Customer Reviews for

An Unsuitable Bride (Blackwater Brides Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Alexandra Douglas has just learned the news of her father¿s deat

    Alexandra Douglas has just learned the news of her father’s death, but there are even worse things to come. The lawyer gives her the unfortunate news that since her father divorced her mother, he declared her and her invalid sister, bastards. All of his fortune has been left to his current wife. Knowing she needs the money to pay for her sister’s care, Alexandra devises a plan to gain back her portion of the money. Peregrine is in town visiting an old friend, when he stumbles upon the old lady librarian. Sensing that there is more to this woman than her disguise reveals, he makes it his quest to get to know the truth, while hiding his own secrets.




    Readers will immediately feel as though they stepped back in time from the very first page. Jane Feather does an excellent job of writing detailed accounts of dialect relevant to the times. Her main character, Alexandra, is forced to go undercover to regain her rightful inheritance, not out of greed but out of need for her sister’s care. Readers learn a lot about her mysterious ways through the delicate manner in which she treats the library books. She is obviously smart enough to deceive the family, but not smart enough to keep away from Peregrine. Readers who have not read the first two books in the trilogy will feel as though they missed some information, but they will quickly understand what previously happened. This storyline focuses on justice and righting wrongs, no matter the consequences. 




    Notes:
    This review was written for My Sister's Books.
    This review was originally posted on the Ariesgrl Book Reviews website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    Hero was adorable

    I loved the Hero in this one. He was kindof a refreshing change. So laid back, charming and head over heels in love. My only issue with this one is that I couldn't see why he fell so hard so quickly. There interactions up to that point didn't seem to warrant such affection or attraction. However, once she was revealed to him and they started plotting together it became more apparent so all was forgiven!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Great end to a fun trilogy

    I would recommend reading the series if you enjoy stories about a family's ability to reap good from less than ideal circumstances. I am a fan of series books because I meet the characters from the next story, and each of the key characters comes to life over the span of the series. I have enjoyed reading many of Jane Feathers' books over the past 10+ years. She writes a good story, full of interesting characters and story plots.

    If you read for pleasure and look for a good entertaining story about life and romance in another time ... Ms. Feathers delivers and keeps me coming back for more. (My family cat is named Lady Feathers!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Too Many Loose Ends

    The ending of this book left me disappointed. The author spent a great deal of time covering the strained relationship between Alexandra, the heroine, and her mother. She also played up the villainy of Alexandra's cousin and his wife. Plus, she fully developed Alexandra's relationship with her sister and her need to care for her welfare. All of these subplots were left unfinished. This book needs three more chapters, in my view.

    The book has a decent romance but poor plot resolution. The first book in the series is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    As with the second book of the series, this book was a disappoin

    As with the second book of the series, this book was a disappointment
    with a disappointing ending as well. It's made worse since this is the
    final book of the trilogy. The book starts slow and takes too much time
    building up the romance, but then speeds up to a pace so fast I felt
    that a lot of things were left hanging at the very abrupt end. Alex
    spends a lot of time thinking of her mother and then we have a scene
    where they see each other, but never are given a confrontation between
    the two. So, what was the point? The same with her horrible relatives.
    The story is built up that you can't wait for their comeuppance, but it
    never really occurs. The book just ends - seems like if you've already
    written over 400 pages another chapter or two to resolve things wouldn't
    matter. I think the first book in this series was really the best one
    and the only one worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Alexandra Douglas is a very smart young woman. After finding




    Alexandra Douglas is a very smart young woman. After finding out that both she and her invalid sister will be denied their inheritance, she concocts a daring and dangerous scheme that will correct the situation. She goes, in disguise, to take the money back from the cousin that refused to give it to her when her father died. Alexandra Douglas is also a very stupid young woman, putting herself at great risk in a scheme that could ruin her at best, and find her at the wrong end of a hangman's noose at the worst. I loved Alex's daredevil and fiery personality, but at times she seemed so dead set on taking caring of things herself, that she just made everything worse.




    Peregrine, or Perry, Blackwater is the last of the three Blackwater brother to find an unsuitable bride to meet the demands of his Uncle's will. When he meets the intriguing librarian, Alexandra "Hathaway" at Combe Abbey, he has no idea that he's found just the girl he is looking for. He uses his inquisitive and persistent mind to set about finding out the truth about the librarian, he can tell there is more to her than most people see. What he discovers is nothing near what he expected as he begins to fall in love with the mysterious young woman that can play so many different parts so well.




    This book got off to quite a slow start. There was so much to develop in Alex's past and her current disguise and made up personality that the real romance didn't come into play until about half way through. There was so much involved in Perry finding out the truth about Alexandra that it almost became a bit overdone. But once the story took off, it took off at a sprint. As Alex's plans begin to crumble around her, Perry finds himself coming to her rescue with help from a surprising source. Even though Alex didn't treat Perry very well at times (it made me want to reach into the book and shake some sense into her), he remains true and loyal, determined to keep her safe and make her his.




    After a slow beginning, the fast paced finish was quite a shock. I had a hard time putting the book down after I got half way through - and then suddenly it was all over. I wish the pace had been a little more spread out. The book is the third, and final, book about the Blackwater Brides. I think I will be putting the first two on my reading list so I can see more about this intriguing family and the women they love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1