Customer Reviews for

Anansi Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

WHAT AN EXTRAORDINARY READ!!!

Neil Gaiman delivers a resplandescent book that talks about pretty much everything. What I loved about this book was the fact that when you start reading it you think it's just an urban kind of story (the only thing the back cover says is that Charlie's father dies and ...
Neil Gaiman delivers a resplandescent book that talks about pretty much everything. What I loved about this book was the fact that when you start reading it you think it's just an urban kind of story (the only thing the back cover says is that Charlie's father dies and he was supposed to be a God), and the more you read the more you discover what the story is about. It is fascinating: it's a wild, deep, touching story about magic, love, life, and everything you want to read about. Who would I recommend this book to? ANYONE! This book really is perfect, and if you haven't read it you're already missing a part of your heart. Trust me: "Anansi Boys" isn't at all what it seems - it's much, much more, and it changed my life. Neil Gaiman is now one of my favorite writers, his writing is so... gobsmackingly good! By the way, this book is so hilariously sarcastic sometimes that, when I was reading it at school, my teachers and classmates often asked me "are you actually laughing because of a book?", since I couldn't stop chortling and sometimes my laughs interrupted the teacher's lecture. It's just amazing. READ IT please. There's no alternative here: if you see "Anansi Boys" by Neil Gaiman, you BUY IT and you START READING as soon as possible. Believe me - it's worth every dollar, every minute of it.

posted by jpquibrera on February 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Quite 'American Gods'

After reading (and loving) 'American Gods' I picked up this one. I found I had a much harder time liking the characters...tho perhaps that was his intent. I stuck it out & ended up liking the book as a whole, but it didn't have the same pull for me that AG did.

posted by Psyonia on March 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 282 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To molly

    If he likes you, he'll tell you in due time. Don't badger him about your shy friend or the dance. He won't appreciate it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Very good read

    This was a great follow up read after American Gods while having a new feel of the same universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Great read

    Its ok if you dont like spiders. Perfect blend of fantasy and reality. Gaiman always delivers...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    At first, I felt like oh no......

    Our main guy seemed to be so just yucky. But things got good the story started spinning and yucky he gets this hat, and then the &@#$ really starts throwing down. I am never dissapointed by Mr. Gaimen amen brother keep them coming my visa is good till 2017! You will enjoy the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Wonderful book

    My favorite book by one of my favorite writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2013

    A Mystical Story for Adults!

    Gaiman has a way of weaving you into his stories without your awareness. He keeps you guessing about Spider's character (is he foe or friend to Fat Nancy) until the end. It is reminiscent of the old Anansi stories read to me in childhood, but with very adult elements.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Fatastic

    Again, Gaiman transports the reader to another world full of fabulous characters. Another page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Classic Neil Gaiman

    Wonderful story with curious and magnificent characters, written in Gaiman's crisp, clean style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    No Thanks!

    Loved it...at first. It turned way too weird for me. I couldn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    a very funny, although dark book...

    It is book full of dark humor and in it is also a deep story about loving who we are, for what we are and how the way others express their love may not be what we see as such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Different. Creative.

    I was interested in the characters. And the plot was different and I was surprised. I wanted to continue and read. First Neil Gaiman literature that I have read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    Love Neil Gaiman, enjoyed this book.

    Love Neil Gaiman, enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Story about the stories...

    Quick, well paced, and hilarious read. Anansi owns all the stories, but they used to be someone else's - and he wants them back.

    The villain is appropriately evil, acting through a well done weasely agent. The hero is appropriate reluctant, though gets quickly fed up enough to go out and do something about it all, and the rest of the cast make life all kinds of difficult for him (and easier).

    In the end, it's about the stories. And the kind with humor in them seem the best kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Great!

    Storytelling at its best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Fun Read!

    Gaiman takes a minor character from American Gods and creates an entire story out of him. It is more fast paced than American Gods, and without as much underlying meaning and subtle messages as American Gods has throughout the book. If you like any of Gaiman's works, this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Anansi Boys

    I like all of his books, so its hard to give a review of just one...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Fun read.

    I don't like it quite as much as "American Gods", but it's still a good read. It also is lighter in tone, which some might appreciate.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    i enjoyed it each sentence,each paragraph,each chapter and the whole book.

    reead it you will enjoy it, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 282 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15