BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Anansi Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 284 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

WHAT AN EXTRAORDINARY READ!!!

Neil Gaiman delivers a resplandescent book that talks about pretty much everything. What I loved about this book was the fact that when you start reading it you think it's just an urban kind of story (the only thing the back cover says is that Charlie's father dies and ...
Neil Gaiman delivers a resplandescent book that talks about pretty much everything. What I loved about this book was the fact that when you start reading it you think it's just an urban kind of story (the only thing the back cover says is that Charlie's father dies and he was supposed to be a God), and the more you read the more you discover what the story is about. It is fascinating: it's a wild, deep, touching story about magic, love, life, and everything you want to read about. Who would I recommend this book to? ANYONE! This book really is perfect, and if you haven't read it you're already missing a part of your heart. Trust me: "Anansi Boys" isn't at all what it seems - it's much, much more, and it changed my life. Neil Gaiman is now one of my favorite writers, his writing is so... gobsmackingly good! By the way, this book is so hilariously sarcastic sometimes that, when I was reading it at school, my teachers and classmates often asked me "are you actually laughing because of a book?", since I couldn't stop chortling and sometimes my laughs interrupted the teacher's lecture. It's just amazing. READ IT please. There's no alternative here: if you see "Anansi Boys" by Neil Gaiman, you BUY IT and you START READING as soon as possible. Believe me - it's worth every dollar, every minute of it.

posted by jpquibrera on February 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Quite 'American Gods'

After reading (and loving) 'American Gods' I picked up this one. I found I had a much harder time liking the characters...tho perhaps that was his intent. I stuck it out & ended up liking the book as a whole, but it didn't have the same pull for me that AG did.

posted by Psyonia on March 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WHAT AN EXTRAORDINARY READ!!!

    Neil Gaiman delivers a resplandescent book that talks about pretty much everything. What I loved about this book was the fact that when you start reading it you think it's just an urban kind of story (the only thing the back cover says is that Charlie's father dies and he was supposed to be a God), and the more you read the more you discover what the story is about. It is fascinating: it's a wild, deep, touching story about magic, love, life, and everything you want to read about. Who would I recommend this book to? ANYONE! This book really is perfect, and if you haven't read it you're already missing a part of your heart. Trust me: "Anansi Boys" isn't at all what it seems - it's much, much more, and it changed my life. Neil Gaiman is now one of my favorite writers, his writing is so... gobsmackingly good! By the way, this book is so hilariously sarcastic sometimes that, when I was reading it at school, my teachers and classmates often asked me "are you actually laughing because of a book?", since I couldn't stop chortling and sometimes my laughs interrupted the teacher's lecture. It's just amazing. READ IT please. There's no alternative here: if you see "Anansi Boys" by Neil Gaiman, you BUY IT and you START READING as soon as possible. Believe me - it's worth every dollar, every minute of it.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Great Book!!

    Very entertaining. Magical, romantic, suspenseful. Sibling rivalry at it's finest. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    The Book

    Good i suggest to those who enjoy action packed books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Amazing

    Great sequel, Gaiman did it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    To chloe

    I thought we had something from donny

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Neil creates great mysterious world

    As usual, Neil Gaiman has created a wonderous world, very mysterious and somewhat dark. Excellent read and worth reading more than once. I highly recommend this to those who like offbeat fantasy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a Ride!!!

    Anansi Boys is the follow-up to American Gods. Anansi Boys took me a little while to get into. I struggled through the first couple chapters, but after that I really got into it. This book is classic Gaiman. It's dark comedy and fantasy at its finest. You will love the characters and be wrapped up in the story until the very end! It is a great book for both fantasy lovers and non-lovers alike. It makes your imagination run wild.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    I loved this novel. I really wish I had read American Gods prior

    I loved this novel. I really wish I had read American Gods prior. Loved every page, every scene. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To Molly.

    Hm, seems a little weird, I agree. Maybe Nick felt bad, he didn't want to hurt her, so he said "I guess so." Talk to your friend, work it out with her. And remember, she is a human also, you friend has feelings. Well, that probably sucks, but it's all I have. Thanks for reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To molly

    Ask if hes going cassually and who hes going with. If he says yes and that hes going with someone just change the topic and go to the dance anyway. With someone else if you want to see how he would react. But thats not recommended. Just go and if you see him walk over and greet him like you ussually would and see how it goes from their wether your othr friend likes it or not. <p> -&alpha<_>non&gamma<_>mous Helper &#8251 &#9786

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To Molly. A help answer.

    Go to the dance with Nick. See how it goes. Then tell him about your friend. Tell Nick how you feel about him and maybe tell him some really cool things about your friend and maybe you wont break his heart as much as you would saying, "Really Nick, get over me. Go date Mia(im just saying that this is your friend who likes Nick). Leave me alone." That would hurt. Glad I could help!~$kyla~

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Amber

    Dont worry! I went through the same thing! He probably feels really awkward. That is TOTALLY normal though. If he feels comfortable enough to tell you he likes you or he's going to the Semiformal with the other girl, then he probably will! Dont stress! <p>
    Ways to tell a guy likes you: <br>
    •Blushes when he sees you, even if its barely noticible. <br>
    •Hangs out with you alot and feels normal around you <br>
    •Ignores you and talks to other people so it ISNT noticBle that he likes you <br>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To molly

    Hi i have the same prolbeand i am a boy so this is what i do i just act like it never happend i did that and she asked me out on a date i am 15 so yea if anything happens reply to jay and give me an feback of your day hope i helped you ~~~~ jay~~~~^_^

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    To molly

    If he likes you, he'll tell you in due time. Don't badger him about your shy friend or the dance. He won't appreciate it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Great read

    Its ok if you dont like spiders. Perfect blend of fantasy and reality. Gaiman always delivers...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    At first, I felt like oh no......

    Our main guy seemed to be so just yucky. But things got good the story started spinning and yucky he gets this hat, and then the &@#$ really starts throwing down. I am never dissapointed by Mr. Gaimen amen brother keep them coming my visa is good till 2017! You will enjoy the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Wonderful book

    My favorite book by one of my favorite writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Fatastic

    Again, Gaiman transports the reader to another world full of fabulous characters. Another page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Classic Neil Gaiman

    Wonderful story with curious and magnificent characters, written in Gaiman's crisp, clean style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8