. This is where the book falters for me somewhat. This is not a romantic suspense therefore John and Grace's relationship is front and center. While this may sound like a good thing, I felt that the middle of the book became stagnant with not enough of the plot moving forward. Grace and John fighting their attraction is okay the first couple of times, but after the fifth time, things were getting old. Lather, rinse and repeat. Other than a dull middle, the beginning and end were great. I can see myself reading more of Ward's contemporary books.

posted by Romance_rookie on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Different But GOOD!

    I was super excited when I came across this book. I'm a huge fan of the Blackdagger Brotherhood books and the Fallen Angel books so I know JR Ward's style. This book is not like those at all. It's got suspense and romance but not to much comedy. But the characters are awesome as usual and the story line is intense. I loved this book by then end!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Solid Read with a few minor Annoyances

    An Unforgettable Lady was originally published in 2004 under the penname Jessica Bird and was rereleased this year because of JR Ward's popularity. Grace Hall is a woman born of wealth and privilege. A madman had decided to target the richest most influential women of New York. One by one Grace's friends are being brutally murdered in their homes and Grace fears that she will be next. She hires John Smith, a body guard to the rich and famous who is the best in the business. What complicates things even more is that John and Grace shared a passionate moment a few days prior and neither thought they would see the other again.

    An Unforgettable Lady was my first Jessica Bird book and a contemporary none the less. I am very familiar with Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood books which I have enjoyed very much. I was looking forward to this with enthusiasm. I thought it was a solid read with a few minor annoyances.

    I liked both Grace and John's personalities. Grace although a high society princess, never acted like one. She was very considerate and polite of others, albeit she was always very contained when it came to her own emotions. Her buttoned up demeanor is what John is drawn to and he can't help but admire her poise. John himself is very contained when it comes to his emotions except when he is around Grace. Then he surprises himself when he is unable to remain in control. I enjoyed his inner monologues when he is trying to rationalize his attraction to Grace and the steps he plans to take to resolve this problem. As logical as he tries to be it doesn't exactly work out like he planned.

    John and Grace fight their attraction to each other for most of the book. This is where the book falters for me somewhat. This is not a romantic suspense therefore John and Grace's relationship is front and center. While this may sound like a good thing, I felt that the middle of the book became stagnant with not enough of the plot moving forward. Grace and John fighting their attraction is okay the first couple of times, but after the fifth time, things were getting old. Lather, rinse and repeat. Other than a dull middle, the beginning and end were great. I can see myself reading more of Ward's contemporary books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting

    I know I have been slacking on reviews lately and I apologize for that, but let me first say that An Unforgettable Lady, by Jessica Bird, aka JR Ward, was a surprisingly good read. I normally stick to paranormal reads but this one was recommended through a friend and it was simply very good.
    The book is centered on the main character, Grace Hall who is a stunning society beauty, married to a Count. She's also a strong businesswoman who's recently come to the realization that the older male board members at her father's foundation don't think she can run the place; her absent husband is a philandering, abusive creep; and there's at least one bodyguard in Manhattan who is hot enough to melt her.
    John Smith is her hired security guard, who is an ex-military security specialist who's been through Hell, and pushes people away at every opportunity-especially women. When society women start dropping dead, particularly ones with ties to Grace, a contact of hers asks John to protect her as a personal favor. Before long he's moved into the guest bedroom at her penthouse, and the two of them are trading barbs and heated stares as they try to figure out who is killing everyone.
    The setup is a traditional one: sophisticated, dignified woman meets gruff, wounded man with violent past. Sparks fly. Luckily with this book, Bird adds a lot of conflict between the characters and a nice plot was added to the story with the murders occurring and the tracking of who the killer could possibly be. It was interesting to see how the characters interacted and not just the two main ones, and Bird/Ward did marvelous job with it as the characters have flair, depth, empathy, and great dialogue. The murder plot itself isn't the greatest; the killer was fairly obvious to me, and the plot came across as rather silly, which removes some of the tension and threat level. However, in some ways this just serves to highlight how amazing the characters were. After all, I still thoroughly enjoyed the book despite the problems with the murder plot, and usually that sort of thing would annoy me to no end!
    I would give this book 3 ½ stars in my rating system out of 5. I look forward to the next in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ugh...pass

    JR Ward strangled by formula writing. I bought it because I love Ward and her forward says this is the strongest of her contemporary romances. It may be, but I'll wait for another Brotherhood or Fallen Angels book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    highly recommend

    liked very much even though this is not the type of book I usually read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Fantastic

    The queen of the tie ins without calling them a series does it again, this book really showcases her romance style writing ability so well. While the paranormal may be her newest and greatest thing, this was her start and a great start it was. Buy all of her Jessica Bird works and you too will be asking yourself while her original publisher dumped her, definitely regretting that aren't they!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Love JR Ward

    This was my favorite book of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Huge J.R. Fan

    After blowing thru the BDB series I was really needing more so I started searching for anything else J.R. Ward had written, I am making my way now thru all of her Jessica Bird books and this one was definitely a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Really good book

    This book is still passionate, even without the vampires we love! It was an easy and interesting read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Read but it's not the

    Great easy read from Ward! Not quite as good as her series "Brotherhood" but worth the read. Love her writing style, similar to her series writing but as she admits, it's obviously from her early days as an author. I'd read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love all her books

    This book includes some areas, etc from the Black Dagger Brotherhood. I love her books. Wish she could write faster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Fairly good read

    I found this to be a fairly good book, although I prefer JR Ward's Brotherhood series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Not the Brotherhood, but good still

    Good read. Try it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Loved it!!

    Really enjoyed this book as well as her others in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    J.R. Ward, 'Nuff said

    I have to say that I was surprised to have liked this book so much, and in Mrs. Ward's interviews, I read that these were her earlier books. Unfortunately, you can tell that they are. They aren't as edgy, the female character is a little weaker than usual, and the male character is, I want to say a little 2-D, but that doesn't quite hit it. He's the normal Ward hunk, but a little flat compared to Wrath, Rhage, Jim, even John. Still a good read if you're looking for a steamy easy read, but it's certainly not Blackdagger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great entertainment

    I didn't know JR Ward had an alter ego. Alter ego because although the same beautiful style of writing that is uniquely JR Ward is there, she shows another facet of her talent which you can really appreciate if you're a true fan. The story was great, more subdued and far less rated R than the BDB or fallen Angel series, but I found myself LOL at some parts and getting emotional on other parts. Her heros in the novels are always sexy and right up my alley! Just ordered the rest of her Jessica Bird novels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!

    I loved this book and couldn't put it down. The storyline and the characters were great. Jessica Bird has some great one liners and I found myself laughing and possibly crying at some points as well.

    Loved it and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    A new(or Old )side of J.R.Ward

    If you are looking for the BrotherHood writing style in this book...Skip it, they are not here. I really loved this book. It was diffrent for her compared to the Angels or Brother books... but thats what I liked about it. If you have ever sceen J.R. Ward in ANY of her gatherings/book signings etc... There is so much more to her... and this book is just another side we have the honor of seeing/reading.

    I thought it had a great story line, strong characters, kept me interested... In true J.R. Ward style no body gets it on tell 3/4 through the book... the tension just grows and grows and grows tell you are just as frustrated as they are. lol. Gotta love that about her. The only part I didnt like was... I new who the killer was... and I hate that. Usually through her other books she leads you to belive it could be a number of diffrent people and multiple scenarios to any complex situation and keeps you thinking and on your toes. That was the only disapointment I had. but, I would read J.R.Wards Grocerie list. lol. Devoted Fan and Always will be. I will always give her work 2 thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    would not recommend-very slow read

    I couldn't even get half-way through this one it just dragged on. I love her novels of 'the fallen angels' and 'the blackdagger brotherhood' and highly recommend these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    who is jessica bird?

    reading this book was like pulling teeth, i don't know if j.r. ward wrote this book or not, but if she did, i am VERY disappointed with her. this book has no humor which she normally tends to portray, and its so pointless i kept thinking to myself why i was reading chapter after chapter.
    if there were any good quality to this book, it would be the mystery/thriller portion which only really takes about 5% of the book and the rest of 95% is pure boring romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 182 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10